We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but poor service.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kona Billfisher

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kona Billfisher
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good location but poor service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Individually owned condos, but managed by onsite manager. Great location with short 5 min. walk to Kailua Kona, and across the street from the first class Royal Kona Resort. Don't miss the Luau at the Royal Kona Resort. Service was poor, and few amenities. Best shopping at Farmers Market for food and reasonably priced gifts. Also, don't miss the history display and art show in the lobby of the King Kamehameha Hotel. Some units had garden views, but we had a view of the parking lot which was terrible and a disappointing negative. If you like Art, see the town of Holualoa and eat at the Garden Café. Volcano was a long and difficult drive, and only seeing steam come out of the ground was also disappointing, but the restaurant at Volcano Village was excellent.

Room Tip: Half the units on the North side have good views of the gardens, but half the units on the South sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Howard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard D, Homeowner Board at Kona Billfisher, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
The Kona Billfisher is a small, friendly owner managed timeshare apartment complex. Our goal is to provide a clean, attractive Hawaii vacation home for our owners and guests. Because of our small size, we are unable to provide extensive services beyond check-in and midweek linen service. Over 90% of our apartments have an ocean view or garden view and our grounds are immaculate, as is our parking if you have one of the 6 units without a view. (Those units have a large lanai). Since many of our Owners return every year, we are always looking for new faces to share the Aloha Spirit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    23
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
25
32
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Location was great able to walk to many locations and only had to cross the street to a fantastic luau! The grounds and our room was both well kept and comfortable. Missed having washer and dryer in room but there is area to do laundry. Definitely will return

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bradley754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

my family and I stayed in unit K3 from august 29 - sept 5.. I'm happy to say the pictures do not do the place justice (and if I get a chance I'll upload a couple) we stayed in the one bedroom unit. the pull out couch felt great..

the location is good because it's near many restaurants and shops and in walking distance to the peir where you'll need to go for many of the water activities.. we rented car (which really wasn't necessary so we drove to walmart and stocked up on some food for the week). The car was returned with more than half of the tank of gas full...

the pool is decent (3 - 8ft) but if you're in the mood you can take a hike to magic sands beach (i say hike because it's probably about 5 or 6 miles away walking) but its a straight walk as it's on Alii drive..

Unilke some of the other reviews my family and I had no issues with the staff.. In fact Liz was great super helpful and patient.. always willing to answer any and all questions we had..

Many of the other guests were super friendly and helpful as well...

yes Billfisher is located in a touristy area but that's what you are.. a tourist... there are plenty of tour options available where you can get a taste of Hawaii sans the touristy feel...

overall I had a great time in and I know I will be back to vacation in Hawaii again and would surely consider staying at the billfisher..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Monique N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I highly recommend Kona Billfisher in Kailua-Kona, Hawaii. My wife and I stayed in unit X2 July 15th - 21st. Right from the start, we had a great reception from Sandy and Karen while checking in and throughout our stay. Even though the rooms are not the most modern, they were extremely clean and comfortable with all the amenities of a small apartment. (Having the appliances was a plus for those days we decided to stay in for breakfast or dinner). The location is great too. It is right on the edge of Kailua-Kona Village and walking distance to restaurants and shops and only minutes from the airport. Loved Hawaii and plan to return in the next few years!

Room Tip: Unit X2 has partial ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Location is good if you like being on Alii Drive (the touristy area with lot's of restaurants and souvenir shops). We stayed in the one-bedroom unit on the second floor of blg O. Good view of the ocean and sunset. Bldg O is situated in the back of the complex, next to busy highway. Street noise was loud when windows are open. Unit was spacious for two adults, clean and nicely furnished. Although there is a sofa bed, may be too cramped for two couples. Very small but well-quipped kitchen that has everything you'll need to prepare meals. Only salt/pepper available so must purchase all food items. A/C is extra charge ($10 p/day) but pls be aware that it is very, very noisy. We had to turn it off at night. Wi-fi is also extra ($20 p/week). The wi-fi was intermittent in our unit, worked better sitting near the window.
The Big Island of Hawaii is very beautiful but huge compared to the other islands. A car is highly recommended to fully enjoy and see the sights. There's a Wal-Mart, Target and Costco a short drive away. Lot's of small Farmer's Markets for great local fruits.

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floor units of Bldg O has a view of the ocean but situated next the a noisy highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank rmjmsocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinderhook, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a week and were very pleased with the location, spacious rooms, Cleanliness, very comfortable bed and plenty of fluffy towels. Will agree with others about front line staff, not a lot of aloha happiness. Be prepared to pay $10 a day extra for air conditioning, we didn't need it at all. It was nice to have beach chairs, small cooler and noodles in unit for our use. The one thing missing was a hair dryer. Would recommend this property if you like independence and not need waited on. We will return.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank krmd60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews I was concerned with our exchange through RCI. However, I am pleased with the spaciousness of our unit & cleanliness. I requested a view before our arrival & we were given a unit in the F building with a view if the bat. We are next to a vacant lot so it feels like we are in the country. We have seen mongoose in the lawn & various birds. The pool & bbq area is very neat & clean yes, we miss having a washer/dryer in our unit but its OK. As others have mentioned its a short walk to village. There is an ABC store with basics that is handy until time for supermarket run.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cookieladyBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.5 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kona Islander Inn
Kona Islander Inn
#33 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kona Reef Resort
Kona Reef Resort
#9 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff
Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff
#4 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Billfisher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Billfisher

Property: Kona Billfisher
Address: 75-5841 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1329
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kona Billfisher 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kona Billfisher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Billfisher Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Billfisher Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing