We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, we own here......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Marne, Michigan
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Yes, we own here......”
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We have used this Wyndham property whenever we go to the Big Island. We have been here 4 times, once we brought our daughter and her family.

About the time share presentation: If you go to it and sit through 1 1/2 hours (minimum) you will receive a discount coupon for various activities throughout the island which we used for the circle island tour (greyhound tour) and the steak dinner at a ranch on the northern side of the island. Both were very nice and worth doing once. This time when we went there we knew we didn't want to have any tours but we did want to ask some questions about our ownership from the sales rep., so they gave us a $100 gift card (American Express). So you do get something from sitting through the presentation. If you really don't want to go to it, just don't. They won't kick you out for it!!!!

I think the best thing about this property is that we are in a 2 bedroom, fully equiped kitchen, total barbeque grill area, large living room, 2 full bathroom and included washer and dryer unit..... that also is in an area of beautiful garden setting and 2 pools and hot tubs. Maid service is once during the week and they change the sheets and bring fresh towels and clean up the kitchen and bath. It is also a 1 mile walk to the downtown area of Kailua-Kona and that is a perfect distance to walk after eating dinner. It also always felt safe to walk along the dark road to and from town. Sometimes we would walk to town for a breakfast/brunch.

You need to rent a car when you come to the Big Island. Our first stop when we come to town is the Costco. There we can find the lowest prices in town for meat, frozen vegetables, frozen desserts, salads and bakery products for our week. We usually try to eat dinner at the condo twice during the week, but when we had the kids and grandkids we ate there 4 times. The barbeque grills are gas. We saw some people last week that were grilling lobster. By stopping at Costco for food we were also able to eat more packed lunches at the beach. There is a cooler available in the condo. We packed it in the morning and ate at the beach.

Speaking of beaches... don't miss Hapuna Beach. It is 30 miles north of Kailua-Kona and is the best beach I have ever seen. Stop at Snorkel Bob's (or anywhere else for rentals) to get a boogie board and/or snorkle equipment. It is cheap enough and really makes the beach experience so much nicer. They also have it at a store at Hapuna Beach but they sell out early in the day. I am 63 yrs. and my grandkids would have been very proud of their grandma with my boogie boarding abilities. There is another beach that very few people (except the natives) seen to know about. That is the Old Airport Beach. It is on the north side of town and is the old airport. The beach is nice sand but there is not much swimming there because of the lava rock in the water. It would be a good beach for the under 5 yr old group and people who just want a quiet place on the beach to read or sleep.

Buy the book The Big Island Revealed to have a lot of things explained.... how to get there and what to do.

Room Tip: Parking can be tight. The upper floors are the premium floors but you pay for it. You can't ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank marymich55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    239
    53
    24
    19
See reviews for
335
244
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

This is an older resort but very well kept and nice. Pools are small but nice and the overall experience is peaceful and quiet. Not on the water, but good access to things. Fitness center is small and doesn't have much but it was enough. Rooms have everything you need to cook, bartend, do laundry, and plenty of beach towels.

Room Tip: The only noise we had was from the people above us. I might not get a bottom floor again, but it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boatchick9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed at this resort on a Wyndham Discovery Package, after being told our first preference in Waikiki had "no availability". The stuffing around that Wyndham put us through cost them a timeshare sale, but that is another story.

We were greeted at the front desk by Albert - a most obliging, polite and friendly staff member. Checkin was smooth, and given we had just come off one international flight from Australia followed closely by one domestic flight from Honolulut, the staff did their best to get us checked in early.

This resort is excellent. There are about 68 "plantation-like" buildings, each housing 4 families - two units downstairs and two units upstairs (all have two bedrooms). They are all set in beautifully maintained tropical garden settings. The downstairs units can suffer from the noise of footsteps above, but that is not a major problem. The unit was spacious, clean and fully equipped. There are numerous bbq facilities around the complex, and staff cleaned them every morning. Onsite parking is free, but sometimes space is at a premium, especially at night.

There are two pools on the premises, and a business center with free internet, as well as free wifi throughout the complex (but reception was so poor where we were that I used the business centre most of the time).

The main Kona shopping and restaurant area is a fair walk down the road, but we rented a car for the 10 days and made good use of it.

Our initial reaction to being told we could not go to Waikiki, but we could go to The Big Island was one of bitter disappointment, but at the conclusion of our stay, we felt it was a blessing in disguise, as we thoroughly enjoyed the resort, and would be happy to revisit again (except with no timeshare purchase, there is little chance we will).

Room Tip: The further you go up the hill, the more potential you have for ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suspend6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop, California
Level Contributor
310 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Stayed here on a timeshare trade for the first time. Shared a two bedroom unit with friends and had a great time. The unit we stayed in, while obviously older, had been cared for and had plenty of space. The kitchen was well equipped and had everyting we needed to make a good breakfast each morning. Every single employee of this resort that I encountered went out of thier way to be friendly and say hello. I was impressed. The grounds were well cared for and provided a good Hawaiian atmosphere. I'd recommend staying here!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Really enjoyed this resort. The units are huge, felt like a home. Great location, and you do need to rent a car. Kona village was nice with many shops and restaurants. We drove around quite a bit of the island. Hawaii is so beautiful and remote. Highly recommend this place, great staff, never heard the word no. grounds and pools really beautiful, very clean, felt like a home. The ambiance feels like you are going back in time. There are no elevators though to second floor units. Be sure to visit the coffee plantations.

Room Tip: Stay away from the highway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JerryNC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

My impression of this resort was that it was clean with a convienent location and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

You can read the other reviews for more detail, but I thought I'd share (what I consider) helpful tips:

-The resort provides free parking for resort guests; lots are located on the side of each block of condos and are very close to the condo. Cars are available for rent from the airport, there's also an enterprise depot in the Kona Industrial Park ($27 cab fr the airport)
-The condo was well stocked. Example : laundry detergent, lots of extra towels and beach towels, extra pillows/blankets, decent wine opener, fridge with ice maker.
-If you need ANYTHING, ask the front desk if they have it before you purchase! We purchased a cooler and later found out that they lend them out for free!
-The resort loans out bikes/bike locks from 9am - 5pm. The bikes are trek brand cruisers, both mens and womens. This was such a useful service! There are many beaches less than 4 mi south of the resort which is a fairly short ride. Biking into town took a few minutes. They loan out bike helments also. Try a bike!
-In my opinion, Kona is very bike-friendly. There are bike lanes on some of the newer highways
-Aprox 3 miles south, is "Keauhou Shopping Center", its got a very large Longs Drugs so pick up your sunscreen, souvieners, etc here because its about 50% cheaper than the ABC stores. There's a few cute/upscale touristy shops and a sushi restaurant that has 50% happy hour from 5:00 - 6:30 pm. There's also a movie theatre.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jocelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This place was great!! We loved being in a non traditional condo..as in NOT hotel like. We felt like we were in our own home every day. The grounds were immaculate. The condo was clean as a whistle. The concierge was great!! He booked everything we wanted to do that week for us!! It was so much nicer to have a beautiful view of great foliage and gardens than a balcony on the hotel. It felt secluded and even thought there were a lot of cars...we very rarely even saw another vacationer. The pool was really nice and not crowded. Very clean..very professional..very well located..just a great trip at a great place. We didnt take the time share tour...it really wasn't worth it to us to cut into our honeymoon to sit through something we were never going to buy anyways. But the discounts offered to sit through it were appealing...we just didn't want to take the time...it was our honeymoon!!! One recommendation...rent a car before you leave the airport...you will need it. And definently cruise up the coast past the airport and find small beaches .

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keyville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
5.0 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,177 reviews
14.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
0.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort

Property: Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Address: 75-5961 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1333 (Formerly Kona Hawaiian Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 bedroom apartment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Hotel Kailua-Kona
Wyndham Kailua Kona
Kona Hawaiian Village
Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing