We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite Comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quite Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Recently stayed here, 8/1-8/8. We found the unit to be quite comfortable. I told the Activities desk that we were not interested in the timeshare presentation and it was never brought up again. The only issue I had was that with Iselle approaching the island of Hawaii, we had to initiate contact with the staff regarding their emergency plan for guests. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oregonianz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy C, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for your review for Kona Hawaiian resort. And we look forward for you next visit.


Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    232
    53
    23
    19
See reviews for
323
235
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Wyndham Kona Coast location is next door to- the Ocean so if you want Ocean front you are going to have to walk across the street! Excellent room size ( all rooms are 2 bedrooms/2 bath) plus a giant size kitchen with all the bells and whistles! The resorts grounds are kept perfect by happy worker bees that clean up every am! This is a great resort for a family and if you like to walk to the town of kona is only about 18 minutes! The resorts has several Gas Grills if you want to cook outside! We did not attempt to attend any activities at the resort because we had activities to attend off site! Lots of restaurants to eat at but i would highly recommend The Lava-Java for breakfast! The cinnamon bun is to die for!!!
The pools are nice and clean but a little small but you are going to the Ocean anyway Right!!!!
If you need anything the resort will attempt to help you with Good Choices for where to go for what you are wanting to accomplish !
The internet is ok in the am but spotty after 4:00 when everyone starts coming back from Hilo or other sights on the Big Island!
The timeshare pitch (we were staying 2 weeks) so i missed it or wife must of made them aware that we were on VACATION!
Remember to enjoy the sights and get a Car Rental ! You DO NOT need a 4 wheel drive to enjoy 98% of the Big Island!
The Wyndham Kona Coast is a MUST STAY if you are going to Kona! The family cannot wait till we can return to the Big Island and i am proud to say " i would stay here again" and would recommend this Resort to family and friends without hesitation ! P.S. Get out there and enjoy the Big Island !!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask to be placed up the hill as far as possible! If not, you will be looking at a White tent!
See more room tips
Green Features: You are in Hawaii so Everyone is into the environment! If you go to Costco or WalMart you will need to bring bags or buy a bag for .30 cents!
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank neversettleforless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy C, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Aloha,
I thank you for the wonderful review for Kona Hawaiian resort. And thank you for sharing great travel tips for everyone planning their Hawaiian vacation.


Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Excellent room size (2 bedroom/2 bath), nice beds, lanai, well-supplied condominium, air-conditioning, and 2 televisions. Overall, very nice accommodations.

The grounds provide for a Hawaiian garden experience. It is a beautiful resort.

Areas for improvement would include larger-sized pools (2), Internet service (Internet was slow to non-existent at times, weekly activities (redundant and of low quality), fitness facility (small and dated), poolside bar (it was not functioning during our stay), and timeshare sales pitches (Don't pitch Club Wyndham when a guest is simply asking for directions or entertainment advice).

Kona is a fantastic place. The waters are simply astonishing regarding warmth and clarity. We would return to Kona in a heartbeat. Prior to staying at Wyndham Kona again, I would expect some significant upgrades to the resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy C, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Aloha,
Great to hear that you enjoyed our spacious 2 -bedroom accomadations and other amenities and facilities offered. Thank you for this feedback for Kona Hawaiian. This will allow us to continue to enhance the vacation experience at our resort and to know other opportunities to improve to make your stay better in the future.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Nice in all respects. Across the street from the coast. 15 minute walk from downtown (aka no need to drive after some umbrella drinks...). Very nice, condo-style units -- spacious with kitchen and family room. Nice pools. Clean/well-maintained. Only negative is that they try to sell you more timeshare points and excursions pretty hard -- think this is normal for timeshare places. The excursions are through Expedia and are high quality,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darrylicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy C, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Aloha,
Great to hear abour your experience staying at Kona Hawaiian resort. I thank you for your comments, and we'll share it with all staff. We look forward for your vacation.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here in June 2014 with our family of 6, including twenty-somethings. Had a unit up the hill where it was really quiet and everyone enjoyed the sleep! Resort is handy to everything. Great kitchen for all of the chefs to work around one another! Rooms were clean and the washer/dryer was essential for washing and drying beach towels after the beach trips! key factor: the resort keeps a hut full of beach paraphernalia - no need to go to Costco or Walmart for chairs or umbrellas! Resort pool (upper) clean and gorgeous views. It would have been really nice to be able to order a cocktail, but there is no tiki bar and anyway that was not essential. We loved the big island and encourage others to stay here and take advantage of the location - near Kona and able to walk to shop or dinners, easy drive to any beach on the west side of the island, easy to get to the "cloud forest" for coffee tour, and easy to drive to Mauna Kea and Hilo. Highly recommend the helicopter tour of the island. Beautiful.

Room Tip: Upstairs units on the hill are quieter and have a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy C, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for the great feedback for Kona Hawaiian. Great to hear that all family members enjoyed Hawaiian vacation including the resort accommodation. We look forward to your next visit.


Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Location was perfect for quiet and peaceful vacation. Close to amenities - just a short walk away or jump in the car for snorkeling. Really appreciated the staff here...Reasonably priced in comparison to several hotels without kitchens in the units.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank pokeybonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy C, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Aloha,

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience at the resort. we are glad that you and your family had enjoy the Island adventure.

Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Recently stayed here for 7 nights and overall we're very pleased. After looking at photos online and reviews I was skeptical about choosing this resort. Upon arrival and check in, the unit and resort exceeded my expectations. Large unit with updated furniture and well stocked kitchenware...non stick pan was super. Two minor complaints... the only dining table was outside and there were lots of flies, insects. Possible screening in would help. Also, pools were small and kids were bored. That said, we didn't spend a whole lot of time in unit or at pools. Would return again.

Room Tip: Second floor to void noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank islndfvr09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy C, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Aloha,

It's was a pleasure to have you as our guest here in the resort, thank you very much for all the wonderful words that you experience with us. We are glad that we meet your expectation to our resort. We love to see you here again.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
4.9 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
14.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
4.8 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort

Property: Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Address: 75-5961 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1333 (Formerly Kona Hawaiian Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 bedroom apartment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Hotel Kailua-Kona
Wyndham Kailua Kona
Kona Hawaiian Village
Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing