We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kayak Rental”

Ocean Safaris Kayak Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Paddling Kona’s clear, pristine waters since 1994, Ocean Safari’s Kayak Adventures have introduced countless visitors and Kama’aina (Island Locals) to the fast growing sport of kayaking, stand-up paddle boarding, and paddle-surfing. We focus on small groups of adventurers, making safety and fun top priority. Every Kayak tour is different and may include dolphin and whale watching, snorkeling, sea cave exploration and maybe even cliff jumping. You may see tidal pools filled with eels, sea turtles and colorful tropical fish while wild parrots can at times be seen flying overhead. Join us for a night snorkel with manta rays!All our guided adventures are led by experienced watermen/women who are Hawaii Lifeguard Certified and we are fully insured. Ocean Safari’s Kayak Adventures assist with water safety at Kona’s annual Ironman Triathlon as well as other water events.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Kayak Rental”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We rented the kayak and went on our own. Rebecca was extremely helpful and told us where to go. Unfortunately there were too much swell during the time we ventured out so we decided not to explore the caves. It was a fun experience. We snorkeled and learned how to get on/off without flipping the kayak! The water was extremely clear but chopping that morning. Great people to rent from and the price was the best we found.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bacong F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    42
    8
    6
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing mantas and way cool guides!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The guides were the perfect blend of fun and professional. I went on the night time manta swim with my wife and had a fantastic time seeing the amazing manta rays with a fun group of people!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank hamx0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmdale, California
1 review
“Amazing tour guides”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Very informative and helpful guides. Terry and Johanna were a big help getting in the water and back on the kayak. Got to have dolphins swim with us in our way back. Great snorkeling. Caves were also interesting. Great time. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CartridgeCalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Kentucky
1 review
“Do not miss this!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Our kayaking trip was amazing! We were both first-timers, and our guide (Tori) did an excellent job explaining how to paddle, safety procedures, etc. if you're like me, you may be thinking, "You all say this is easy...but maybe you're just better at things than I am." Well, trust me: this is easy, fun, and wonderful. The trip was relaxing, and during the snorkeling part we saw lots of fish (yellow tang, parrot fish), an eel, and turtles. Once we got to the cliff and snack area, we also saw a mongoose! A note on the cliff: jump. Seriously, just do it. You will regret it if you don't.

Make sure you lather up with sunscreen and take it with you. Also take your water shoes and sunglasses. The rest is provided--including a really great snack!

In short, take this adventure! The staff are professional and friendly, and the activity itself is not to be missed. Thank you, Tori, for one of our favorite activities! You are awesome!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KyLauraLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tea, South Dakota
1 review
“Morning Kayak”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

I can't say enough about how great this tour was! Rebecca and Jo were awesome, well prepared and very safe making it easy to relax and have fun! Our family had a blast kayaking in caves, snorkeling and especially cliff jumping! Thanks!

Helpful?
Thank Lkhans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Safaris Kayak Adventures also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Honalo, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Ocean Safaris Kayak Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing