We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, Accommodating, Knowledgeable, Unique”

The Volcano Van Private Tours
Ranked #42 of 199 Tours in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a personal and private tour provider serving all areas of the Big Island of Hawai'i, We allow our guests to get an up-close look at the Big Island's great volcanoes, including world famous Kilauea, the most active volcano on earth. Whether you're staying in the rain forests of Hilo, or the sun-drenched beaches of Kona and Kohala; we'll pick you up and introduce you to a day full of unforgettable excitement!
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Fun, Accommodating, Knowledgeable, Unique”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This is a must! We tend to stay away from bus tours and places where you have to push through lines and lines of people, so this tour was perfect!! It exceeded expectations. He was timely, in a very comfortable and modern van, and Scott is the perfect combination of funny and smart - the tour truly felt custom. He gauged what we liked and were hoping to see, and was able to make real-time changes within reason. He also was very accommodating and open to question after question from us, and recognized when we just wanted to sit and observe the beauty. At the end of tour he felt like our friend who just happened to be an expert in volcanology. Highly recommend.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank matt p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    14
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Fairfield, Connecticut, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“More than just volcanoes”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Scott offers a great day which includes tours of the different climate zones, beautiful waterfalls, a winery, a nice picnic lunch, and of course a weath of knowledge about volcanoes. We had a group of 5 which was very comfortable in his van. He knows all the ins and outs of the island which you can not find out by yourself and it is lost on the large tour buses. The final optional dinner at the restaurant tops off a perfect day.
Be prepared to do some walking and the view of the glow at night is as breathtaking as the view of the crater during the day.
John & Donna A

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent way to see Volcano Nation Park if you don't want to drive yourself”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We choose Volcano Vans because we've been on larger tours before and gotten frustrated with the crowds. This tour was for 4 (5 max) and there was lots of room.

Scott owns the company and does the tours himself and does a great job. He is very knowledgable, entertaining, and the van is very comfortable. We saw a LOT in one day, and because we didn't have to drive or navigate it was relaxing and a lot of fun.

The highlights for me were the mini-treks into the national park - away from the touristy areas. Technically we could have gone there ourselves, but we would have had no idea what we were looking at. Scott really made the volcano nation park experience memorable and he was fun and pleasant all day.

Would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a tour of volcano national park.

I would advise bringing some snacks along as it's a long day! Lunch is provided, dinner is at a restaurant (buy your own). Also, ask Scott for recommendations of things to do. He recommended two things to our group, we did both, and enjoyed each! Good recommendations.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank droideka27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Look at these rating - Scot gives you 110%.”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We had all the odds against us, the lava flow had recently turned toward inaccessible terrain and then stopped flowing, it rained, Scots wife was at home injured, the US gov was in shutdown, the parks were closed under "firload" ! ? ...but even under these extreme conditions, Scot was unstoppable, knowledgeable, positive, entertaining... and we managed to get to so many amazing places to make it such a fantastic day. We are a family of 4, my kids are 12 and 14. Scot managed to keep them tuned in the whole day, it was just 100% great. From the 1st stop at Tex's malasadas to the last stop at the end of the remote road at Kannapali... thanks Scot you are a true professional and a legend.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Manny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“big day on the big island”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Having been to the big island many times before with my husband and driven around the touristy must sees myself, it was a challenge to find a way to show my daughter (21) the beauty of the big island by myself as I am not confident to drive by myself. so on our recent girls trip to Hawaii , the volcanoes were a must. after reading the reviews about Scott and his tour, I decided to book and after a few emails on what I wanted to show my daughter , we had a date booked. Scott arrived promptly on time, and to our delight, it was just the two of us. it was like Scott was just showing us around, it was comfortable and friendly from the start. his easy going and humorous nature made the long day a very enjoyable one. we saw everything we had on our wish list for the day, and he answered any curly questions my science mad teacher daughter threw at him. he was professional yet made it feel like we were going for a drive with a friend. Scott stopped at a local farmers market to get a fresh pineapple for our lunch, and we had a picnic by the water, and a lovely dinner at a local cafe, before heading back to the volcano to witness the beauty at night.
all in all , I highly recommend Scott, a great day, which ended with a hug instead of a handshake.
would highly recommend The Volcano Van, do some research on what you want to see , then custom make your day with Scott.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jmgljg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Volcano Van Private Tours also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to The Volcano Van Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing