We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and quiet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Montana
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Comfortable and quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Napua was very helpful and assigned us a unit with a good high speed internet connection which was critical for us, as well as being furthest from the golf course refurbishing noise next door. The resort is not on the ocean, but we had a peek-a-boo view of the ocean from the dining area. The unit was very large and comfortable (2 bedrooms, 2.5 baths, and well appointed kitchen; probably about 1300 square feet overall). The bedrooms are on the lower floor and kitchen, living room, and 1/2 bath on the upper floor. If you have trouble with stairs, inquire if a one level unit exists. Each floor has its own lanai (porch). The unit has high ceilings throughout which is an added bonus.

The pools were not very clean when we arrived, but they were all cleaned about two days later.

Walking distance to Keauhou Bay where it's fun to watch canners or rent a canoe / stand up board. Farmers' Market is next door twice per week. Sheraton is also within walking distance. Keauhou Shopping Center (groceries, drug store, restaurants, post office, movies) is 1 mile away, as is Kahaluu beach park (great, shallow snorkeling). It can be a bit of a walk from the covered parking garage to your unit, but they have lots of golf carts to shuttle you and your possessions if needed.

Resort is a great place to stay and very quiet. As others said, it could use more BBQs since if you cook during peak hours you will likely have to wait. While waiting, get to know the friendly neighborhood kitties :-)

Room Tip: You'll be further from the parking garage, but units in building #16 and #17 might have a peek-a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xantippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    117
    24
    14
    4
See reviews for
213
200
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne, australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed three nights at Holua Resort - it was great. We arrived early and were happy just to leave our bags but our room was ready, which was perfect. A great self contained option, very clean, friendly staff, lots of pools and parking included. You really need a car here, it's about 15 mins drive to the main food and shopping at Kailua Kona. Nearby Keauhou shopping centre is just a few minutes away for supermarket and a great Japanese restaurant.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kitkatwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We requested for early check in, but had to wait 4 hours just to get our AFTER the original check in time at 4pm. The lady at the front desk didnt let us know that you had to be 21 yrs old in order to check in (im 20) so we had to drive all the way to costco in order for my mom to sign a form saying she allows my 22 yr old boyfriend to check in for her. (She was working) mind you guys that we had twin 1 1/2 year old boys! Never staying here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shell W, Social Media Team at Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Hi Jasmine,

We apologize for your delay at check-in. We know after a long day of traveling the last thing you want to do is wait to get into your room to relax. We strive to provide the check-in requirement information to the guest through our website, pre-arrival letter and confirmation letter. We apologize for any confusion and will work to better communicate this through additional channels in the future. We are sorry for your experience and greatly value your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osoyoos, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

This was the fourth time in five years that we have stayed at this resort. and although we have no complaints about the location, cleanliness, or excellent staff, there were several things that disappointed us, and needed attention.
During our stay there were several electrical problems, the most serious of which was the hair dryer bursting into flames in the bathroom, and although it was replaced quickly, we were told the GFI did not work. This was NOT repaired, and considering it was just beside the bathroom sink, a major concern. The microwave, range hood, and some of the kitchen plugs suddenly failed, and a call to the front desk soon had maintenance in to look at the problem. It was not, as we expected, a blown breaker, but another faulty GFI outlet behind the microwave. It seemed that the plug was protecting half the outlets in the kitchen, which I am sure would not meet any electrical code!!!!! Following this we requested on three occasions to talk to the manager, but she was never available, and although we requested she contact us this did not happen.
Although this review will no doubt sound negative, we still like the resort. Large rooms, clean, great pools, friendly staff. The furniture however is very tired, and drastically needs updating, especially the bed.
Will we return? Possibly, but will have to see if any updating is done before we decide.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

I have Shell Vacation Points and have stayed at all their properties on the Big Island. Each has it's own character & flavor to recommend it but Holua is my husband & my favorite. The thing that makes Holua special is the "Welcome Home" attitude of the employees from the receptionist down to the gardener. Everyone we came in contact with had a smile, a friendly greeting & was willing to answer any question or concern.

We stayed in a spacious second floor 1 bedroom that had a wrap around terrace. The terrace faced the well landscaped property & the tennis courts. The front door faced a pretty fountain with a flowered court yard. On the other side of our courtyard was a swimming pool & hot tub. There are about 72 units here (if I recall correctly) & many of the Shell owners select this property & return year after year. Because it's smaller, it tends to have a quieter, homey, atmosphere.

There is a large underground parking area rather than spaces next to the units, consequently you can walk throughout the property easily but getting groceries or heavier items to your unit after check-in takes a little thought and/or planning. If you have too much you can always stop by the office on your way to the parking garage to have a golf cart meet you to help you get your things to your unit.

I like the schedule of on-site activities which made for nice pastimes on a particularly rainy day. Even in the rain the terrace was quite enjoyable allowing us to view beautiful birds in nearby trees, mongoose & lots of colorful geckos.

The room had everything we needed in the bathroom & kitchen, including dish soap & filters for coffee. I appreciate that the hotel is going "Green", provided us a shopping tote & did not have daily cleaning which is unnecessary to my mind. I straighten up daily at home but don't deep clean or change sheets daily so don't need to on vacation.

We'll be back next year.

Room Tip: We've stayed in both 1 & 2 bedrooms and enjoyed both. You can have a pool or courtyard view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlingAndShareIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Third time we stayed here over the years! Still enjoy. Always make you feel like family! Napua always greats you with a smile and friendly checkin. Yes we always use a two bed room unit. Once stayed in a two bed with a den!

Room Tip: Two bed unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noshitreview2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Holua Resort is a great vacation rental - not a hotel (do not expect daily housekeeping - however, the number of towels and amenities was sufficient for our short stay) but it feels more like a home. Instead of a tiny (and empty) hotel room you get a large fully furnished condo (one or two-bedroom). I was happy with the fully equipped kitchen (dishes, appliances, cutlery, oven, fridge, toaster, microwave, blender, ... you name it), nice decor (comfy carpets, large sofa/futon in the living room, patio door from living room and bathroom directly to the garden, cool king-size bed). Although it was fully booked (I was told), the place was pretty quiet - I did not hear neighbors or any other noise (except of landscaping, gardening and sprinklers).

The landscaping is beautiful - tropical settings, artificial ponds and fountains, plumeria and hibiscus trees. The facility has pools (fence around - you need a code to access - we did not use it), several tennis courts and a large parking lot (underground and upper level). They even have free welcome drink & pupus once per week (we sadly missed it). There is a golf-club nearby.

Even when the check-in is officially at 4 pm, we arranged early check-in and got our room around 1 pm.

The location is not ideal - it's not a walking distance to any shopping center, city or a beach. However, only after a few minutes drive, there is a decent Keauhou shopping center (several restaurants, shops) and it's only a 10-minutes drive to Kailua-Kona. The nearest beach/ocean access is at the Sheraton resort (you can walk there but it's a harbor/concrete/rocky place, not a beach). On the other hand, the resort location makes it quieter and secluded, without the rush and noise of a classical vacation resort at the beach.

Generally, with service we got and price we paid, I would definitely recommend this place and I only wish I could stay longer than 3 nights. I would visit this place again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Azzi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
6.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#2 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
18.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village

Property: Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village
Address: 78-7190 Kaleiopapa St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2576
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! With a stunning coastal view of Keauhou Bay's private harbor, the Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village invites you to enjoy your perfect Hawaiian vacation. The Holua Resort offers 73 spacious, air-conditioned villas designed with a Hawaiian flair. Each comfortable villa offers a private lanai or patio with ocean, mountain or golf course view. Step outside your door and enjoy six sparkling swimming pools and whirlpools, 11 world-class tennis courts, 4 pickle ball courts, a fitness facility, and even on-site activities. When you're ready to explore your spectacular surroundings, head out to sea for some of the best sport fishing in the Pacific. Surf crystalline tropical waters in the morning and snow-ski on breathtaking Mauna Kea in the afternoon. From fascinating sights and spectacular natural beauty to endless recreation, the best of the "Big Island" welcomes you Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village for your next romantic getaway, family vacation or golf trip to Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holua Resort At The Mauna Loa Village Hotel Kailua-Kona
Holua Hotel Kailua Kona
Holua Resort Mauna Loa Village
Holua Resort At The Mauna Loa Village Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing