We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family vacation or just the two of us, we will be back.”
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kona Coast Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 31 March 2014

7 day stay at this fabulous resort. My husband, myself and 15 yo daughter. Checking in at 5pm was not a problem, fast, efficient and very simple. Right into the unit immediately with assistance with our bags readily available. One downside, no elevators, and pulling luggage up 3 flights of stairs was a bit difficult but got it done. Don't remember if it was in the listing that there were no elevators so be forewarned. Hugh rooms, great atmosphere, felt like I was really on vacation. I would have liked a peak of the ocean at least from our large lanai but there were plenty of birds and golf course view if that is what you like.

Big master en suite with large soaking tub was well appreciated for after the day full of activities. Great water pressure and hot water. Bedrooms were large, stayed in the 2 bedroom and there was plenty of room for 6 adults if needed. One thing missing was a hair dryer in the second bathroom.

The kitchen had everything I needed but did not do much cooking this time. A little skimpy on the cookware but necessary items were adequate. One pet peeve in this type of unit, 6 oz coffee cups. I make a 12 cup pot of coffee and need a coffee mug to drink from instead of the little cups. ESPECIALLY in the Kona coffee capital of the WORLD.
Two packages of dishwashing powder, not enough. Did two loads so was enough for us, but like I said did not do much cooking. I took extra Tide Pods for laundry in a zip lock bag and some softener sheets because I knew from experience there wouldn't be enough. Hate to go and buy this type of item and have to leave half of it. Nothing better than coming home with suitcases full of clean clothes.

Televisions in 3 rooms, cable, very good WIFI signal.

We did go to the 90 minute presentation about the timeshares aspect and in trade received the Aloha card, discount deal for excursions. Saved us over $500.00 plus on activities so it was worth the 90 minutes. The card as a discount for anything else like dining was not worth the paper it is printed on. Was usable on a limited number of places and was not worth changing our plans to get a better deal on the meals so if you don't plan on buying into the timeshare, or doing any of the pricey excursions I wouldn't spend my 90 minutes for the meal discounts.

It was nice being able to rent beach chairs, coolers, boogie boards and other beach items from the resort. Great price for it and able to use it for several days worked out nicely. Easy to get it and return and the beach towel exchange was also very helpful.

Apparently we were in an older unit that had not been upgraded yet, but it was still very nice. The upgraded units had granite counter tops but that was about the only difference so don't worry if yours isn't an upgraded unit.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view but don't get your hopes up. 3 floors walk up, be aware no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda B, Assistant Resort Manager at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Greetings from the Big Island! Thank you Emily for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review for Kona Coast Resort. You shared everything we would want our arriving guests to know about the Resort. On your next visit plese call the front desk and ask for coffee mugs, we keep a small inventory of special request items just for this occasion. We can provide you with a coffee grinder too! We hope to see you back again soon!

With aloha,
Rhonda Brown
rhonda.brown@wyn.com
(808) 324-1721

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

507 - 513 of 1,599 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

Great resort for the money. We had a beautiful 2 bed unit with a water view. Nice interior, very spacious, great furnishings. Safe large enough for laptops, . Several pools. Free wifi and parking. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda B, Assistant Resort Manager at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Mahalo 186girl for sharing your recent stay at Kona Coast Resort with our TripAdvisor followers! I'm glad that you found the villas spacious and comfortable. We would love to see you for an extended stay in the future. It takes a while to see all of the sights here on Hawaii's Big Island.

With aloha,
Rhonda Brown
rhonda.brown@wyn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

3rd trip to Kona Coast Resort and it was more or less the same lovely experience. We had asked for the room we had twice before but were out of luck. We got ground floor in building 18 - great lovely big lanai with nice view of golf course. Lots of feathered friends came looking for breakfast scraps every morning, and we were right near very well-used barbecue units which we saw being vigorously cleaned every morning. Large rooms, VERY well appointed (though no kettle, tea-drinking Brits watch out). And I agree with other reviewers - very measly on the dishwasher powder front and you do need to buy your own powder if you intend to do more than 2 lots of laundry. BUT don't forget to get beach towels from the desk which you can exchange every day for clean ones. And you couldn't be much closer to big supermarkets where you can buy a whole box of washing powder for a few dollars. The one fly in the ointment this time was noise. Immediately above us a family moved in and the kids really did sound like baby elephants running up and down. We did call the front desk who offered to send security, but luckily they only seemed to stay for 1 night (unless they moved them?). Previously we had stayed on the top floor so had no idea how much he footfall sounds from upstairs. If I were to stay again I would definitely ask for top floor as the noise really did threaten to ruin our relaxing stay. There did seem to be some (not-noisy) building work going on which threatened aesthetics a little but I suppose maintenance has to be done. We have never used pool or restaurant, but tennis courts, basketball and volleyball all seem very well-maintained and I would not hesitate to go again.

Room Tip: ROOM TIP - definitely ask for view of golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CuthbertK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda B, Assistant Resort Manager at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear CuthbertK, Thank you so much for sharing your Kona Coast Resort experience with our TripAdvisor followers! Sharing your kind words allow our associates to see how the work they do every day translates to a memorable Hawaiian experience and turns our "customers" into guests. After three visits you are certainly ohana! On your next visit don't hesitate to call the front desk and request a kettle for hot water. We keep a few additional kitchen supplies on hand for special reuests like that.

With aloha,
Rhonda Brown
rhonda.brown@wyn.com
(808) 324-1721

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed here with two older adults and 4 grown kids over 21. The condo was roomy enough that we weren't on top of each other. Bed was comfortable upon arrival but they still replaced it during our stay. The resort has no beach on the property but the golf course seemed closed so we would walk over to the water to catch sunsets. It is a mile and a half walk from turtle beach which is great for snorkeling but not for sun bathing. Rocky terrain. Resort staff were accommodating to our minimal requests. There are BBQ grills which were close and easy to use. Lit up at night too. Maid service was only one time per week but that was adequate for us. I didn't like that there is an additional fee for air conditioning use. Good news is we didn't need it while there. What ever construction was being done the past year or so is complete and the resort is now quite nice

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank worldtravelor1757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda B, Assistant Resort Manager at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Mahalo Worldtravelor1757 for sharing your recent experience at Kona Coast Resort with our TripAdvisor followers! We're happy that you found the villa spacious and comfortable for your party of 8. I can't tell you how many family card games have been played on our lanais. It sounds like you got out to explore, there is alot of that to do on the Big Island so we hope you will visit us again and continue exploring.

With aloha,
Rhonda Brown
rhonda.brown@wyn.com
(808) 324-1721

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed 3 nights at the Kona Coast Resort in a 2 bedroom condo. it was luxurious!

Only disappointing thing is that Check in is at 4pm. Us Aussies are used to 2pm at the latest but apparently in Hawaii 3pm is more the norm but I think 4pm is too late. Sunset was 6.30pm.

This place is huge. You need a map to navigate.

Our condo was only about 100 metres from the main pool and restaurant. We had two huge bedrooms, 2 bathrooms (ensuite with huge spa bath), great kitchen, lounge and balcony. Also laundry facilities included. Three televisions with cable TV options. TV's all inside cupboards which is another new "Hawaiian/US custom" I guess as we experienced this in other places we stayed in Maui and Oahu.

There is no sea views here, which we knew before we booked. I note that some other reviewers were disappointed. I guess they didn't research enough and just booked the resort on name only.

The pool is large although don't be fooled by the virtual tour shots online: that makes the pool look like about 3 acres!!

The "restaurant/cafe/bar" is called Aloha Fridays and was great value with very friendly staff. We ate here 2 nights.Very relaxed. Great views to the ocean across the golf course.

The resort appears well managed, very clean, good security and ground staff are always friendly.

This is a time share resort. If you sign up to a 90 minute information session, you receive a discount card that enables you to buy all activities at about half price and get a $50 credit as well! We declined because it would be a waste of time for us but personally I don't need the "hard sell" while on vacation.

While very pleased with the resort, if we venture to the Big Island again, we would stay in Kona itself. A good looking little town that would give you more variety in eating and entertainment. You have to drive from the resort to Kona, too far to walk.

Room Tip: Don't waste money on Luau. Went to Royal Kona Resort: show OK but "open bar" is only f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whakatipu2530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda B, Assistant Resort Manager at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Hello Bleask2871,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our TripAdvisor followers! I am glad that you enjoyed the spacious villa and many Resort amentities available to you at Kona Coast Resort. As a seasoned traveller you shared excellent Resort specific and Big Island information that will help us to exceed the expectations of our future guests. We hope you include KCR and Aloha Fridays restaurant on your next Big Island itinerary.

With aloha,
Rhonda Brown
rhonda.brown@wyn.com
(808) 324-1721

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We were welcomed warmly at check in and were pleased that our unit was ready despite us arriving a bit early. The suite was spacious and clean with lovely furnishings and a great view of the ocean from the large lanai. The only complaint we had was regarding the pool adjacent to our unit. We were advised upon check in that the upper pool was "Adults Only".....which we greatly appreciated. The signage at the pool indicated that no children under 14 were allowed. Despite that, the first evening we were sitting on the lanai, the squeals and splashing of kids in the pool was hard to ignore. The next morning as we ate breakfast on the lanai....same thing, We spoke to the front desk and were advised to call the next time kids were in the pool and they would send security...which we did the next afternoon. The security guard came to the pool but stood back and observed without saying anything to the supervising adults. Eventually the kids left with their adults.....we did not see the security guard intervene at all. The final day of our stay as we lay by the Adults Only pool, a small toddler still in diapers was in the pool. It seemed that she was with a lady who was not a guest of the resort at all but rather was with one of the local painting crew working on the building beside the pool. When we checked out, we spoke to the front desk gal about this again and she said "kids are allowed as long as they are quiet". We said we were advised to the contrary and the signage at the pool confirms that. She said "really...hmmm". It seemed that there was a lack of understanding of the resort's rules and regulations by their own staff and security was reluctant to enforce the rules. Otherwise our stay was pleasant but as travellers without kids, we were very much looking forward to the quiet of an Adults Only pool.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda B, Assistant Resort Manager at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Mahalo Nancy, for taking the time to review the Kona Coast Resort for our TripAdvisor friends. The experiences that you share provide invaluable information to our Management team, especially when they illustrate a gap in training that is easy to fix. Your comments about the mis-communication at the Maluhia pool are a perfect example of this. While we cannot prevent children from using the "quiet pool" we can ensure that none under the age of 14 are there without adult supervision and we can take action when a noise complaint is made. As a result of your comments we were able to improve Security's schedule for inspection of that pool and also able to implement a better procedure for identifying and removing trespassers. I hope that upon your return you will find quiet and relaxing enjoyment at the Maluhia pool.

With aloha,
Rhonda Brown
rhonda.brown@wyn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Very big appartments with a big veranda. Rooms are very clean. Staff is very friendly. Free WIFI and parking. Supermarket is around the corner. 2 pools ( one just for adults). Unfortunatley, there is no direct beach access but you will hardly find a hotel which has one in Kona. But a few driving minutes away you can access the beach.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kathi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda B, Assistant Resort Manager at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Hi Kathi,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Great! vacation with our TripAdvisor followers. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the large villa and lanai and that you found the location of the Resort to be convenient. You are absolutely right when you shared that most Bid Island properties are not oceanfront. I hope that you did find a comfortable spot here at the Resort to enjoy the beautiful ocean views and colorful sunsets and that you will return to KCR in the future.

With aloha,
Rhonda Brown
rhonda.brown@wyn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
5.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
5.3 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,961 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
3.3 mi away
Aston Kona by the Sea
Aston Kona by the Sea
#3 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Coast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Coast Resort

Address: 78-6842 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: £117 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kona Coast Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kona Coast Resort on Hawaii's Big Island sits on 21 acres of lush, tropical gardens and offers spectacular views of palm trees and calm waters. 267 spacious and air-conditioned villas at Kona Coast Resort are designed with a Hawaiian flair. Each comfortable villa offers a magnificent Pacific coastline view or a manicured tropical garden view from its private lanai or patio and include full kitchens and all of the comforts of home. Enjoy two swimming pools (one family pool with a children’s pool and one quiet spa pool), three Jacuzzis, sauna, playground, tennis courts, volleyball, fitness center, and on-site activities like hula lessons and dive instruction. The abundance of things to do on the Big Island found within easy distance of the Kona Coast Resort is as remarkable as it is exhilarating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kona Coast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Coast Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Coast Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing