We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Except For Sleeping”
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kona Coast Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
214 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Except For Sleeping”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

What a great staff! I am so impressed with the staff. However, the major issue I had with the resort was the quality of the bedding. The mattress was INCREDIBLY worn and I wasn't doing much sleeping, as a result. I told the staff after a few days that I was going to have to sleep on the couch. (I didn't come all the way to Hawaii to not be able to share the bed with my husband.).
The staff was great and said they would bring an egg crate to put on the mattress. So, when we got home from our day there were two twin foam egg crates wrapped in plastic in our room. These egg crates were torn, dirty and also worn. It's hard to believe they would even offer dirty foam crates as a solution.
So, other than just a few hours of sleep each night, all was well. But, because of this very important issue, I can only give them a rating of "two."

Room Tip: Ask for a good quality mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jclarremore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shell W, Social Media Team at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are sorry to hear you were uncomfortable due to the worn mattress in your unit. Our goal is to make each guest feel at home by providing satisfactory accommodations in each unit and across the property. Please rest assured that we will be making the necessary changes to ensure we are providing the best amenities for our guests. Again, thanks for taking the time to reach out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    794
    512
    139
    61
    40
See reviews for
538
652
36
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbank, Iowa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is one of the nicest resorts that we have stayed at. We was a 2 bed/bath with a large lanai with great view of the ocean that you could access form the living room and the master bedroom. It was like staying in a small house. It had a full kitchen with large washer/dryer. We had a small quiet pool right next to our unit. There was also a restaurant, a larger pool and beach equipment rental there. Will go back again when in Hawaii!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shell W, Social Media Team at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hi Duane,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate your kind words and will share them with our staff. It’s so good to hear you enjoyed the unit lanai and amenities. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My wife and I just spent a week at the Kona Coast Resort, Phase II. We exchanged our timeshare for this resort. It's a beautiful resort, with the grounds impeccable. Had a second floor unit. Rooms were large with two bathrooms, walk-in shower, etc. Nice balcony overlooking the golf course then the ocean. Lower kitchen cabinet (sink) was a little worn, but other than that, the accommodations were great. Minimal equipment in kitchen, but adequate for two people. Resort is a little tight on parking as some was roped off for construction. Did not get bothered by the construction, though. Across the street, and up the hill, is a nice shopping plaza with Long's Drugs (really a grocery also), a KTA grocery (higher prices than Long's), a Hawiian Barbeque (L & L), cinemas, etc. Great view of sunset from the parking lot of the shopping plaza! About 8 miles to 'downtown' Kona, down Ali'i drive. Close to the highway also. Did not get the air conditioning. Ceiling fan in bedroom and living room were ok. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gravesdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shell W, Social Media Team at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback including some area information for future guests. We appreciate your kind words and will share them with our staff. It’s so good to hear you enjoyed the unit space and amenities. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This resort is very large, with no ocean views. You pretty much need to set aside time to walk to the pool, bar/restaurant, and equipment hut. We had to pay to rent snorkel gear, and an ice chest at this timeshare resort. There was no shampoo or conditioner in bathrooms, so make sure you bring your own. You also had to pay $11.00 + taxes per day for air conditioner. This is an optional charge. There are no elevators at this resort. If someone needs assistance, I would make sure to let them know when reserving your room that you need a bottom floor location.

It was a nice, comfortable room. Maid service one time during our 1 week stay. It is not that far from the downtown Kona shopping area, but you do need a car.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Punky_bk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

The one bedroom villa size is wonderful but old and broken (bathroom door does not even come close to closing for privacy) TV is ancient and cable selection is lol! The exercise room is a total joke. BYO weights or arm bands. The golf course, which is between the villa and ocean is closed due to ?? . Asked for and was told room was on top floor...nope, but to be fair, I may have sounded like an elephant to my neighbors below too! I wish I had more positive things to say...will not be back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lipstick007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shell W, Social Media Team at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are sorry to hear you experienced some difficulties with the bathroom door in your unit and that you were unsatisfied with the unit décor. Please know this is not our Wyndham standards. Your feedback will although us to make the necessary adjustments moving forward. Please also note we are unable to guarantee any unit location prior to check-in. We apologize for any confusion and will work to better communicate this through additional channels in the future. We will ensure we check on the issue to eliminate any future occurrences and enhance the guest experience. Again, thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hesperia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We have been timeshare owners here for several years and it is one of our favorite resorts. The accomodations are superior and the staff is friendly and accomodating. The pool and barbeque areas are very nice. The shopping area across the street is very handy and it is a short drive to many tourist areas.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wcmoffatHesperia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shell W, Social Media Team at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate your kind words and will share them with our staff. We are glad you enjoyed the pool and barbeque areas along with the close proximity to shopping. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Beautiful property, 1br unit spacious. Pools nice, hot tubs nice, fitness center small. Staff very friendly. :Little things I found as positive.
*Gas grills available for use
*Have a quiet pool for time away from less quiet people...though spent little time at pool (preferred ocean time.)
*Provide games, basketball, etc for free use.
Can rent snorkel gear,,cooler, umbrellas and the like. Could find some of this stuff at other places, perhaps a little cheaper and even at some beaches, however really convenient.
*Provide a little laundry and dishwasher soap. (I know not huge deal just nice to walk into, when mind elsewhere on vacation.)

I have a timeshare here, have for several years, first trip here, quite impressed. One stupid thing. If I wanted air conditioner in unit, had to pay daily fee. I pay enough in maintenance fees that this is dumb nickel and diming me...don't know as a non-owner but as a guest paying for a week if a/c is included. I'll be writing the board of directors wondering about this.

Private area, relatively quiet, no beach, that's okay, less traffic because all beaches in Hawaii are public.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachaelplacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shell W, Social Media Team at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Hi Steve,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate your kind words and will share them with our staff. We are glad you enjoyed the pool area and resort accommodations including equipment rentals. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
5.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
5.3 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,823 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
17.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Coast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Coast Resort

Property: Kona Coast Resort
Address: 78-6842 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kona Coast Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kona Coast Resort on Hawaii's Big Island sits on 21 acres of lush, tropical gardens and offers spectacular views of palm trees and calm waters. 267 spacious and air-conditioned villas at Kona Coast Resort are designed with a Hawaiian flair. Each comfortable villa offers a magnificent Pacific coastline view or a manicured tropical garden view from its private lanai or patio and include full kitchens and all of the comforts of home. Enjoy two swimming pools (one family pool with a children’s pool and one quiet spa pool), three Jacuzzis, sauna, playground, tennis courts, volleyball, fitness center, and on-site activities like hula lessons and dive instruction. The abundance of things to do on the Big Island found within easy distance of the Kona Coast Resort is as remarkable as it is exhilarating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kona Coast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Coast Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Coast Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing