We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FRESH!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Da Poke Shack

Da Poke Shack
Ranked #3 of 283 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“FRESH!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Da Poke Shack will have 4-5 different ahi poke preparations plus spicy clam ceviche, seafood salad, calamari steaks. If you love fresh sashimi, Da Poke Shack is for you! We suggest getting your order to go. Seating is very limited.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bethsheehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,146
    287
    93
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
120 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Poke”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We heard about the poke from a one of locals while shopping at Costco. So we decided to try it. Got there and they gave us samples of all of the different poke they had. We ended up buying the combo. 2 different poke, two scoops of rice, cucumber, and potato salad. It was amazing!! I was not disappointed. Fresh fish great seasonings.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great fresh fish - locals eat here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Our dive boat crew gave us this address and they were spot on. The fish was really fresh and the flavors were excellent. I'll certainly be stopping here again next trip. I would recommend to anyone looking for a quick (but filling) bite to eat.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

It looked like a shack. We went in because we thought it looks interesting and local. Ordered their $6 Ono fish burger. Boy we were knocked over by how good that was. This is a must eat if you are in Kona. Beats the other expensive chi chi restaurants hands down.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ch0ngkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This lil hole in the wall place is out of this world!! So much to choose from. This was by far my favorite place to eat poke. So fresh and sooooo good. Highly recommended!! Stop here. You won't be disappointed!!

Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Da Poke Shack also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Da Poke Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing