We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Kona Billfisher”
Review of Kona Billfisher

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kona Billfisher
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Love the location of the Billfisher! It's not waterfront, but across street from ocean. Located on busy Alii Drive, but street is easy to cross. It's a fast and easy walk to Kailua Kona where all types of restaurants and shops are located. Pool is large and very clean, as is bar-b-que area which has several gas bar-b-ques and tables/chairs. On-site laundry facilities are handy for extended vacation stay and include irons should you need to spiff up for a special dinner. The office lobby offers a lending library and literature on island activities. The local bus stops nearby and will take you to major shopping areas. Condos have recently been remodeled and the furniture is lovely and functional. Flat screen TV, new cooktops, comfortable beds!

Room Tip: Ground floor units have patios, 2nd and 3rd floor rooms have small lanais.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ImaBeachseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Booked 1 BR (King + 2 person pull out couch) through RCI and called 10 days prior to stay to request top 3rd floor/mid complex unit 3W (no elevator). Vaulted ceilings & ocean views from balcony in quiet location closer to the warm pool, clean bathrooms & laundry room with change & soap machines made it a wonderful stay! A/C was loud, but worth it as daytime temps & humidity were pretty high and the 3 panel wall separating the bedroom from living room slid to the side opening up the living area during the day. No shampoo or conditioner was provided, but full size boxes of dish & dishwasher soaps were included along with plenty of linen and housewares. Directly across the often times busy street of Ali'i, was Royal Kona Resort which offered a Luau several times a week, too - make reservations through RKR website for best deals - food & drinks were pretty good and the show was great! You can also walk through RKR & along the rock walls for nice evening ocean & sunset views. Just down the block (north) of Kona Billfisher are restaurants, shops, ABC Store, then only another couple of blocks farther is a big farmer's market (free parking), and lots more shops, restaurants, Kailua Bay, historic sites and a couple of very small sand beaches and piers. Just a few miles south of KBf are two nice beaches - White Sands Beach is better for swimming and some good snorkeling spots, while Kahaluu Beach didn't have much sand, but lots of shallow reefs full of fish and a few turtles which was great for snorkeling - especially since it had a barrier reef - which protected it from any high surfs, unlike most of the other beaches we visited. My sister is already planning a trip with her husband and another couple to stay at the Kona Billfisher again in 2 years!

Room Tip: Top floors seem more roomier with the vaulted ceilings and better views of everything, but do not ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank luvwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Our time here was just fine, we had a one bedroom full kitchen unit. It was clean, plenty of room for the two of us. Storage and some beach stuff to borrow. Highly, recommend this resort. Negative are the dryers didn't dry the clothes well and the unit air con was noisy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tamag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The Billfisher is in convenient location in downtown Kona. Place was renovated in 2012 and every unit is fresh and new. Laundry room has 3 washers and 3 dryers open everyday. Nice pool and plenty of BBQ's. Have been there 6 times and love it. Parking and ramps for the handicapped. Housekeeping great and the grounds are beautiful. Wouldn't go anywhere else!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Individually owned condos, but managed by onsite manager. Great location with short 5 min. walk to Kailua Kona, and across the street from the first class Royal Kona Resort. Don't miss the Luau at the Royal Kona Resort. Service was poor, and few amenities. Best shopping at Farmers Market for food and reasonably priced gifts. Also, don't miss the history display and art show in the lobby of the King Kamehameha Hotel. Some units had garden views, but we had a view of the parking lot which was terrible and a disappointing negative. If you like Art, see the town of Holualoa and eat at the Garden Café. Volcano was a long and difficult drive, and only seeing steam come out of the ground was also disappointing, but the restaurant at Volcano Village was excellent.

Room Tip: Half the units on the North side have good views of the gardens, but half the units on the South sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Howard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard D, Homeowner Board at Kona Billfisher, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

The Kona Billfisher is a small, friendly owner managed timeshare apartment complex. Our goal is to provide a clean, attractive Hawaii vacation home for our owners and guests. Because of our small size, we are unable to provide extensive services beyond check-in and midweek linen service. Over 90% of our apartments have an ocean view or garden view and our grounds are immaculate, as is our parking if you have one of the 6 units without a view. (Those units have a large lanai). Since many of our Owners return every year, we are always looking for new faces to share the Aloha Spirit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Location was great able to walk to many locations and only had to cross the street to a fantastic luau! The grounds and our room was both well kept and comfortable. Missed having washer and dryer in room but there is area to do laundry. Definitely will return

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bradley754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

my family and I stayed in unit K3 from august 29 - sept 5.. I'm happy to say the pictures do not do the place justice (and if I get a chance I'll upload a couple) we stayed in the one bedroom unit. the pull out couch felt great..

the location is good because it's near many restaurants and shops and in walking distance to the peir where you'll need to go for many of the water activities.. we rented car (which really wasn't necessary so we drove to walmart and stocked up on some food for the week). The car was returned with more than half of the tank of gas full...

the pool is decent (3 - 8ft) but if you're in the mood you can take a hike to magic sands beach (i say hike because it's probably about 5 or 6 miles away walking) but its a straight walk as it's on Alii drive..

Unilke some of the other reviews my family and I had no issues with the staff.. In fact Liz was great super helpful and patient.. always willing to answer any and all questions we had..

Many of the other guests were super friendly and helpful as well...

yes Billfisher is located in a touristy area but that's what you are.. a tourist... there are plenty of tour options available where you can get a taste of Hawaii sans the touristy feel...

overall I had a great time in and I know I will be back to vacation in Hawaii again and would surely consider staying at the billfisher..

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Monique N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.8 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,248 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#9 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
835 reviews
1.9 mi away
Castle Kona Bali Kai
Castle Kona Bali Kai
#31 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Billfisher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Billfisher

Address: 75-5841 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1329
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: £129 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kona Billfisher 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kona Billfisher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Billfisher Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Billfisher Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing