We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting, But There Could Be More”
Review of Mokuaikaua Church

Mokuaikaua Church
Book In Advance
More Info
US$123.96*
and up
Kona Tour: Coffee Plantation, Kealakekua Bay, Kaloko-Honokohau Park and Bee Farm
Ranked #20 of 132 things to do in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1836 by Boston missionaries.
California
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Interesting, But There Could Be More”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I had read about this church and wanted to visit it, but I have to admit, despite its history, I was a little disappointed. The church itself was very dark and there just wasn't enough information to answer the questions that I had. I visited this church during the week as a tourist, and I wish there had been more that was offered. Still, it was mildly interesting.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mrliterature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    129
    46
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fascinating if you like history and old churches”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were just strolling along the street near the pier and happened upon this church. It has an interesting history and they struggle to keep it repaired...it has withstood earthquakes and a sunami. The people who volunteer there are very friendly and it is clear that they love that church...it is the oldest on the island.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carie501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

My wife decided to attend the morning contemporary service. This was a praise worship service, and it could not have been better. It was spirit filled. And the sermon was very much on topic for us. The ONLY reason I give it a 4 is because I felt hat the members could have reached out to the guests a bit more. We only had one regular introduce himself after the service. Not that they were snobs, they were just busy. But will attend here again on the next trip!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank edwardstorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
657 reviews
205 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Looks like it was transplanted from Boston”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Well, it depends where you are coming from, but I find it so sad that the Hawaiians were "missioned" out of their belief system. Church is beautiful but looks incongruous there. However, the spirits have not been quashed and can be felt on this Island like no other.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pauline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great church for everyone to attend”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We love this church. Very welcoming friendly people. Wonderful Christmas and Easter church service. A great place for visitors to be able to drop in and feel right at home.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank HawaiiVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mokuaikaua Church also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Mokuaikaua Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing