We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful view from your condo, very relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property
Private Beach at Kona Isle
Steps from the condo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private Beach at Kona Isle
Steps from the condo
View from Lanai(patio) of the condo Manucured Garden with Ocean Breezes
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Private Beach at Kona Isle
Steps from the condo
View from Lanai(patio) of the condo
Manucured Garden with Ocean Breezes
Beautiful Sunset at Kona Isle
Beautiful Kona  Sunset Taken From Lanai (Patio)
Another Beautiful Sunset
Ocean Front Lanai (Patio)
Well-Furnished private Bedroom
Well Equipped Kitchen
Bright Living Room with Ocean View
Another photo of living room
Steps to Water Edge
Oceanfront Picnic Area
Steps from the condo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Inspire68...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful view from your condo, very relaxing”
Reviewed 16 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The condo has everything you need, the owners where great to work with which made the process very easy. Kona Isle's is very well maintained, nice pool, BBQ's for your use and a great water front area with tables and chairs. The location was very convenient.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josieM140
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kona isle”
Reviewed 27 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great time! Really nice 1 bedroom condo, ground level . Closer to the shopping area !
I would suggest to change the bed it's to small and noise !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarleneS2...
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“This is a 5 Star Rental Property”
Reviewed 2 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We can't say enough good things about this quiet, one bedroom condo. The ground level made an easy walk to the lovely backyard park that was our own private beach. (There are no typical sand beaches in Kona but one was crafted on this property.) We were delightfully surprised that we could fall asleep listening to the ocean waves in the bedroom that is not on the ocean side. At nightfall, the ocean is lit from the property's edge providing a spectacular view of the rolling waves. We enjoyed watching daylight break while sipping coffee and the sunset fall while sipping wine on the lanai. Many days dolphins and whales were in clear view. It was a bit too far for us to walk, but the condo was an easy drive to downtown Kona as well as to other points south. The Kona Trolley picks up next door at Kona by the Sea. Get a schedule at any tour location. The condo is the best stocked rental we've stayed in. Everything you need, and more, is there. It seems folks buy things (we bought Dawn dish soap) to use and leave them for the next house guest to use. Don't buy anything other than food until you see what's at the condo. The house is decorated in local Hawaiian fashion which very welcoming. We hope to become repeat guests.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2017
Dear Marlene and Doug,

Welcome home.

Thank you so very much for your kind words.
You are such delightful couples and wonderful guests.
We surely look forward to your return soon.

Aloha,
Jennifer and Peter
ps. Your writing is so beautiful. Enjoy reading it .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAFaulkne...
Tsawwassen
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 27 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
3
people found this review helpful

It has everything you need, plus a fantastic view. The owner Jennifer is great to deal with. The grounds are very maintained, and the pool is excellent!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2017
Aloha Leslie,

Thank you very much for your kind words. You are such wonderful couples and great guests.

We surely look forward to your return soon.

Mahalo and Aloha,
Jennifer
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rayj845
Elko, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our home on the Big Island”
Reviewed 23 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We love the Big Island. You can go from a tropical beach to a volcano and a mountain with snow,amazing! We have stayed at Kona Isle six times and four times in D2. We plan to stay again. That should tell you how much we like Kona Isle and D2. It's a great oceanfront condo. Jennifer is wonderful to work with on booking and taking care of any problems.
Ray and Kiyoko

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Dec 2016
Aloha Ray and Kiyoko,

Thank you so much for your kind words.
We surely look forward to accommodating you again soon.

Mahalo and Aloha,
Jennifer
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niels M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet in paradise”
Reviewed 20 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
3
people found this review helpful

This was my second stay here and just as good as the first time. When I walked in the door it was like I had come home. The immediate sense is of peace and quiet.... At night the sound of the waves send you to sleep and in the morning the bird song awakens you. What a great way to decompress on a holiday.

The view out the doors to the ocean is amazing and the sitting outside to watch the sunset with a cold drink is the perfect way to end a day!

The condo itself is immaculate and has everything you need for a short or long stay. I'm already looking forward to when I can return!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alfieonva...
Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Peaceful and private with stunning vistas!”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Aloha! I've separated my review into sections:
Booking & Arrival: Jennifer takes care of everything you need to know, when you need to know. Effortless to find the location (we rented a car), assigned parking spot, and keyed entry.
The location: This is my 15th stay on the Hawaiian Islands, and second on The Big Island. This condo complex was quietly off the road (no traffic or pedestrian noise), was oceanfront, with beautiful views and the wonderful sounds of waves crashing on lava rock. The grounds were kept clean and manicured by the resident manager, Carol. There's lots of colorful birds, flowers, and green grass. Also a private beach area and BBQ area with lots of seating. The pool is small with comfortable chaise lounge chairs and large umbrella tables. It's a 5 minute drive to all the restaurants and shops of Kona, and a 10 minute drive to Safeway, Walmart, Costco. There's no smoking allowed anywhere on the grounds, including the parking lot. Most followed this rule; we had neighbors that did not.
The D2 Condo: Ground floor condo with a nice-sized lanai, with 2 large comfortable chairs and table. We spent a lot of time here, watching the waves and birds and a sneaky mongoose, who kept to the side tree area. Patio doors that open wide with screen doors. You'll want to keep these closed if you don't want birds coming in visit. They're tenacious! Everything you need is here: beach towels, extra foam fold-up beds, towels, toiletries, cleaning supplies, lots of bedding, pillows and towels, coffee maker, BBQ supplies....just everything! It's really comfortable and spacious in the kitchen/living area. The bathroom is very small, and gets no air circulation. It also smells a bit pungent, like sewer. Every so often, the drain in the shower area backs up suds and black dirt, which could be part of the issue. (I'll be sure to let Jennifer know). We left the fan on continuously in the bathroom because of the smell and humidity. We enjoyed the large overhead fans in all the rooms; we're from the prairies, and found it very humid with no air-conditioning. (That being said, air-conditioners are loud outside, and we didn't have to deal with that from any of the condos. It was beautifully quiet). Excellent Wi-Fi.
Cleanliness: the condo is cleaned prior to arrival, so the surface-cleaning of kitchen and bathroom was shiny. However, this condo could use a big cleaning. The floors were swept, and only in visible areas, but not washed and were dirty. There was dirt and sand under the mats and behind the couch had lots of dirt and a dead gecko. The decorative palm tree's leaves are needing a washing - that's a lot of dust. The towels and sheets were very clean and fresh.
Tips: Carol told us to take our trash out every night and not leave anything around that a cockroach would like. We were diligent about this; even if we left for a few hours, we sealed the garbage and put it in the fridge. Recycle. Visit the little library near the office. It's well maintained and stocked with LOTs of good books.
Encounters: We encountered a gigantic cockroach in the bathroom and on another occasion, the largest centipede we had ever seen (also in the bathroom). We purchased (and left) 2 cans of roach/bug spray. It's the tropics. And Carol had already warned us about the size of critters. Everything is 'big' on the Big Island!
Summary: Jennifer is lovely to work with and personalizes her communications, making everyone feel special. The condo is fabulous, for its location, size, amenities, and view.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Morning coffee on the lanai
Liked least: No air-conditioning (but we managed without!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2016
Aloha Alva and Paul,

Your kind words and comments are much appreciated.

The plumbing issue has been taken care of and our cleaning lady will be paying more attention to the detail. Thank you for telling us about the issues.

Although we have pest control regularly. it is not uncommon to see ""bugs"" on the tropical Island. However, we shall ask for reinspect and respray.

So glad you had a great time at our oceanfront condo at Kona Isle, please come back soon. You are wonderful couples and great guests.

Aloha,
Jennifer
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing