We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort Well Kept”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lexington, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort Well Kept”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We are Wyndham Owners and stayed at this resort in May, We were very pleased with the entire resort even thought we didn't use many of the amenities. The one particular thing that sticks out is the LACK of WiFi in and around the resort. They off free WiFi in all areas but the signal is VERY weak if you even get a signal at all. In today's society this is the way that most people keep in touch with what is going on around them and at home. This is something that really needs to be addressed.

Room Tip: Select a top room for the awesome Hawaiian breeze
See more room tips
Green Features: Very clean and well kept grounds.Grounds crew even pick leaves that feel during the night.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank waynelauld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy C, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Aloha,

I thank you for your feedback for your recent stay with us. I do understand the importance of high speed wifi that need to be provided to our owners and guests. Please know that we value all our guests response and take it in great consideration in improving our service and amenities offered.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    241
    54
    25
    20
See reviews for
345
248
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

As members of RCI, we recerved almost 9 months ago, after reading all reviews on this property I made sure I called them weeks in advance and requested an upstairs unit close to the back pool with a TV in the second room, since my daughter and her husband were accompanying us and they stay late at night. When we arrived we were told that all of the "owners" were occupying their units and they could not honor our request, not one was available. I was very upset and after some reasoning with my daughter, they found one unit upstairs, but no TV in the quest room and as far to the back pool as you can get, we were in room 1A. We were right in the front of the property overlooking a roof, and the front office, parking lot was right next to us and they were working on the downstairs unit everyday, lots of noise! This was our first trip to Hawaii and first time using RCI timeshare. It left a really bad impression on the whole thing. The resort was half empty, as we walked around every day and even knock on a few units in the back, we found they were all emptied, parking lots were empty too, not what we were told by the front office. The units in the back looked newer and some had a nice view. We were in an old unit needing updating, better furniture and new carpet, we even had cockroaches coming up the kitchen sink at night. Not what we expected from RCI. The grounds were very nice, that is the only good thing I can say about this property. They did brings us clean towels right away when we called them, that was nice.
Very disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless you are an "owner" of a renovated unit and don't have anoth...
See more room tips
Green Features: The grounds were very well maintained. Seems environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy C, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Aloha,

Sorry to hear that your stay with us did not turn out extremely wonderful as it should be. I apologized, we could not accommodate all requests mentioned.


Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here for 10 days in April 2014. We had a 2 br condo and it was excellent . There was free wifi, the kitchen was well equipped and the bedrooms were comfortable. There was a pool/ jacuzzi though we did not use it. There were also BBQ grills available which we made use of. It was very quiet and relaxing . I would certainly stay here again. The staff were also very friendly. We went to Hawaii to fish and scuba dive. It is best to rent a car though the front desk can readily get taxis. You can walk into town though it is a bit long - and can be hot.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy C, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Aloha,

Great to hear that your 10 day vacation with Kona Hawaiian was an excellent one. Let us know or give us a call for your next visit, and we'll make sure that your next stay will be a wonderful stay once again.


Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed nearly a week at this property. The units seem to all be 2 bdr. The things we liked: The size of the condo; the kitchen was pretty good. just needed some things like foil, oil, etc; laundry ( but didnt use it); the bed. The internet was slow to where it wasn't functional, oh well.

Some things to know: Not oceanside. There is some view across the street, but the accessible beaches are a bit away. Its a condo, so they leave you alone unless you need them; this was great. It's not near many things, so you do have to drive.

Room Tip: I'd opt for an upper unit if possible. I think we got lucky with no one above, but can expect n...
See more room tips
Green Features: Separate recycling; "eco friendly" products.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy C, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Aloha,
I would like to thank you for chossing to stay with us. Your comments and feedback are greatly appreciated.

Much mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed 1 week in a 2 bedroom. Very clean, walls very thin. The pool area is very nice, lots of gas grills for use around the property. Internet very slow.
Parking lot by units fills up fast at night, be prepared to walk a little.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FUSVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy C, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Aloha,

Mahalo for your review. We hope you stay with us again for your next family vacation.


Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed here with another couple for a week in March-April…the resort is lovely! Located on Ali’i Drive we were right across the street from the ocean and had a nice view of the ocean from our unit. Although the resort is located on a busy street and our 2-bedroom unit was in one of the buildings closest to the street, there was virtually no traffic noise. The inside accommodations are beautiful though it would have been nice to have a little more storage available. The landscaping and pool area are very nice. As part of the check-in process we were asked to participate in an owner’s update but once we declined, we were not asked again. Overall, we would love to stay at this resort again!

Room Tip: Try to get an upstairs unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AZ53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy C, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for comments, we'll share it with all the staff. Great to hear you enjoyed the 2 bedroom deluxe unit accommoations here at Kona Hawaiian.


Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fremont, ca
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Have stayed here before, very comfortable. The grounds express the foliage of Hawaii, from bananas to bread fruit, and all the flowers. 2 pools are available. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Looking forward to another great week!

Room Tip: We ask to be by a pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy C, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Aloha,

Great to hear you enjoyed your Hawaiian stay with us. We look forward for your next visit.


Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
27.7 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
0.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,864 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort

Property: Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Address: 75-5961 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1333 (Formerly Kona Hawaiian Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 bedroom apartment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Hotel Kailua-Kona
Wyndham Kailua Kona
Kona Hawaiian Village
Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing