We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kona Coast Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kona Coast Resort
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newberg, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretty good resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

I've stayed a few times but this time had no security person when you enter the resort. Great pool next to bar and ocean. Bar drinks are just ok. Cute entertainment. VERY LARGE rooms. Very minimal dishes SUPER BARE MINIMUM on bowls and cooking utensils. They deliver what you need. Bring your own laundry detergent or they charge $1. Lower levels I think people let cats in. So if allergies count on that. Some musty smell. Beds are great.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shell W, Social Media Team at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Hi Heidi,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the pool area and bedding in the units. We apologize for any concern regarding a lack of unit utensils and we will look to use this information to continue improving the guest experience. We hope you come back to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    778
    503
    139
    60
    40
See reviews for
531
634
36
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

we used to own a timeshare at kona coast resort, when our children were at home. used to go every other year. went back last year (dec. 2012), with daughter to relive the experience, some changes of course. usually stayed in the newer section but this time had 2 bedroom in older section. loved it. lots of space in 2 bedroom, plus lots of wood walls and accents. on top floor so lovely view over other buildings. the resort is not right on the water but that's because the golf course is in front. still a nice view if on the top floors. things still well kept up. a mall (movie theatre, restaurant, grocery stores, drug stores) just across the street. really need a car in this area, but there is a bus that runs into kona. staff friendly and helpful. tennis courts, couple of pools etc. this is a great place for families.

Room Tip: can check thru time share users group like tug to see if a rental available. we did this one, howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charleah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shell W, Social Media Team at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate your kind words and will share them with our staff. We are glad you enjoyed the spacious units and location to area activities. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

The room is very spacious with all amenities. Close to major beaches and attractions. Great for family vacations! There is a shopping center just across the street, and Safeway is not a long drive away either. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Only shortcoming is that there is no elevators so we had to carry all luggage to the third floor by hand

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ZhouX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shell W, Social Media Team at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback including some helpful information for future guests. We appreciate your kind words and will share them with our staff. We are so glad you enjoyed the spacious unit and location to the beaches. We apologize for any inconvenience due to the lack of elevators. We know it’s important to feel completely relaxed when on vacation. We hope you come back to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Although our 3-bedroom unit was dated (kitchen cabinets) it was one of the best resorts we have stayed at. Each of the bedrooms had its own bathroom. The master bedroom was huge with its own deck as well. Unfortunately we did not have an ocean view. The pristine landscaping made up for that. The entire condo was the cleanest we have ever stayed at. The service was phenomenal. When I needed housekeeping, the staff showed up faster than when we have stayed in a single building hotel, even though it is a sprawling, multiple building condo complex. All the staff were sincerely friendly and totally focused on customer care.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 54lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shell W, Social Media Team at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for providing this feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your unit accommodations and deck. We appreciate your kind words and will share them with our staff. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Overall – Pleasant accommodation, quiet, nicely furnished, good condition, good value, near grocery stores, restaurants, beach. Spent 3 nights in Sept/Oct 2013. Reserved “1 Bedroom Villa Honu” for average of $128.50/night plus tax. Air conditioning was included. The unit had two full bathrooms, so my wife and I could get ready for the day’s activities in half the time.

Don’t make the navigation mistake I made, and do pay attention to the map included in your reservation confirmation email. The Iphone standard map app indicates the street address (78-6842 Alii Dr) is about 2 miles away from the actual resort location because it recognizes the street name but not the street number. The check-in office is not located near the entrance, and we some trouble seeing small “CHECK IN” directional signs when arriving at night.

Nice pool and hot tub. You get, and sign for, beach towels when checking in. They can be swapped for clean/dry towels beside the pool during daytime hours. You just need to ensure your room number ‘gets credit’ for turning them in near the pool (day only) or the check in office (staffed 24/7) before departing.

Web site clearly showed that construction (solar panel installation) would be taking place during our visit. During check in, the pleasant clerk made a point of putting us in a room away from the construction.

Saw numerous birds and bird species, a few geckos and an occasional ferret around the property. A disfigured, but visually interesting, palm tree is visible from the northwest portion of the property (in the golf course beside building 27). Picture included.

Kahaluu Beach Park is a walkable half mile north of the resort. The park was crowded by Hawaii standards (which is still nearly empty by mainland standards), because you can literally walk into the water and swim with 2 foot wide sea turtles. You can rent snorkel gear at silly high prices at the park, or rent snorkel gear for a little less at the Kona Resort. Consider bringing small swimming goggles from home and you’ll get terrific up close views of these creatures – the water is shallow.

We happened to be visiting about 2 weeks prior to the Hawaii Ironman triathlon. It is an interesting time, when you can see freakishly tall and thin super-athletes practicing their running skills up and down Alii Road and their biking skills all over the island.

A comment about Saddle Road. The most direct route between Kona and Hilo (Saddle Road) was recently improved to be a straight, 3 lane smooth highway. Due to its former condition, maps still indicate rental cars are not allowed. The Saddle Road drive affords an opportunity to see bighorn sheep at close range. We saw a few groups from about 40 feet when traveling eastward about 9AM. The sheep were milling about between Saddle Road and extensive fencing around a military camp to the south.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whereRwegoinext?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shell W, Social Media Team at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback including some helpful information for future guests. We are so glad you enjoyed the resort accommodations and location. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

It's hard to start a review where you've no strong feeling one way or another towards the establishment. In a place like the southern coast of Hawai'i...the problem is likely rooted right there. Situated in one of the most scenically beautiful, culturally & culinary rich, vacation oriented inclined areas of world... is a hotel that leaves you feeling more or less numb towards it. If 2.5 stars was an option, that's where I'd have gone... as it is, a very friendly handyman gives them the .5 star bump for being a generally awesome guy.

The Kona Coast Resort has being "C" student down to a science. The service was amicable, but no one (save one handy man) went out of their way to assist or even simply provide that extra day-brightening moment. The location has nice views from most parts of the property but leaves much to be desired as many previous reviewers have mentioned. The lack of any ocean access or even a beach if you scamper across the golf course in the dusk leaves much to be desired. The nearest beach is little more than a city park, not exactly the stuff of postcards.

I can't comment on the food, the restaurant was closed at 9p (as was all of Kona seemingly) the only night we tried dining from it. The menu looked nice though with prices about what you'd expect. The pool is, you guessed it, nice and clean enough, but nothing more than a pool with a bar nearby. No views to speak of and certainly nothing exceptional at all about it. The pool area is one of those things that could be improved immeasurably with a little imagination.

The buildings all look tired and in need of brightening, the grounds are however very well kept and parking is ample. We had a bunch of 'use 'em or lose em' points with Shell so we booked the penthouse. The kitchen was very nice and we made thorough use of it. The shower spa hadn't been properly cleaned and spit moldy residue our when the fixture was turned on and I wouldn't call the beds anything special, ours bordering on motel-six quality. The veranda was very nice with a "partial ocean view" that was the typical crane-your-neck-around-the-corner variety. We took advantage of it often enjoying dinner in two nights and frequent cocktails on the patio with baseball or music on the radio.

On a slightly sour note; They charge you an extra $9-$15 dollars a day for air conditioning "if you chose to opt in." Now, I recognize electricity in Hawaii is much much more expensive than the mainland. But this "do you wish to opt into to AC" thing is for the birds. It's 85-degrees with 90% relative humidity most of the year in Kona... you're simply slipping an added charge to your guests. If you need the extra money, charge it in the rates - don't drop it on me at check-in. This right along with other hotels "resort fee" just sets a bad tone of nickle and diming customers from the outset. It is to me a poor business practice, they obviously feel otherwise.

In conclusion, there was no one thing that made our stay at Kona Coast unpleasant. Would I recommend you stay here? No, likely not. If their rates are WAY lower than other resorts, you could make a reasonable value argument for this being a fine choice of places to stay. But, all things being equal, I have to imagine there are better A or B students in Kona from which to choose. As a whole, Kona Coast Resort is just a middle of the road property in one of the best vacation destination areas in the world (per this lovely website's community of users) ~ there have to be better options out there on price, amenities, location, and likely even service.

Room Tip: Request and accept only a full ocean view. If you're a light sleeper, stay away from the recreat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrantNeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crescent City, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Great views, clean, friendly, comfortable. Everything is within a short drive, shopping center, beaches, tourist areas. Lots of things to see and do in the area. Bubba Gumps just down the road a piece. The Quiet Pool was nice, not a lot of kids yelling and running. Would do it again.

Room Tip: If you don't like something, report it immediately, not much they can do about a problem if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shell W, Social Media Team at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Hi Shirley,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed the unit view and resort location. We hope you come back to visit for another relaxing vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
5.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
5.3 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
4.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,767 reviews
17.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Coast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Coast Resort

Property: Kona Coast Resort
Address: 78-6842 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kona Coast Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kona Coast Resort on Hawaii's Big Island sits on 21 acres of lush, tropical gardens and offers spectacular views of palm trees and calm waters. 267 spacious and air-conditioned villas at Kona Coast Resort are designed with a Hawaiian flair. Each comfortable villa offers a magnificent Pacific coastline view or a manicured tropical garden view from its private lanai or patio and include full kitchens and all of the comforts of home. Enjoy two swimming pools (one family pool with a children’s pool and one quiet spa pool), three Jacuzzis, sauna, playground, tennis courts, volleyball, fitness center, and on-site activities like hula lessons and dive instruction. The abundance of things to do on the Big Island found within easy distance of the Kona Coast Resort is as remarkable as it is exhilarating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kona Coast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Coast Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Coast Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing