We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“convenient location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kona Coast Resort
GreenLeadersSilver level
North bend, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“convenient location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

we have owned time share at Kona coast resort since 1996. convenient to snorkel. pool and tennis are nice. wish there was more of a restaurant, as only one is kinda bar food at the pool. the units and resort are well maintained. since recently bought by Wyndham, they are putting on some money to upgrade.

Room Tip: this was first time that we were facing the golf course, which was nice and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RFAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda B, Assistant Resort Manager at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Mahalo Anderson family for your review on TripAdvisor! As you know from your return visits most of our staff have been here for many years and it is always the highlight of our work day to greet a returning owner or guest. As you mentioned, there will be many ongoing improvements for you to enjoy upon your return.

With aloha,
The Kona Coast Resort ohana
(808) 324-1721
rhonda.brown@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    773
    503
    139
    60
    40
See reviews for
529
632
36
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We traded our timeshare in Belize which is considered Premier with Interval International for Kona Coast which is also Premier with Interval International. The unit we stayed in was old and outdated except for the bathrooms which have been partially updated. The doors and trim need some work. Also, the windows in the bathroom would be a nice addition if you could see out of them. They had a huge layer of film on them. It looked like they hadn't been cleaned in years. The kitchen was equipped but at the bare minimum with cheapest utensils and cookware. I cook, so there were several things I had to buy myself. The cups were miniature size and there were no storage containers. The wifi was good most of the time except that we kept having to log in all of the time. The patio was large but the air conditioner was on the patio which was loud and blew hot air at us.They charged us an additional $12.95 per night to have air conditioning. The furniture was old and wearing out. There was a very very small flat screen tv in the living room. The bedrooms only had old tube tv's that didn't work very well. The unit was large and clean but had only a sliver view of the ocean. Most of our view was of the other buildings. The staff was friendly but not extremely helpful. We had questions they couldn't answer. The activities department was suppose to set up a snorkel trip. We checked with them 3 times and finally just set it up ourselves. We also discovered the snorkel trip was $10 a person cheaper booking it ourselves online. There were two very simple and small pools. One had an ok view of the ocean and the other one had no view. The restaurant and bar was also very small with an ok staff and food. The resort had beach chair rentals which was great. The location was ok. It was too far to walk to Kona Village, so we had to utilize a taxi. We also had a very large cockroach that we had to kill in our unit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tltjk5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda B, Assistant Resort Manager at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Mahalo tltjk5 for taking the time to share your experience with our TripAdvisor followers. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your Kona Coast Resort experience. Reviews like yours are very important to the management here at KCR as they help us prioritize areas for additonal inspection and improvement.

With aloha,
Rhonda Brown
rhonda.brown@wyn.com
(808) 324-1721
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

7 day stay at this fabulous resort. My husband, myself and 15 yo daughter. Checking in at 5pm was not a problem, fast, efficient and very simple. Right into the unit immediately with assistance with our bags readily available. One downside, no elevators, and pulling luggage up 3 flights of stairs was a bit difficult but got it done. Don't remember if it was in the listing that there were no elevators so be forewarned. Hugh rooms, great atmosphere, felt like I was really on vacation. I would have liked a peak of the ocean at least from our large lanai but there were plenty of birds and golf course view if that is what you like.

Big master en suite with large soaking tub was well appreciated for after the day full of activities. Great water pressure and hot water. Bedrooms were large, stayed in the 2 bedroom and there was plenty of room for 6 adults if needed. One thing missing was a hair dryer in the second bathroom.

The kitchen had everything I needed but did not do much cooking this time. A little skimpy on the cookware but necessary items were adequate. One pet peeve in this type of unit, 6 oz coffee cups. I make a 12 cup pot of coffee and need a coffee mug to drink from instead of the little cups. ESPECIALLY in the Kona coffee capital of the WORLD.
Two packages of dishwashing powder, not enough. Did two loads so was enough for us, but like I said did not do much cooking. I took extra Tide Pods for laundry in a zip lock bag and some softener sheets because I knew from experience there wouldn't be enough. Hate to go and buy this type of item and have to leave half of it. Nothing better than coming home with suitcases full of clean clothes.

Televisions in 3 rooms, cable, very good WIFI signal.

We did go to the 90 minute presentation about the timeshares aspect and in trade received the Aloha card, discount deal for excursions. Saved us over $500.00 plus on activities so it was worth the 90 minutes. The card as a discount for anything else like dining was not worth the paper it is printed on. Was usable on a limited number of places and was not worth changing our plans to get a better deal on the meals so if you don't plan on buying into the timeshare, or doing any of the pricey excursions I wouldn't spend my 90 minutes for the meal discounts.

It was nice being able to rent beach chairs, coolers, boogie boards and other beach items from the resort. Great price for it and able to use it for several days worked out nicely. Easy to get it and return and the beach towel exchange was also very helpful.

Apparently we were in an older unit that had not been upgraded yet, but it was still very nice. The upgraded units had granite counter tops but that was about the only difference so don't worry if yours isn't an upgraded unit.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view but don't get your hopes up. 3 floors walk up, be aware no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda B, Assistant Resort Manager at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Greetings from the Big Island! Thank you Emily for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review for Kona Coast Resort. You shared everything we would want our arriving guests to know about the Resort. On your next visit plese call the front desk and ask for coffee mugs, we keep a small inventory of special request items just for this occasion. We can provide you with a coffee grinder too! We hope to see you back again soon!

With aloha,
Rhonda Brown
rhonda.brown@wyn.com
(808) 324-1721
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Great resort for the money. We had a beautiful 2 bed unit with a water view. Nice interior, very spacious, great furnishings. Safe large enough for laptops, . Several pools. Free wifi and parking. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 186girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda B, Assistant Resort Manager at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Mahalo 186girl for sharing your recent stay at Kona Coast Resort with our TripAdvisor followers! I'm glad that you found the villas spacious and comfortable. We would love to see you for an extended stay in the future. It takes a while to see all of the sights here on Hawaii's Big Island.

With aloha,
Rhonda Brown
rhonda.brown@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

3rd trip to Kona Coast Resort and it was more or less the same lovely experience. We had asked for the room we had twice before but were out of luck. We got ground floor in building 18 - great lovely big lanai with nice view of golf course. Lots of feathered friends came looking for breakfast scraps every morning, and we were right near very well-used barbecue units which we saw being vigorously cleaned every morning. Large rooms, VERY well appointed (though no kettle, tea-drinking Brits watch out). And I agree with other reviewers - very measly on the dishwasher powder front and you do need to buy your own powder if you intend to do more than 2 lots of laundry. BUT don't forget to get beach towels from the desk which you can exchange every day for clean ones. And you couldn't be much closer to big supermarkets where you can buy a whole box of washing powder for a few dollars. The one fly in the ointment this time was noise. Immediately above us a family moved in and the kids really did sound like baby elephants running up and down. We did call the front desk who offered to send security, but luckily they only seemed to stay for 1 night (unless they moved them?). Previously we had stayed on the top floor so had no idea how much he footfall sounds from upstairs. If I were to stay again I would definitely ask for top floor as the noise really did threaten to ruin our relaxing stay. There did seem to be some (not-noisy) building work going on which threatened aesthetics a little but I suppose maintenance has to be done. We have never used pool or restaurant, but tennis courts, basketball and volleyball all seem very well-maintained and I would not hesitate to go again.

Room Tip: ROOM TIP - definitely ask for view of golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CuthbertK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda B, Assistant Resort Manager at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear CuthbertK, Thank you so much for sharing your Kona Coast Resort experience with our TripAdvisor followers! Sharing your kind words allow our associates to see how the work they do every day translates to a memorable Hawaiian experience and turns our "customers" into guests. After three visits you are certainly ohana! On your next visit don't hesitate to call the front desk and request a kettle for hot water. We keep a few additional kitchen supplies on hand for special reuests like that.

With aloha,
Rhonda Brown
rhonda.brown@wyn.com
(808) 324-1721
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Mesa, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with two older adults and 4 grown kids over 21. The condo was roomy enough that we weren't on top of each other. Bed was comfortable upon arrival but they still replaced it during our stay. The resort has no beach on the property but the golf course seemed closed so we would walk over to the water to catch sunsets. It is a mile and a half walk from turtle beach which is great for snorkeling but not for sun bathing. Rocky terrain. Resort staff were accommodating to our minimal requests. There are BBQ grills which were close and easy to use. Lit up at night too. Maid service was only one time per week but that was adequate for us. I didn't like that there is an additional fee for air conditioning use. Good news is we didn't need it while there. What ever construction was being done the past year or so is complete and the resort is now quite nice

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelor1757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda B, Assistant Resort Manager at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Mahalo Worldtravelor1757 for sharing your recent experience at Kona Coast Resort with our TripAdvisor followers! We're happy that you found the villa spacious and comfortable for your party of 8. I can't tell you how many family card games have been played on our lanais. It sounds like you got out to explore, there is alot of that to do on the Big Island so we hope you will visit us again and continue exploring.

With aloha,
Rhonda Brown
rhonda.brown@wyn.com
(808) 324-1721
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrose, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed 3 nights at the Kona Coast Resort in a 2 bedroom condo. it was luxurious!

Only disappointing thing is that Check in is at 4pm. Us Aussies are used to 2pm at the latest but apparently in Hawaii 3pm is more the norm but I think 4pm is too late. Sunset was 6.30pm.

This place is huge. You need a map to navigate.

Our condo was only about 100 metres from the main pool and restaurant. We had two huge bedrooms, 2 bathrooms (ensuite with huge spa bath), great kitchen, lounge and balcony. Also laundry facilities included. Three televisions with cable TV options. TV's all inside cupboards which is another new "Hawaiian/US custom" I guess as we experienced this in other places we stayed in Maui and Oahu.

There is no sea views here, which we knew before we booked. I note that some other reviewers were disappointed. I guess they didn't research enough and just booked the resort on name only.

The pool is large although don't be fooled by the virtual tour shots online: that makes the pool look like about 3 acres!!

The "restaurant/cafe/bar" is called Aloha Fridays and was great value with very friendly staff. We ate here 2 nights.Very relaxed. Great views to the ocean across the golf course.

The resort appears well managed, very clean, good security and ground staff are always friendly.

This is a time share resort. If you sign up to a 90 minute information session, you receive a discount card that enables you to buy all activities at about half price and get a $50 credit as well! We declined because it would be a waste of time for us but personally I don't need the "hard sell" while on vacation.

While very pleased with the resort, if we venture to the Big Island again, we would stay in Kona itself. A good looking little town that would give you more variety in eating and entertainment. You have to drive from the resort to Kona, too far to walk.

Room Tip: Don't waste money on Luau. Went to Royal Kona Resort: show OK but "open bar" is only f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whakatipu2530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda B, Assistant Resort Manager at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Hello Bleask2871,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our TripAdvisor followers! I am glad that you enjoyed the spacious villa and many Resort amentities available to you at Kona Coast Resort. As a seasoned traveller you shared excellent Resort specific and Big Island information that will help us to exceed the expectations of our future guests. We hope you include KCR and Aloha Fridays restaurant on your next Big Island itinerary.

With aloha,
Rhonda Brown
rhonda.brown@wyn.com
(808) 324-1721
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
5.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
5.3 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
4.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Coast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Coast Resort

Property: Kona Coast Resort
Address: 78-6842 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kona Coast Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kona Coast Resort on Hawaii's Big Island sits on 21 acres of lush, tropical gardens and offers spectacular views of palm trees and calm waters. 267 spacious and air-conditioned villas at Kona Coast Resort are designed with a Hawaiian flair. Each comfortable villa offers a magnificent Pacific coastline view or a manicured tropical garden view from its private lanai or patio and include full kitchens and all of the comforts of home. Enjoy two swimming pools (one family pool with a children’s pool and one quiet spa pool), three Jacuzzis, sauna, playground, tennis courts, volleyball, fitness center, and on-site activities like hula lessons and dive instruction. The abundance of things to do on the Big Island found within easy distance of the Kona Coast Resort is as remarkable as it is exhilarating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Kona Coast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Coast Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Coast Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing