We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is one of the best resorts I have ever been to! Well-kept, beautiful grounds, quiet location, no cars allowed after the parking lot(which is free), it is really a treat! We stayed there for a week in a one bedroom villa, plenty of space for two people, really could accommodate probably 4.Wi Fi was fast, the entire resort was very clean and there were wonderfully smelling flowers everywhere. Very friendly staff, helpful with anything you need, just wish we had more time to stay. The Big Island is a very special place and staying at Holua just contributed even more to our great experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gergana2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalae W, General Manager at Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Aloha Gergana2014! Thank you for the wonderful review and kind words about our resort and staff. We're so glad you were able to enjoy the grounds and the peacefulness of the area. We hope to see you again on your next Big Island vacation. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    120
    25
    16
    4
See reviews for
221
203
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at this great resort from July 5-12, 2014. We own a timeshare on this same island and decided to trade for an area we hadn't explored. What a pleasant surprise! The one bedroom was clean, comfortable, and absolutely worth the extra we had to pay. We would definitely stay here again. We were close enough to the town of Kona (about 5 minutes drive) to get to restaurants, beaches, and shops if we wanted but far enough away from the hustle and bustle to feel relaxed. There is a grocery store just down the street to help save money on some meals. BBQ's were right near our condo so cooking the fish we caught was convenient.

The only thing I'd change is the location. We were right across from the garage so sitting on the balcony was not exactly private or quiet as traffic came and went constantly. Otherwise a great place.

Room Tip: Stay away from the buildings close to the garage. Also, at all cost, avoid the 'Welcome' me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalae W, General Manager at Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you, Mary Anne S, for the kind words. We are thrilled to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay and that you were able to relax and enjoy yourselves while at Holua Resort. We certainly hope to have you as our guests again some day. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I initially booked this stay thanks to ready many positive reviews on Trip Advisor. Post-trip, I can now see why it is so highly rated. Personnel at the property--from the front desk to the bellmen--are top-notch. Every one was quick with a greeting and really made you feel welcome. The rooms were incredibly spacious, easily accommodating my family of four. They were beautifully appointed, immaculate, and well-equipped with everything you could possibly need for cooking and cleaning. Plus there are lots of options for groceries and supplies only a short drive away.

I can't speak for this resort during other times of the year, but it seemed exceptionally quiet during our June trip--which was wonderful! Plenty of open tennis courts, plenty of available outdoor grills, and lots of space in the pools.

The Holua resort is a really great option if you just want to hang out at the resort and relax. And--as long as you have a car--its also a really good launch pad for exploring all there is to see along the Kona coast. We can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvergladesLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalae W, General Manager at Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Aloha EvergladesLarry! Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We will definitely share your comments with our team-- they take such pride in what they do and will be thrilled to hear all the great comments. It's great to hear that you felt that the resort was quiet. In fact, the resort was fully occupied during your visit but the layout of the grounds and the numerous pools allow for you to "have your own" at times. We're glad you were able to enjoy your vacation time here in Hawaii and at Holua Resort. We hope to see you again on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My sister and I stayed at the Holua Resort for a week. The staff was friendly and helpful and the grounds were absolutely gorgeous! It was like living in a tropical botanical garden. We stayed in a 2 BR, 2 BA unit which had everything we could possibly need including a kitchen fully stocked with all the dishes/pots/pans/appliances that we needed. A bonus is that there is an underground parking garage, so there was no car traffic or parking anywhere near the unit, making it quiet, peaceful, and beautiful. Staff were always available to take you and your luggage, groceries, etc to your unit in a motorized cart. Snorkeling beaches, downtown Kona, and adventures such as night dives with manta rays were very close by. We loved every minute and would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The units that were furthest from the road and garage were the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stumbled across this property while searching for a last minute room. We were moving from Hilo to Kona and needed just one night to tide us over until our previously booked condo/rental became available. Had I discovered this hotel first, THIS would have been our home for the week we were in Kona.

First, the property is adorable. Feels like a community rather than a rental. Service was top-notch. Our bellman not only drove us from the parking garage to the condo, but he stayed for a while explaining all the features of the condo and giving us advice on where to eat/shop, how to get the best spot for watching the 4th of July fireworks, and general advice on places to visit. All this even though he knew we were only staying for one night.

The condo was large by rental standards. In fact, I think it is larger than my first apartment. Kitchen was a bit narrow, but completely functional. It was nice to have a dishwasher as well. You don't always find them in vacation rentals. Both the living room and the bedroom have floor to ceiling windows that open onto a patio and offer views of the beautiful landscaping. One last plus is that both the main room and the bedroom have individual AC controls.

If you're a swimmer, there are no less than 7 pools on property!

The price was VERY reasonable. Would definitely recommend to friends and will stay here again next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StorytellerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a week. The location is awesome. Rooms are beautifully furnished with lots of space. The fully equipped kitchen was awesome. Staff was friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive. Plus, it was away from the noise but not too far from anything. Perfect. Restful. Relaxing. i can't think of a better hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briansvgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This place was amazing. We had come from a condo in Kihei, Maui, and this place blew it away. The rooms were huge and very clean and comfortable. Pools, jacuzzi's and grills close to every set of condos. The place is kept very well, fountains all over, tennis courts galore. It is very close to all the stuff you would want to do in Kona.
This is a timeshare place, so they will try to sell you if you are only renting. We went through the presentation to get money off some of the activities on the island... As long as you have the ability to say "no" when you should it was worth the 2 hour presentation. They definitely give you the option to not go to the presentation if you want, but it saved us hundreds on activities.

Room Tip: Do not pay extra for ocean view here, it is very far off in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
6.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
242 reviews
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
1.0 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#2 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
1,574 reviews
5.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village

Property: Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village
Address: 78-7190 Kaleiopapa St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2576
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! With a stunning coastal view of Keauhou Bay's private harbor, the Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village invites you to enjoy your perfect Hawaiian vacation. The Holua Resort offers 73 spacious, air-conditioned villas designed with a Hawaiian flair. Each comfortable villa offers a private lanai or patio with ocean, mountain or golf course view. Step outside your door and enjoy six sparkling swimming pools and whirlpools, 11 world-class tennis courts, 4 pickle ball courts, a fitness facility, and even on-site activities. When you're ready to explore your spectacular surroundings, head out to sea for some of the best sport fishing in the Pacific. Surf crystalline tropical waters in the morning and snow-ski on breathtaking Mauna Kea in the afternoon. From fascinating sights and spectacular natural beauty to endless recreation, the best of the "Big Island" welcomes you Holua Resort at Mauna Loa Village for your next romantic getaway, family vacation or golf trip to Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holua Resort At The Mauna Loa Village Hotel Kailua-Kona
Holua Hotel Kailua Kona
Holua Resort Mauna Loa Village
Holua Resort At The Mauna Loa Village Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing