We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,319
US$1,256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
US$176
US$170
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$348
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$285
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kona Tiki Hotel(Kailua-Kona)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (827)
Filter reviews
827 results
Traveller rating
463
256
60
26
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
463
256
60
26
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslower pooltime sharesales pitchthe big islandhot tublower unitdining tablefull kitchenwasher and dryermaster bedroombeautiful groundsking sizeview of the oceanwalk into townlarge lanaiclean towelsstayed here for a week
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
405 - 410 of 827 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We are Wyndham timeshare owners and decided to spend five nights at the Kona Hawaiian. The units are all two-bedroom and come with a full kitchen, appliances, cooking and eating utensils and dishes. Washer/dryer in each unit. The property provides initial portions of coffee, laundry soap and dish soap. If you need more you must pay at the front desk. There was no room service during our stay, but you can wash towels yourself in the w/d (note: we have stayed at other Wyndham properties where they provided replacement coffee/soap free of charge and we could swap our towels for clean ones). This property does have loaner beach equipment which is a nice feature. The property itself is well landscaped and maintained and not too far from the main town of Kona. Most will find it too far to walk so a car is a necessity. There is an exercise room with a couple of treadmills, an eliptical, and a universal-type weight machine. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Our WiFi worked pretty well most time, but in the evenings it appeared to be saturated by demand and the speed was slow. Overall, we really enjoyed it and would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for a lanai overlooking the pool area.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheiksan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy C, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Aloha,
We would like to thank you for the comments and we appreciate it. Thank you for you kind words for our staff and the service provided and we will share it to everyone.

Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed here recently and wanted to give a couple of tips regarding the timeshare presentation that is offered to guests. Here are 3 tips:

1) If you have time, you should definitely knock it out one of the mornings. The presentation is just above the upper pool.

2) Don't settle for anything less than $125 and a box of chocolates. The guy at the counter said $100 was the best he could offer and that he was "taking one for the team", but I knew Boss Frogs offered $125, so I didn't budge. We had a voicemail later that night confirming $125 was accepted.

3) Don't believe a word they say. They told us 140,000 points is equivalent to two weeks in Hawaii. However, it takes AT LEAST 220,000 to stay ONE week at this resort. The rep was very misleading and we tried to report this to management (no response). Just know that you can buy points from timeshare re-sellers at a fraction of the price if you really are interested.

I hope this helps. We loved our stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank pvtmulholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy C, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for this feedback and some tips for other travelers. This will allow us to continue to enhance the vacation experience at our resort. Please let us know if there are opportunities to make your stay better in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Great location - across the street from ocean. Great place to walk in morning. Can walk to restaurants but a tad far. Easier to drive. Clean rooms. Nice pools. Grills on site - they also have beach stuff you can borrow. The staff here was exceptionally nice. They were friendly, helpful and professional. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charley819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy C, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for your feedback. And thank you for recommending Kona Hawaiian for a nice vacation stay.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The two-bed, two bath upstairs unit was perfect. Pools were small but adequate (seems like some locals may have been using them?) service was also welcoming. Sales team was relentless - terrible! No elevator so be prepared to carry luggage upstairs. Parking is hard to find if you get back late. Rooms were clean and well stocked - nice to have a w/d in the unit. Would recommend.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy C, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for the positive rating for Kona Hawaiian. Glad to hear that we were able to accommodate you to an upstairs unit. All our units are each equipped with washer and dryer. I apologize this information may have been missed to mention during your stay.

Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed at the Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort for three nights and would definitely consider it again, as we found it to be an awesome base for our visit to the Kailua-Kona area. Rooms are individually owned, so furnishings and amenities may vary. The room we had was very spacious, with a large living area, full kitchen, nice balcony, two bedrooms, two bathrooms and all that you could ask for a very comfortable stay.

Great pool area, especially the hot tub. Awesome gas grills located throughout the resort, which was nice for cooking out (which we did twice!). Check for various events happening at the resort throughout the week.

While the resort is not on the beach, it is within walking distance.

Room Tip: Look a the resort itinerary for events happening on property.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robogator0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy C, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Aloha,

I thank you for the great review for Kona Hawaiian resort. Great to hear that you enjoyed resorts amenities and facilities. The pool and sand bottom hot tub are one of the great features of this resort. We look forward for your next visit.

Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews