We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Wednesday trip from Hilo is excellent”
Review of Big Island Air

Big Island Air
Book In Advance
More Info
US$399.00*
and up
Big Island Air Tour by Cessna Plane
More Info
US$449.99*
and up
Big Island Sunset Flight from Kona
Ranked #47 of 199 Tours in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: E KOMO MAI, Welcome! Join us for a spectacular air tour of the Hawaii volcano Big Island that you will never forget.From Kona International Airport, our big reliable Cessna Caravan tour plane takes you over the active Kilauea volcano with views of ancient Hawaiian settlements, lush green valleys and towering waterfalls along hundreds miles of rugged coastline. Air Conditioned Comfort, Every Seat a Window Seat! Experienced, Knowledgeable Tour Pilots who take pride in sharing the splendors of the island.Try our 5 Island Tour too!!
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
657 reviews
205 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“The Wednesday trip from Hilo is excellent”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We really enjoyed the comfort of the fixed wng aircraft, the knowledge of the pilot (and great humor) as well as the extraordinary views. We were indeed fortunate to fly on one of the few days of the year that Hilodid not rain in the morning and had clear blue skies. Excellent value. The steam vents and magma look amazing from the air - watching the forests burn as the magma hits is quite a sight. Not to be missed. A very professional organisation. Big hint - call them directly and not via any resorts - there is absolutely NO need to go to a timeshare viewing to get good rates.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Pauline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    15
    3
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarence, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great trip for family. Volcano views.”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We did this as a last minute thing when we realized that you couldn't see any real lava at the national park. We considered the helicopters, but they cost a bit more. This was a nice slower ride than a copter and I think perhaps better since the plane can actually tip its wings when over something for you to see better. We did the volcano-only trip flying out of Hilo airport. They were able to accommodate all 5 of us at the last minute (day before). The pilot was great and patient and funny. He let the kids sit at the controls when back on the ground. We saw 2 spots of actual lava from about 1000 feet for one and maybe 8000 feet for the other. Also burning rain forests in the lava flows. Things you simply can't see from the ground (at least not without a dangerous hike). No lava flowing into the ocean on our trip, but you can't change what mother nature wants to do. Also saw some waterfalls on the landing approach.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avondale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“big Island Air”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

What a wonderful day! Anthony our pilot took is on aMagical flight around the Big Island. His knowledge about the island's history and geography kept us entertained and
Interested during the whole flight! Not a dull moment while learning at the same time. Don't miss Big Island Air while on the big island.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooksville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Skip the helicopter”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We were concerned that an airplane wouldn't give us the same sights as the helicopter tours. Boy were we surprised. This plane feels like first class and gets you just as close as any other copter tour. We manuevered around so that both sides get close up of all the sights. The circle tour showed us waterfalls, volcanos with lava flows and some with snow, the interior and shorelines while learning about the island. I was happy to see some of the hard to reach places at the beginning of our vacation so I wouldn't have to drive to them. And very affordable.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank vals847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great adventure at a reasonable price!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My 90 year old grandmother just had to go flying during her birthday trip to Hawaii and absolutely LOVED it! It doesn't matter which side of the plane you are on, you WILL get that great shot. We did the 1 hour flight out of Hilo. Make sure you go to the commuter terminal next to Safari Tours. They just started the new route and are waiting on signage. The pilot gives you great information and stories about his experiences in various locations.The attention to detail they took on their beautiful new plane is equal to the attention they give their guests. You will not regret the experience! Book direct on the website for the best prices! And remember, they are If you're staying in Kona, take the Hwy 200 and make a day of it. Then, take the 19 back and check out dinner in Honoka'a at the Landing. Great pizza!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Island Air also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Big Island Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing