We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and wonderful way to experience Kailua-Kona”
Review of Home Tours Hawaii

Home Tours Hawaii
Ranked #67 of 201 Tours in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home Tours Hawaii takes you beyond the shops and luaus, past the main streets and hotels, to glimpse the island life in private homes and gardens. Throughout the tour you will enjoy a 4 course progressive brunch. All the food is prepared locally using fresh Big Island ingredients and tropical flavors. "Taste the Hawai'i Lifestyle"
Fulton, Maryland
Level Contributor
162 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Unique and wonderful way to experience Kailua-Kona”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We were lucky to have an intimate tour of just 6 people, ourselves, one other couple and the two tour guides, Lisa and Renee. They were such gracious and friendly hosts and we thoroughly enjoyed the morning. The tour lasts 4 hours, you visit 3 beautiful private residences, and you will enjoy 4 delicious courses of tastings of food prepared using local ingredients. You will be given tours of the homes you visit and eat in beautiful home settings. They pick you up at your hotel in a comfortable van and as they drive you from home to home they share information about what to do and where to eat during your stay in Kona. It's also nice to know that you'll be allowed to use a bathroom at each of the homes so there's no need to worry about that. We highly recommend this tour for anyone who enjoys food, visiting beautiful homes and sharing a morning with wonderful people. This experience was the highlight of our Kona visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PK_Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisasaloha, Owner at Home Tours Hawaii, responded to this review, 16 February 2016
Mahalo for your kind words about our tour. It really is a 'one of a kind' tour and we are pleased that it was the highlight of your trip. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to the private homes, meeting the owners and eating our specially prepared brunch with your fellow guests!! Hope you'll join us again in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    3
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Unique and Fun Activity”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We've taken a lot of trips over the years and have gone on many excursions, but we had never had the opportunity to tour homes during a progressive brunch! This experience was fun and tasty! Lisa's friendliness and wonderful food, along with the tour of the homes by the owners, made the morning fly by! She provides recipes, which I will be trying very soon!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MauiDonL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisasaloha, Owner at Home Tours Hawaii, responded to this review, 16 February 2016
I am so glad you enjoyed the tour! You were one of our first guests after I purchased the company!! Thank you so much for your support and encouragement! We hope all our guests enjoy it as much as you did. Glad you experienced the spirit of Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, Washington, United States
1 review
“Great fun!”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Had a wonderful time. The homes were interesting, the food was delicious, but Ann and Pat made the day! Two terrific ladies. Very upbeat, informative and entertaining. Would definetly recommend.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ladyespresso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garner, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Calling all foodies!”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Chef Ann and her cohort Patty do a marvelous job of giving a unique view and taste of the Island. Incorporating many native foods, Chef Ann provides many dishes for a progressive Brunch experience set in their choice of three wonderfully different homes on the Island. The tour lasts about 4 hours, with pickup at various hotels and the dock for cruise passengers. Our three homes featured a home with 3 master Suites and a non stop view, a forested home with decor that looked like a box of 48 Crayolas had been used for color! Amazingly, it all worked, and the knockout view from the cook-top would keep me in the kitchen 24/7! The last home was all about the gardens. Orchids, pineapples, palms, gorgeous plants, ponds, fountains. If you are a repeat customer, they do their best to vary the homes you see. I'm not sure about varying the menu, but I wouldn't mind eating everything over and over again! A delightful way to spend a morning in Kona if you're not into snorkeling or coffee plantations. Be sure you get Ann talking about her stint as staff with the Kennedy's!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MEG301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nacogdoches, TX
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great tour for food lovers”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Wonderful experience to go to three different homes and have freshly prepared food: brunch type food, snacks, entrees and desserts. Small group experience (no more than 12 or so). There is a selection of 15 homes for the tour to choose from, so each tour is a bit different. Great mango gazpacho and passion fruit mousse. Our tour had places with uneven ground and stairs, so if you have issues with that I would check with Chef Ann beforehand. Book beforehand if you are interested.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelTexan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Home Tours Hawaii also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Home Tours Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing