We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty but expensive”

Moo Bettah Frozen Fun
Ranked #18 of 19 Dessert in Kailua-Kona
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Tasty but expensive”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

There aren't too many choices for ice cream in the Keauhou area so we came here a few times. Once for ice cream, the second time for shave ice. The ice cream was hard, but very soft. I guess some people like that. It was tasty but nothing amazing. The shave ice was good (definitely get it with ice cream) and we shared one between four of us because it's huge. The servers are VERY low key and are not in a rush to serve you. But they make a mean shave ice, so I can't really complain about that too much.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Val H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    12
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Holy cow, that's expensive ice cream!”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Went here with my daughter. Had the choco-macadamia nut ice cream. Very very (very) good stuff - but at $9+ for two scoops (one for me, one for her) it's a bit steep!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, Utah
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Shave Ice, a little pricey”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We happened on this place while looking for a restaurant in the Keauhou shopping center and were pleasantly surprised with the great shave ice. You must try the coconut ice cream in the shave ice! A bit pricey if you get all the options.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Shave Ice - Off the Tourist Beaten Path”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I stopped in here with my kids when we were out shopping at Longs and the grocery store, it was a nice break and they have a good selection of shakes, floats, ice cream, toppings, coffee and shave ice. The shave ice was just what we needed with a nice variety of flavors. The ice cream was good, but I think we liked the share ice the best. Not a big place, but we could sit inside and it's in a handy spot off the normal tourist beaten path.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamTravel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Classic Hawaiian shaved ice”
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

After a few disappointing shaved ice tries in Kona that all tasted and consisted of snow cone ice, Moo Bettah was a breath of fresh air! Great light SHAVED ice, and great service

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ckimfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moo Bettah Frozen Fun also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Moo Bettah Frozen Fun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing