We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, but not perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My first impressions of the resort were very good...The staff friendly, the grounds beautiful, great location to surrounding areas/downtown Kona, and the units well appointed. By our 3rd day I was beginning to see chinks in the armor. Air conditioning broke in our unit, which wasn't fixed right away (they did offer to move us to a different unit, which would of been a big hassle). Saw quite a few large roaches around property, pools are desolate with nobody really at them (boring for our kids 10 and 8 years old), activities are mostly quite lame that they charge for, and lastly saw some sort of drug pipe laying on the ground right outside of entrance to property. From a safety perspective, this concerned me with my family. All in all it's a mixed bag bc I had really high hopes, but parts were disappointing. I would head off property, and discover the island. It's much more interesting!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Molly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback including some helpful tips for future guests. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the property location and view. We apologize for the maintenance issues you encountered with the air conditioning and for any cleanliness issues. We know this provided an inconvenience in your vacation. We will do our best to ensure these issues are addressed for future stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

455 - 461 of 810 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

Better than expected... Very quiet and wonderful... Units had beautiful views . We saw no one around us. Both pools were very relaxing. Units were stocked very well. Upon check-in you have to go to the time share guy to get your parking pass... I politely said no we were not interested. He said fine here is your parking permit. Have a great vacation. Never once tried to get us in a presentation..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 875Joanne1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your unit accommodations and view. We apologize for any issues with our member services desk and we look to address this concern for future guest stays. We know it is important to be treated well on vacation. We hope you come back to visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This was our second visit to this resort and it is a great place to stay. The grounds are beautiful, the condos are clean and spacious and have everything you need, comfortable beds, friendly and helpful staff. It is convenient to area restaurants, beaches and shops. The condos have a great design from the standpoint of privacy and quiet. Will definitely stay here when on the Big Island.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rabbitt1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thanks for taking the time to provide this great feedback. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the unit accommodations and area activities. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort is a quiet resort located just south of the main drag of Kona. Staying in a 2 bed 2 bath with a kitchen and laundry, the place was clean, orderly, and had cooking supplies. The lower pool area (there's two pools) had a sandy hot tub with a small waterfall in the tub and the pool. A great place for a honeymoon or even a family with kids.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 147davidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

A group of five of us stayed in a 2bed/2bath unit. It was nice, clean and extremely convenient to bars, beach, restaurants, etc. The staff was friendly all the time. The timeshare salespeople "overly fiendly" until we said "no" to their timeshare presentation. Upon check in you have to get your packing permit from the timeshare sales person who conveniently will try to schedule you for a future presentation. I said "no thanks" to him not once but twice on my first day here, then I said "no thanks" on the second day and one more time once again a third time when he decided to wake me up before 8am to once again insist on having us attend. He stopped greeting us all together after the second "no" and only acknowledge us when he asked the same question again and again. I like this place and most definetelywould stay here again for its convenience and comfort - I would excersive more assertiveness when declining the repeated invitation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

When we go to the Islands we look to stay where we know we are in Hawaii, not in a super luxury high rise that happens to be in Hawaii, so we choose Kailua-Kona rather than the north shore (Hilo is interesting, but remote). Twice we have stayed at this property of condos, and would always come back here when staying on the big island. What we look forward to most is the spacious covered lanai where we eat all our meals, play games, read, check our email! We like the traditional furnishings and architecture. We love the grounds, the two pools, the well-tended garden beds with horticultural signage, the staff that welcomes, the comfortable inviting beds with traditional Hawaiian-style quilts, the closet of loaner beach equipment (take something, leave something), This is not a beachfront property, and the prices reflect that. However, it feels like a community, including the birds that get increasingly tame on the lanai!

Kona beaches are not ten minutes away, but the most tourist-popular ones are north 20 minutes to 45 minutes away, and often not a tree in sight and sometimes require special parking arrangements with the high-rise owners. Downtown Kona is slightly farther away from the condo than comfortable walking, but parking has never been a problem. There is a very well-attended farmer's market between the condos and downtown Kona. Downtown Kona offers more restaurants than we will ever be able to visit, and the shops are delightful with a few nice high-end stores. The town is particularly festive in the evenings.

Our unit was #24, a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom condo which we booked through Wyndham. Be sure to get a second story unit or be sure the lanai is elevated above the ground to get the best views of the grounds. Over the years trees and buildings have blocked any view of the beach across the street. Kitchen has full-sized appliances with an eating bar and all you need in utensils. And all is clean! If you must, Costco is about 15-20 minutes away by car, on the way to the airport, and is the place for your macadamias. However, the farmers market has the tastiest papaya!

One cam make the circle of the island in one very long day, but an overnight in Hilo is recommended. Volcano visits are a must if you have the time, either to the Volcano Park (allow three hours travel) or to the Observatory at 9500 or 13,000 feet (allow 1.5 hours travel). Be sure you acquaint yourself with the travel details to these destinations, as the Observatory has its own rules!

For all the things we enjoy we still don't like the idea of saying "No" to the offers of cash for listening to sales pitches, although, sometimes it has paid for a very nice dinner! Otherwise the staff is super accommodating. We made reservations late and had to book three different units to get the time we needed, but they were able to consolidate and made us very happy, indeed!

Room Tip: Ask for a second story unit without a view of a parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nwkindagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

We spent two weeks at this resort and would come back in a heartbeat.
The condos are large and comfortable. Even the kitchen is loaded with appliances and stainless steel turners etc.
The checkin staff was very friendly and got us into our condo quickly so we could attend a concert the first day.
The activities director, Joy is friendly and always has a smile. She also does beautiful hula for residents.
Aunt Tutu and her brother KaLeo came several times a week to do hula shows.
Two other employees, Ali'i and Pila Lani played and sang several times each week at no
charge.
One morning per week they bring in baskets of orchids and taught us how to make real leis.
Everyone was also willing to share their favorite restaurant or things to do.
I would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HawaiiAloha777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
22.1 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
253 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
13.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort

Address: 75-5961 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1333 (Formerly Kona Hawaiian Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: £175 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 bedroom apartment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Hotel Kailua-Kona
Wyndham Kailua Kona
Kona Hawaiian Village
Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing