We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandinavian Shave Ice

Scandinavian Shave Ice
Ranked #1 of 21 Dessert in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$10
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Read the review on Trip dvisor and Yelp so I had to try this place. I had shave Ice in Maui also and I must say, this place was the best. I don't know if it was the flavor I picked or if there is difference in syrup used by other stores but this place was the best. I should have gone back this store more often and try different flavors before leaving Kona.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IKADOTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    454
    144
    28
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“THE BEST!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

I don't want to sound like a Shave Ice snob. But, it's hard to find good Shave Ice that's really light and fluffy. Shaved Ice (with a "d") is just not the same. The ice is crushed and has a crunchy texture. Shave Ice should not crunch in your mouth, it should melt.

Okay - all that said, this place has the lightest, fluffiest Shave Ice we've ever tried. Should I dare say this place may be better than Matsumoto's on the North Shore?!!!

Don't miss out on their ice cream either. I tried one that I think was called Volcano. It was like eating Cookies 'n Cream, except instead of vanilla, they used banana. So good!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marinette, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We went to this place for shave ice three times on our honeymoon. My wife loves it. The guys behind the counter gave us great service. The shave ice is a work of art! Also, the ice cream was delicious. We come from Wisconsin and we know good ice cream.

We might sneak one more in before we fly out tomorrow!

Helpful?
Thank rolobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
139 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Really good shaved ice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The best I found on Alii Dr., not the best I've had in all the islands, my standard of comparison is Ullalanni on Maui, that gets an excellent from me.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jtrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parabiago, Italia
Level Contributor
281 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Not the best shave ice I’ve had in Hawaii, but a good one nonetheless. This little shop is
in downtown Kona. They have a large selection of flavors and several fixed combination
like rainbow, tropical…
You can choose up to three flavors and add other ingredients like coconut syrup, coconut
jelly or the ever present azuki beans. The small size is still a generous amount of shave ice.
The flavors are sweet but I was still able to distinguish them.
In general, this is an average shave ice spot, with fair prices.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vale23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scandinavian Shave Ice also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Scandinavian Shave Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing