We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay at Sea Village”
Review of Sea Village Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sea Village Resort
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
texas
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“2nd stay at Sea Village”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is the second time we stayed at Sea Village...First time was in building 4..but this time building 1 which we really liked ....walk out the front door to bar-b-que area........2 stories....glass all around....great breeze....no AC....but we knew this.....pool was not too small since there was not a lot of people using it.....hot tub was always nice and hot.......Of course the condo could use some cleaning and updating! Minor things....like new carpeting.......fix up bathroom in the master BR....Wash those throw rugs!!!!!!!!!!! .There is a brand new washer and dryer in there now.........Some things were rusty....but contributed to being total ocean front........
One thing they could really, really use is more towels!!!!!!!!! Two bedrooms...sofa sleeper ...so you could have 6 ppl sleeping there and you have like 4 towels there....Really!! Needless to say the washer and dryer got a lot of use!! Master bedroom mattress was comfortable..........harder mattresses in other room.....but our SIL seemed to sleep just fine!!
We would stay here again....maybe not in the heat of summer with no AC...but if heat does not bother you ....will be fine.........The lanai furniture upstairs was not worth laying on..................but we mostly stayed downstairs!!

Room Tip: building 1 is a good choice....close to pools and grills.....All views seem to be very good.....buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karenccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    79
    40
    19
    16
See reviews for
76
92
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Pros: right on the water, beautiful ocean view, quiet, near restaurants & shops in Kona
Cons: outdated furniture, unit needs updating, unit not clean enough, visible dust, something brown smeared on pillowcase when i checked in, hot (no a/c), saggy mattress (needs replacing), filthy stained Murphy bed mattress, REALLY??? Some things are obviously unacceptable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelChica2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JABoughton, Director Inventory Management at Sea Village Resort, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We will be starting the second phase of our renovation this spring. Due to the extent of the work and the cost of the renovations we should have most of the timeshare units completed by the end of next year. We do stop renovations during peak season Jan- April so as to keep the disturbances down to a minimum. We will be excited to share our progress and hope you will come back to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pueblo, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The good - location, right on the rocky coast and close to downtown Kona. The pool is small, but heated.The pool area is immaculate. We stayed in bldg. 3, which is away from the traffic noise coming from Ali'i Road. The courtyard area between bldgs. 1, 2 and 3 is very nicely landscaped, has tables and four gas grills that work well. Our one bedroom unit was adequate in size and nicely laid out. The kitchen was reasonably equipped. The units could use air conditioning, but the ceiling fans did reasonably well. Nice to have two flat screen tvs. The unit(3110) seems to have been freshly painted.

The bad - the floor squeaks in areas. No problem, except the floor above squeaked too. Probably can't be rectified since the place was stick built. I've attached pictures of the side of our refrigerator, and off an area in the bathroom next to the shower and tub that is moldy and crumbling. Not very attractive, and demonstrates an inconsistent approach to maintenance. The computer/printer available in the office for guest use was out of order when we arrived on October 26, and was still so when we left on November 2. I asked two days prior to departure if we would be able to print out boarding passes, and was told it would be no problem. When I went to the office on the morningof our departure, I was told the guest computer was not working so no boarding passes could be printed. Only when I informed that person what the person earlier had said, did we get our boarding passes from the office computer/printer. How hard is that?! The fact that the guest computer was out for a week, and that I got inconsistent answers from staff shows poor management practices.

The ugly - on our last morning I was going to fry a hamburger for later use at lunch. Pulled out the frying pan(which we had not previously used), and found it caked with food residue. I mean it was gross. Again, poor management practice. Things like that just should not happen.

The good outweighed the bad and the ugly, and we would stay there again. In fairness, the resort is trying and is in a three phase upgrade process. I'm not sure where 3110 fit into those phases.

Room Tip: Try for bldg. 3 or 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank judgejohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saginaw, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed here with friends and it was just too hot! Sleeping at night was miserable and noisy. Since you had to have windows open, you heard all kinds of street sounds, party people out late, etc. The pool was closed when we first arrived (fecal contamination), but it reopened the next day. If you were not out and about the island you had to be by the pool to cool off.

The units are old and beyond the need ofman update. It has renters in several units and needs to go to private apartments. We booked this place through Diamond Resorts and they should be ashamed. I am embarrassed that we had friends pay for expensive airfare, only to stay here.

On a positive note, the grills are very nice and youmcan cook out. This is necessary, since you would be too hot doing anything in the kitchen.

Room Tip: Ask to stay up in a higher unit to catch a breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carla222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dearborn Heights, MI
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Spent a week at this resort. The number one complaint is NO A/C!!!! Hot and humid the whole week, if not for the ceiling fans would have been unbearable!!! There wasn't a breeze the whole entire week!!! Other reviews state A/C is not necessary, Are you kidding me?? Couldn't have been more humid or hotter!!! Our view from our lanai was amazing, the grounds were lush and absolutely beautiful!!!! The condo itself was adequate, could use some elbow grease as far as cleanliness. Nice enough, just dirty, dusty, got the feeling the cleaning staff just did the bare minimum to get by. The pool was closed for 24 hours, the sign said "human feces contamination" Yuck!!! The week we were there they moved the recycling garbage cans from the parking lot into the beautiful courtyard with a white tent covering the cans! Really? Who wants to look at garbage cans all day?? They really spoiled the beautiful view in the courtyard! The washer/dryer in the unit was a plus. Unit can be very loud at times with neighbors both next door and above since windows need to remain open to be able to tolerate the extreme heat! Check in is a nightmare if you are there past 5:00p.m. Check in is not until 4 p.m. but the office closes at 5...if you arrive after 5, you pick up a phone on the outside of the building, bugs are flying everywhere because the lights are on, traffic is zipping by and you can't hear anything, they give you a code to open a lock box with a key, first of all impossible to hear the code, then impossible to open the lock box because while the lights are on, the lock box area is dimly lit. If check in is at 4, why wouldn't the office be open past 5????

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elvisfan1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne, australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for ironman. Lovely view from our balcony. Was adequate. Pretty far out of town if you don't like walking in the heat, would stay closer to the action next time. We hired a car which was easy and driving was also fine even though we had to drive on the wrong side of the road.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank suziegcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband and I were joined by my sister in law and her husband last September for a vacation in Kona and we stayed at the Sea Village Resort. The resort was being renovated and we were told from the confirmation letter that we received prior to our arrival that the room will not have an ocean view. To our surprise, the room had a view of the ocean where you can see the cruise ship docked a few miles away from our suite.. It is a nice sized resort, clean inside but it needed a TLC outside. It is a very quiet resort. We were the only people on the pool late at night and it was very refreshing.

Room Tip: The sunset on the North West side of the building where we were at was Fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronrace123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.5 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
483 reviews
4.7 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
238 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Village Resort

Property: Sea Village Resort
Address: 75-6000 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2310
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your refuge at Sea Village is located on the sunny, dry side of the island in Kona, where the tradewinds keep you comfortable year round. Float in the seaside pool, or sip estate-select Kona coffee from your private lanai with the Pacific close enough to taste as the surf breaks against the resorts sea wall. A true vacation paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sea Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Village Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sea Village Kailua Kona
Sea Village Kona
Sea Village Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing