We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, delicious, takeout poke”
Review of Da Poke Shack

Da Poke Shack
Ranked #3 of 288 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small, delicious, takeout poke”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Small takeout 'restaurant' with poke and sides. Easy to miss, but worth finding the place. Poke is raw fish or othe seafood marinated in various seasonings to be eaten with rice. My adult kids found this places. After we got our order, hunkered down to eat just outside the establishment at the picnic tables outside and just shared and enjoyed all of our choices! We got there late in the day, so there weren't quite as many choices. A definite great food in a 'hole in the wall', worth the visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneSueK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,196
    302
    95
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
168 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Yum, yum, yum!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

This is the quintessential TripAdvisor find: local, unassuming, authentic, insanely fresh (fish catch just hours earlier!) and ONO (delicious). As they say here, this meal BROKE DA MOUTH!

Helpful?
Thank SacAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
316 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Perfect Lunch Stop”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Da Poke Shop is one of two top-rated poke delicatessens in Kailua-Kona. I did not see a review comparing them so we decided to try both and form our own opinion. Here it is: As far as the quality of the poke goes, both are excellent and you won't go wrong either way. However, we give the edge to Da Poke Shack because the rice was fresher and they offer a larger variety of sides. This location is right off of busy Alii Drive and there are several 15-minute parking stalls available. There are only two park benches outside and one half-bench inside, so odds are you'll have to take out.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sheiksan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never had poke before, and now love it”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had never heard of poke before coming here and now love it. While we cannot compare it to any other poke, this was delicious. The fish was fresh and the meal was very flavorful. We got the Spicy Ahi and the Shack Special. The Spicy Ahi was unfortunately not very spicy, but we still enjoyed it.

There were several kinds of poke and sides, and they did not seem to be out of anything. If they were, there was still plenty to pick from. They gave us samples of the different varieties before we made our selection. We came around 3 pm, so it was not crowded at all.

This is a to-go place with no seating inside, and a couple tables outside where you can eat. We ate outside and saw that they had a steady amount of customers, which is always a good sign for a restaurant.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank liongirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
399 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Worth the top spot!!!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had a share plate. We chose the avocado aoli poke and wet hawaiian(award winning) poke with sides of teriyaki calamari(surprisingly delicious) and spicy crab as well. There was also brown rice. Yuuuuuum! So fresh and tasty!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jace_disgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Da Poke Shack also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Da Poke Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing