We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying at a friend's house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Koa Wood Hale - Patey's Place Hostel
Reviewed 22 January 2008

I've been here for a day now and the place is really great. The staff are really friendly, approacheable and willing to give advice on where to go and how to get there. They also let you borrow snorkel gear as included in your rate. The rooms and common spaces are very clean. The only thing I would wish is for the rooms to be a bit less hot. There are fans, but it still seems stuffy during the hottest part of the day. The place is located in a residential area, so it is quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WonderQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Koa Wood Hale - Patey's Place Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2008

My husband and I went to Hawaii for eight days for our honeymoon. We stayed in a wide range of hotels - from 5 stars to a dump that I would say qualified as 1 star in Hilo. We booked our last night on the island at Patey's Place. It was wonderful. It exceeded our expectations by far. The staff was so accomodating, friendly and helpful and knew where to go and what to do. We stayed in the suite and it was large and clean with a queen sized bed and a large kitchen and living room to share. We also happened to be there on the night they had a barbecue. For only five dollars we ate amazing home cooked food and met everyone else staying at the hostel - a diverse group of people of all ages and backgrounds. It was a perfect night! ( I think they only do their cook outs once a month).
It was a great place and we will definatly stay there again if we come back to Kona!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TravelswoYoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2007

Well, this year was our 5th stay @ Pateys Place, we have stayed at the older property up the street for 3 stays in previous years & this October was our second stay at Koa Wood Hale, this stay we actually noticed that the property was alot cleaner than in '05. We stayed upstairs in one of the doubles above the office, complete with ocean views. We were there for Ironman & it's the cheapest place available in Kona at this very busy time.
We will definitely be back, it's not fancy, but it is good value for money! Mahalo!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank budgetbudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2007

This is one of the cleanest and friendliest places where I have been in hawaii. The people who run the hostel are heplful and nice. I always like to wear my flippers on the floor and that is a barefoot property... but I highly reccomend this place.
Ciao!
Katia

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank katia_fratini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2007

Koa Wood Hale- Patey's Place is great! The staff is overly friendly and helpful. Lots of Aloha! The place is very clean and has character. I loved the hammocks, reggae music playing in the background, great coffee every morning, and of course Smokey and Cookie (the cats). I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2007
Thank camphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2007

Great place to stay - comfortable bed, great staff, parking, a little tricky to find but close enough to town to walk. Zero the property manager was great. Note the check in time and check out time as they are not the norm. Great facilities - it was pouring with rain when we were there but there was a BBQ, Hamock, bikes.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LizardgirlNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2007

We (couple 30 and 34 y.o.) stayed one night there. I wish we could have booked at least one more night!
The location was very clean, big private room, shared (with another private room) living room and kitchen. Beautiful terrasse with hammock and several chairs, where we spent the whole morning, drinking coffee and watching the small birds.
All in one - very nice stay. I would come back again:-)



  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank vishnyanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.3 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
11.7 mi away
Manago Hotel
Manago Hotel
#1 of 1 in Captain Cook
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kona Islander Inn
Kona Islander Inn
#34 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koa Wood Hale - Patey's Place Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Wood Hale - Patey's Place Hostel

Address: 75-184 Ala Onaona St, LOOK FOR OUR TIKI TORCHES and ROPE LIGHTS, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1806
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: £24 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take off your shoes and relax. Welcome to Koa Wood Hale. Our convenient location, friendly staff, and long list of extras are for your enjoyment. We have 3 dorm rooms:Mens dorm (4 beds) female only dorm (4 beds) and a coed-dorm (4 beds). Upstairs we offer 4 private rooms, 2 rooms share a space and these rooms may accomidate 1-3. Fresh Bedding and towels are provided.Free parking - wifi - computer & printer - full use kitchen and bath - t.V room with dvd player and movies - book trade - lockers - laundry facilities - maps and information - ++++ plenty of spacious common areas to meet other travelers from around the world!We are happy to loan you things you may need that we have extra of: beach towels, bags, tents, snorkel gear, sunscreen, band-aids, slippers, hats and umbrellas... Ask around or have a look on one of our community shelvesBikes and Boards for hire. Office Hours:8 a.M. To Noon (checkout by 10am)5 p.M. - 10 P.M. (Checkins) ***PLEASE NOTE***NO CHECK IN AFTER 10PM! If you can not make it by 10:00 pm you could speak with the manager in advance and we will try to get you in your room that night. Checkins before 5pm available but not before 12pm, this is so we can provide you with a clean and ready apartment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Koa Wood Hale - Patey`s Place Hotel Kailua-Kona
Koa Wood Hale - Patey's Place Hostel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing