We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations”
Review of WorldMark Kona

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
WorldMark Kona
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 May 2011

I just got back from spending a week at the Kona Worldmark. My husband and I were pleasantly surprised by our 2 bebdroom condo. The rooms were spacious with all the ammenities, including a blender that we used nightly to make drinks. Obviously, this is not a luxury time share, but nothing was in disrepair. The pool and hot tub were nice and both were large enough to use anytime of day. I will definitely stay here again!

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
5  Thank DrJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2011

We stayed here for 11 nights at the end of February 2011, We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit on the 2nd floor right above the hot tub. The units were quiet and comfortable. The pool is on the small side but still never felt overcrowded, the hot tub was large. The pool deck was plenty large enough with plenty of lounge chairs, regular chairs and tables. Their is a small covered area where the Expedia representative has a desk and does their presentation for Island activities. Their is also tables and chairs in this area along with a restroom. The activity price list is out dated and after asking the representative to show us the correct prices on the activities that had changed, we reserved a Zip line tour and after processing the request the price that was charged was higher than quoted. We asked for and received a full refund. We were able to book the same tour online for about $20 pp cheaper that what they were going to charge. They're are elevators on site but they are extremely slow, so we used the stairs as much as possible. Although both stairways are at each end of the building, to get to the parking lot, you have to walk back to the center where the elevator is to get to the parking spots and garbage dumpster, except for the stairway at the south end of the east building which accesses the parking spots at that end. I know,sounds like a petty problem but just isn't the most convenient when your unit is in the middle. (sniff sniff :) ). The location of the Worldmark, isn't the most convenient to shopping, beaches, restaurants, it is walkable, about 3/4 mile to the nearest place to eat. They're are a couple of very small convenient stores south of the Worldmark within walking distance. They're are no side walks in this area but the shoulders are wide enough to feel safe walking. Lots and lots of people walk along this stretch of road in the mornings. We were a little disappointed that they don't have a gym or work out facility on the premises. Would I stay here again, not real sure. We would rather be in a more convenient location or stay at an ocean front property. The lanai had 4 chairs and a table that overlooked the pool but when we are near the ocean we would rather look at that.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liv2ski111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Our condo was nice, with all amenities you might need, clean, safe, friendly personnel and well located with a walking distance to Kailua Kona bars, restaurants and shopping.
All the condos are facing the pool/gardens or ocean view.
We had a nice stay and we will be back!
Drive around the island and visit East side of the island is very lush, with nice big waterfalls and Hilo and Pahoa are quaint old Hawaiian towns.

Enjoy life
Enjoy Hawai’i
Aloha

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sebastianmiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Yes-there are fancier places to stay in Kona area, but if you have Worldmark timeshare points this is a very comfortable accomodation! Building is 4 stories with 1,2, & 3 bedroom units, large pool and jacuzzi, and covered patio and BBQ area. Units well insulated--didn't hear our neighbors. Matresses very comfy, which is a big plus. Kitchen well stocked and spacious living room/dining area with nice flatscreen tv. (TV in master bedroom was small and older) Furniture is a bit dated wicker style but unit was decorated in nice Hawaiian motif and it is by no mean shabby. Property and pool are well maintained, but parking fills up.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fperf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2009

The Conceirge doesn't actually work for Worldmark, but by agreement (and presumably some kickback arrangement) Expedia staffs a "Conceirge Desk" to sell activities to guests. I found the Luau at the Royal Kona Resort was actually cheaper to book on line (it was GREAT by the way), but did trust the Conceirge when she said that a snorkel trip by Sea Hawaii Rafting (SHR) was a great choice for families, and booked it through her.

I specifically asked if SHR provided infant life vests, because I had a 18 month old with me. It was not until we were on the boat and pulling away from the dock that I found out the conceirge was totally wrong about this. I would not recommend using this service - do it yourself on line (they have a computer for free use in the lobby) or go to Snorkel Bobs.

We did our "Owner Update" and were promised it would only take 45 minutes. Because of Worldmark's assign policy that both my husband and I had to be there, we had to drag our 4 year old and 18 mo old with us. We didn't get out of there until an hour and a half later...be warned.

Other than those two things, the place is very nice and well kept and is walking distance to the little waterfront strip of shops and resturants.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeattleA&B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2008

Great Location, walk to restaurants, beach, bars, shopping.
Condos need some upgrates but still nice. All the condos face the pool and gardens. Across street is the aquamarine ocean.
Lulu's bar good place to have a cocktail, dance or have fun.
Visit Hilo side, lush, real hawaiian feeling, waterfalls.
Mahalo
Enjoy Hawaii

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sebastianmiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Vancleave, Mississipi
118
Reviewed 14 June 2005

We just spent more than a week on the Big Island. WorldMark was absolutely the best place to "call home" while being on vacation. The service was absolutely fantastic. The rooms were beautiful and I certainly enjoyed being able to take home clean laundry because of the "in home" washer and dryer. How can the view possibly be improved???The pool below---the Pacific Ocean out front and,of course, the mountains out to the back. I would recommend WorldMark Kona to anyone looking for above average accomodations and friendly faces.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
1.3 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,220 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
#3 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
796 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WorldMark Kona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark Kona

Address: Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Number of rooms: 64
Also Known As:
Worldmark, Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
WorldMark Kona Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing