We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Life in a work of art!”
other travellers have booked this property
Vacation in a work of art!
Built for the McCormick Spice family overlooking the Kona coast...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Vacation in a work of art!
Built for the McCormick Spice family overlooking the Kona coast...
Chosen by the Travel Channel 'Best Deals' and 'Amazing Vacation Homes.' Dramatic sunsets light up the Kona skies.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Vacation in a work of art!
Built for the McCormick Spice family overlooking the Kona coast...
Chosen by the Travel Channel 'Best Deals' and 'Amazing Vacation Homes.'
Dramatic sunsets light up the Kona skies.
Privacy in which to swim and sunbathe
Global Architecture Magazine did a 50 page retrospective of Kellogg's work
View from the master bedroom to the sea
Warm climate and a delightful view.
HGTV chose this as one of the 10 most romantic bedrooms in the world.
The Onion House is a wonderful setting for a honeymoon or romantic getaway.
Helicopter over the erupting volcano while you're on Hawaii Island.
A natural skylight illuminates the sink in the main bathroom.
Landmark example of Organic Architecture
Relish the bounty of tropical fruits in this Hawaiian kitchen.
Year round near-perfect weather
Candle light dinners or mid-morning brunches on the terrace are a delight.
The estate is just under an acre, centrally located near beaches and restaurants.
Enjoy sailing, snorkeling with dolphins, diving with manta rays, and whale watching.
Translucent roof panels let the sunlight filter into the interiors.
Artist/owner Beth McCormick creates feather work, sculpture, and oil paintings.
This villa is 5 minutes from town and beaches, yet in its own world.
Central fireplace and concrete arches form this unique structure.
Interior walls are lava rock, while exterior walls are screen or stained glass.
Famed artist James Hubbell created the mosaic dining room table and stained glass throughout.
Interiors are fully integrated with surrounding gardens, pool, and fishpond.
The 70 ft turquoise pool wraps around the home.
Tropical architecture emphasizes living with nature.
Dramatic lighting at night
The master bedroom is a separate structure with bath and private walled garden.
Awaken to the sound of birds.
Master bath
Master bath opens up to garden and pond.
Master bedroom structure framed by African tulip tree.
This artist's home is graced by the stained glass of James Hubbell.
The Onion House is the perfect base camp for exploring & photographing Hawaii's dramatic landscape.
Permaculture plantings provide an edible landscape.
This unusual architecture is an example of Kendrick Kellogg's remarkable body of work.
This compound affords ample privacy around the pool and gardens.
Many varieties of citrus, mango, avocado, and dragon fruit are planted.
A covered walkway links the two structures.
Architectural details delight the eye.
Translucent roof panels invite the light
The carport structure greets your arrival at the Onion House.
Cast concrete arches, redwood and cedar form the carport structure.
Even the carport design is one-of-a-kind.
Entry steps lead up onto the raised terrace platform.
Lava rock walls form the terrace platform.
Entry steps
Madagascar Gold Dust Day Gecko
The entryway takes you to a different realm
Lava walls echo the form of the Hawaiian 'heiau' or sacred temple structures.
Living immersed in nature is a treat for the senses
One writer's description:  'The Sydney Opera House Meets Stonehenge!'
Covered walkway passes between the fishpond and the 70' turquoise swimming pool.
A covered walkway seems to float between the detached master suite and the main structure.
The influence of Frank Lloyd Wright is seen in the wrought iron spires and gate.
Visit nearby farmer's markets to sample unusual tropical fruit, such as mangosteen, cherimoya, etc.
With an emphasis on sustainable living, the gardens are planted with fruit trees.
Small guest bedroom has its own lanai opening onto the lily pond.
Each bedroom has a doorway to the gardens.
Each door is individually crafted into a unique shape.
Each bedroom has a door leading to a different part of the garden.
The estate accommodates six guests.
This villa faces the sunsets off the Kona Coast... and sometimes, you'll see 'the green flash.'
An adventurous vacation awaits your discovery.
James Hubbell's stained glass work is world-famous.
Unique patterns and details characterize Ken Kellogg's architecture.
Some endangered Hawaiian plant species are featured in the gardens.
An eco-tourist mecca, the Big Island has many unique spots for you to explore.
Sustainable living in harmony with the natural environment.
Inspired by nature, this home invites you to relax.
'Amazing Vacation Homes' showcased the Onion House.
Hawai'i Island is a photographer's delight.
The covered walkway connects these two remarkable structures.
This island villa is a perfect base camp for your adventures on the Big Island of Hawaii.
'An architecture so full of life it breathes!'
Signature style of architect Kendrick Bangs Kellogg.
One of nine homes across the US chosen for 'Wild Houses' by the Learning Channel.
A short getaway or a more relaxed vacation, you're sure to enjoy the pace of life in the islands.
Some water lilies bloom in the day; others, at night.
Landmark residence with authentic Hawaiian heritage.
Featured in Hawaiian Island Homes Magazine, Architectural Digest, Global Architecture, etc.
'Offbeat America' featured the Onion House on HGTV.
See the onionhousehawaii.com art gallery for more of owner Beth McCormick's artwork.
Lava rock walls echo the forms of Hawaiian sacred sites, or heiau.
Round stainless steel sinks were an original part of Kellogg's design.
Whimsical stained glass designed and created by James Hubbell.
The pool overlooks the west Or lee side of the Big Island, which typically gets little rainfall.
Translucent roof panels
Architectural details delight the eye
The curves of a leaf form inspired details throughout the house.
Warm sunlight and balmy afternoon weather... and a translucent roof.
Your vacation can be either adventurous or relaxed, according to your taste and preference.
Hoping for a 'green flash' sunset.
Whether you want to helicopter over an erupting volcano, or just relax, this is your base camp.
Illuminated architecture.
'The house of light and stone.'
Samantha Brown featured the Onion House on 'Girl Meets Hawaii: Best Deals, Best Values.'
Guest bedroom in the main structure
Spectacular sunsets are a nightly celebration.
Lounge and swim in privacy.
The master bedroom has views of the 70 ft. pool and the Kona coast.
The master bedroom is a separate structure, with private walled meditation garden and bath.
The water garden features a fountain, lily pond, and stone bench for viewing sunsets.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Deborah S
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Life in a work of art!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay at the Onion House. It has all the amenities you could want and the owners are easy to work with. It was well maintained and quite beautiful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It really is a work of art and very unique.
Liked least: I liked it all.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Thank you! We work hard to maintain and upgrade this landmark building... It's kind of a collaborative art project with all the crew members!
Beth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol B
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
4
people found this review helpful

The pros: nice patio and large swimming pool and beth was easy to deal with.
Cons: the lily pond was full of dirty water, toads and toad eggs, no beautiful plants. Plugins in master bath did not work. Lizards all over inside the house. The bedding and pillows were stained and old. When it rained the master closet got wet as well as the kitchen. The pool was dirty when we moved in and was not cleaned until the day before we moved out. The planters around the pool had no plants. Absolutely not as pictured. My son and his family moved out.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2014
We take great pride in our ongoing restoration of the Onion House, and this guest's experience was quite unusual due to a number of factors outside our control, including a big tropical storm and an unexpected leak in the pond. We gave a partial refund of rent, which the guest did not mention in the review. Here’s what happened, from our point of view:

The lily pond sprung a big leak, and we had to drain and clean the pond before this guest’s arrival, but did not have enough open time to undertake the repairs until after their stay. A torrential rain, following an extended drought, filled the empty pond with water up to the level of the leak, but also brought out the toads, which laid eggs in the storm water. After the big storm, it took the pool company a few days to clean all the wind-driven leaves in the swimming pool, since they were busy cleaning up much of Kona.

Several of the items mentioned are not accurate… the plug in the master bathroom works; you just have to hit the reset button and turn the switch on. The linens were not stained; although they had been used previously, the were in good shape and freshly laundered. The planters around the pool have been recently re-landscaped, to remove the crotons with their sizable root systems which could potentially break open the tiled planter walls. Although the colorful crotons in the photos were removed, new plants were established. We had not replaced the photos on the website yet to reflect this change.

We ask for suggestions from all our guests, and take them seriously. Some of our best ideas have come from our guests’ recommendations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ID
Reviewed 29 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Mahalo nui loa... glad you could come and relax at the Onion House.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Francisco
Reviewed 4 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Texas
Reviewed 31 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CAAdventu...
San Jose, CA
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unusual and Wonderful Indoor/Outdoor Living in Kona”
Reviewed 8 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Our family of 6 (teens and grandmother included) stayed at the Onion House last week. It was such a relaxing and unusual place to enjoy the beauty the Kona coast has to offer. It is definitely not for everyone - but it was perfect for us. Just minutes from the hubub, it was an oasis of calm and communing with nature. Indoors and outdoors are blended - geckos in the kitchen, licking your papaya, a quick swim to the back of the house to the master suite. Is the shower inside or outdoor? - hard to say. We never turned on the TV. It would have felt sacrilegious here. There isn't a lot of privacy, but there is a lot of calm. I would highly recommend a stay at the Onion House for anyone who wants an unusual way to experience Kona.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The geckos and communing with nature
Liked least: Lack of privacy
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Reviewed 3 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing