We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect retreat for a couple”
other travellers have booked this property
Private House/share nothing, 1/4acre big ocean view, 10 mins to town
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private House/share nothing, 1/4acre big ocean view, 10 mins to town
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Private House/share nothing, 1/4acre big ocean view, 10 mins to town
Office
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
CindyHono...
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
“Perfect retreat for a couple”
Reviewed 5 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The cottage is close to the Kona airport and about 10 minutes drive to Kailua, but feels far away. The cottage is very private and has a beautiful front yard with a hot tub and bbq. The cottage is spacious, and perfect for a couple. It is extremely clean, and perfectly appointed. You will find everything you need for a day at the beach (fins, frozen water, coolers, snorkels, towels, etc), and the kitchen is stocked with all the basics if you want to cook. There is a beautiful front lanai and the cottage is comfortable and nicely decorated--homey without feeling like you are camping out in someone else's home. Bobby and Christine are helpful and non-intrusive. I look forward to a return trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: privacy, comfort, cleanliness, beauty
Liked least: directions there could have been a bit easier to follow.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
So happy you had a great time here at mango cottage, see you again and safe travels.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyExpl...
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Exactly What We Hoped For - private, quiet w/beautiful view & outdoor space”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I arrived at Mango Cottage the day following the hurricane. The house and grounds had already been cleaned up from the heavy winds. We were thrilled to see that the cottage was exactly what we had hoped for and it was just as described on-line. We drove all over the Big Island exploring during the week we were there and then we would return to our sanctuary. We really enjoyed the hot tub at the end of the day. The property is located in a beautiful neighborhood and we felt perfectly safe. The grounds are spacious, beautifully landscaped with flowering trees and shrubs, a fountain and even a small garden growing pineapples. The grounds are nicely lit at night with well placed solar-powered spotlights. There is a remote-controlled gate that conceals the property when the gate is closed. The house is clean and comfortable. Everything you need is provided, including a washer-dryer. The front deck provides a view of the ocean and spectacular sunsets. The furnishings of the cottage were more than adequate but not upscale or luxury. Because the cottage is not air conditioned, the windows are left open and the ceiling fans are used to keep things comfortable. This results in some very, very tiny ants (almost microscopic) in the kitchen and bathroom (just don't leave food out). The ants were not a problem for us but just something to be aware of. Something interesting about Hawaii - the stores do not provide bags with purchases. You have to provide your own bags or buy a reusable store bag for 50 cents. Fortunately, there are a couple of WalMart bags in the cottage so we kept them in the car in case we shopped. All the stores (Safeway, Costco, and WalMart) were less then 10 minutes by car. The Mango Cottage was a perfect choice for us because we did not want to be right in town, in a condo surrounded by others, or in an expensive resort area where everything you want to do is a long walk to get to or a hassle. We would definitely stay at the Mango Cottage if we ever visited the Big Island again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful private cottage and grounds with hot tub.
Liked least: Teeny ants in kitchen because the cottage was built into the hillside and windows were kept open.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
Thank you for coming and staying here at mango cottage, you are welcome anytime! Mahalo Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yovon09
el sobrante
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good for a couple”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The cottage is very cute, cozy, and well decorated. I particularly loved the garden, front deck, and Jacuzzi. The kitchen was well stocked, as was the bathroom and laundry room. There were plenty of beach supplies under the house in the laundry area, including snorkeling equipment, ice chests, boogie boards, mats, and even sunscreen. There was a TV in the living room and one in the bedroom, which was good since I was traveling with a friend and one of us had to sleep on the futon in the living room. The living room futon was extremely comfortable.

The welcome beer and can of nuts were appreciated since we had just driven over from the Hilo side.

The TVs weren't working the first night. When we notified the owners they promptly fixed the cable or satellite so the TVs were working the next day. My only complaint is that there was a flying cockroach living in the house from the first night (we thought it left during the first night) until the last night when it reappeared. In all fairness to the owners we did not report the incident because we thought it was gone; however, that bugger prevented me from getting a good night sleep the last of our 3 nights.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and Jacuzzi
Liked least: The cockroach
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
Sorry for flying insect....but happy your stay was wonderful. Much aloha Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playahang...
Vancouver, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stop don`t look any farther you found a bit of Paradise.”
Reviewed 24 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Life is great on this end and I hope it`s better on your end. Great because I just returned from my stay at Mango Cottage on the Big Island. I had the pleasure of staying a little over 2 weeks at the Mango Cottage ( I could of easily stayed 2 years.) Christine and Bobby will make sure you are taken care of from the second you talk to them on the phone for reservations, until you close the gate to go home.
At first I was a little concerned about the location and happy to find out it`s at the perfect location. Your at about 1200 ft above sea level, so you have a great view up and down the coast and the weather is a little cooler than in Kailua. It`s great setting on the lanai in the morning/evening having your coffee, chocolate, or wine, watching the spectacular sunsets and sunrises. Also fun to watch the jets coming in from the other Islands and the cruise ships departing for another Island. It`s even better setting in the hot tub watching the geckos in the palms, or looking at the stars at night. In the mornings you`ll awake to the sound of minah birds, turkeys, doves, far off roosters and the gentle babbling of the fountain in the yard. Also in the very private yard are orange, papaya, and avocado trees and huge Mango trees near by. At the same time your 10 mins easy drive down into Kailua, and Makalawena and Kua Bay ( some of the best beaches on the Island.
Now we get to Cottage my friends. It`s like opening a Holiday present. It looks exactly like the pictures only better. Your going to spend at least an hour opening up cabinets and doors finding everything and more that you`ll need for your stay at Mango Cottage. You have no idea how much detail and care Christine and Bobby have put into this property. It`s like staying at your very favorite Aunt and Uncles house on steroids. Wait until you head below the house to fine washer and dryer, and best of all toys and accessories for the beach. There`s the beach chairs, umbrella, cooler, boogieboards ( you gotta try the boggieboards) your gonna look kinda stupid but who cares? Mats, towels, toys for the kids to play in the sand, water worms, etc. Like I said, exploring this cottage is going to make you grin.
I could go on and on, but I won`t. What I will do is say, Life is very very short and it`s our job to impress ourselves and wish others love and kindness. Well staying at the Mango cottage will impress you, and you will feel the love from Christine and Bobby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The care and attention from the owners.
Liked least: Having to close the gate to go home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
I love guests like you! You are welcome anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Reviewed 17 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
Lovely review and very appreciated! Do come back! Thankyou so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Switzerland
Reviewed 2 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
Romance is good! Lovely guest and look forward to having you back at mango cottage anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gaby62Deu...
Deutschland
1 review
“the perfect aloha spirit”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

A delightful garden, a very nicely done up cottage with candles, flowers and everything you need feeling home, your own jacuzzi and bbq, a balcony to eat, to relax and to admire the oceanview and the great sunset in the evening. This all in absolute privacy with helpful support by Christine - if need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything was perfect :-)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
Hi...and thankyou for your nice review...we look forward to seeing you again here at mango cottage, highly recommend.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing