We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The weed smoking is a problem at the hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Koa Wood Hale - Patey's Place Hostel
US
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The weed smoking is a problem at the hostel”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I can definitely say the hostel is worth staying at but they have a problem there that no one seems to acknowledge, not even the site manager. Weed smoking is allowed on the premises. Other reviewer complained about, thin mattresses, one bathroom for the entire hostel, even the fact that there is occasional partying. None of that affected me, and I'm known to be flexible and often adaptable to the new changes. But I set my boundaries and that is I do not tolerate drug activity including weed smoking. Smoking marijuana around or near a hostel is unacceptable by any standards. James is a manager with great potential, I really enjoyed his company, he does a good job maintaining the hostel but he's got a soft spot for he goes out of his way to be friendly with anyone staying there allowing some of irrational behavior -weed smoking. The odor of weed smoke at night (although not every night) was unbearable, enough to ruin my stay.
James, if you read this, you need to have a serious talk with your guy Daniel. His habits of smoking grass under the window of the corner dorm room should be addressed respectively. You need a more aggressive stand and all the drug activity should be prohibited on the hostel premises. Or else your friends there will run the hostel into the ground.
The only problem I see at your hostel is the weed smoking. That hostel would be a much better place if this issue was addressed properly. It has the potential of becoming a desired place to stay in Kona for the young travelers. And everyone caught with a twisted pipe in his backpack should be kicked out. Period

Room Tip: Tell James you have a problem with drug activity. May be this will persuade him to kick out all thos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank LifeisabeachHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    36
    5
    9
    18
See reviews for
2
20
56
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

I've never stayed in a hostel before, so I was nervous to see how I would like it. I'd read about the place before I got there, and there are some bad reviews. I stayed there from January 24 - march 3 and I loved it there! I was in the girls dorm, where there's two bunk beds. I felt surprisingly safe with having my things laying around. The people that I've met at this hostel were so friendly and nice, and I made some long-life friends here.

When it comes to cleanliness, they clean the place every day. The sofa has seen its better days, but you can't expect perfection for everything. They do have cockroaches, but more important, they have a cute cat who takes care that :) To be honest, in my time at this hostel, I saw 5 cockroaches all together, so I didn't see that as a problem.

I can definitely recommend this hostel to everyone who is traveling and Big Island is a beautiful place to be. Mahalo Koa Wood Hale, for my first hostel experience. It was awesome and I'll see you soon :)

Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Line A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I have traveled around allot, also in relay poor countries, like Ecuador, Peru, Bolivia, Zambia Malawi etc. So I'm not spoiled. It is definitely not a place you wold expect to find in this part of the world.

A mattress that thin, made the stay a real pain. And it not only thin, it also fall apart.

One toilet with shower shared by twelve people makes it a bit frustrating if the nature calls.

The cleaning does definitely not keep a very high standard. When opening the fridge it smelled like a dead cat or something worse. So I did not store any food there. But fetching a cold beer you need two hand one for the beer and one for covering the nose.

Just a little bit of effort from the staff could make this place good. But they are just fuzzy.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mattias N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hooksett, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Patey's Place/Koa Wood Hale. We checked in around 9pm and James and his staff greeted us and delivered our suitcases to our room. The first morning we woke up to the beautiful sunshine and started to check out the place. The whole place was very clean and the kitchen had everything needed to cook. The water pressure in the shower was fantastic and always hot water. Outside our room on the deck was a large table and chairs so every morning and evening we sat and could see the ocean.The location is perfect its only a short walk to the beach and all the shops. It was quiet for sleeping and James and his staff were extremely friendly.We would stay again! Thank you James and Staff for a great experience in Hawaii..

Room Tip: Koa Wood Hale is a Hostel not a Hotel just remember to keep that in mind when booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We had a large number of people using one bathroom (12 people) which was really difficult. The cleanliness of the place was not very good, especially the bathroom.

Nothing was ever locked, my room did not lock and there were no lockers offered. I did not feel very safe there.

There are a number of long term people staying there, and it feels like they take over the hostel a lot, kitchen, lounge etc. They even steal other peoples bed if you are not in them early enough. On my last night 1 person slept in his car because his bed was taken by a long term resident who was supposed to sleep on the couch and another person had to kick someone else out of his bed.

It was not as close to town as I had expected. This was not a problem for me since I had a car, but if you don't you will have a bit of a walk up hill to get to the hostel.

I would not recommend this hostel to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kiwi_kiwi_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

we stayed here for 4 nights, it was clean room with a shared kitchen and bathrroom. easy access to the kona. there was no atmosphere like most backpackers have, it was way to quiet, we felt very out of place and we are normaly quiet. everyone just sat around and played music and smoked weed. it sound ok but it realy wasnt. you will be better of staying at a place called billys the addy is 75-5739 alli dr kailua-kona. its accross the road from the shore, has a pool, with hotel service and its only $10 more than pateys place (our friends stayed there and we pretty much stayed with them by the pool. if we hadnt booked for all of our nights i would stayed there in a flash.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank louise b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Pros:
- The people were very positive, friendly, and helpful. (read: AMAZING!)
- Central location, short walk away from Kona Brewing Company

Cons:
- Location is a bit hard to get to, if you are walking and not expecting an upwards hill
- Outside area could have used some cleaning

If you are looking for a cheap, fun, and chill place to stay, this is it. If you are expecting a hotel, perhaps you should look elsewhere.

If you are looking for a laid-back environment and to meet some wonderful people, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Javes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.4 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
72.5 mi away
Hedonisia Hawaii Sustainable Community
0.3 mi away
Kona Islander Inn
Kona Islander Inn
#32 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koa Wood Hale - Patey's Place Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Wood Hale - Patey's Place Hostel

Property: Koa Wood Hale - Patey's Place Hostel
Address: 75-184 Ala Onaona St, LOOK FOR OUR TIKI TORCHES and ROPE LIGHTS, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1806
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take off your shoes and relax. Welcome to Koa Wood Hale. Our convenient location, friendly staff, and long list of extras are for your enjoyment. We have 3 dorm rooms:Mens dorm (4 beds) female only dorm (4 beds) and a coed-dorm (4 beds). Upstairs we offer 4 private rooms, 2 rooms share a space and these rooms may accomidate 1-3. Fresh Bedding and towels are provided.Free parking - wifi - computer & printer - full use kitchen and bath - t.V room with dvd player and movies - book trade - lockers - laundry facilities - maps and information - ++++ plenty of spacious common areas to meet other travelers from around the world!We are happy to loan you things you may need that we have extra of: beach towels, bags, tents, snorkel gear, sunscreen, band-aids, slippers, hats and umbrellas... Ask around or have a look on one of our community shelvesBikes and Boards for hire. Office Hours:8 a.M. To Noon (checkout by 10am)5 p.M. - 10 P.M. (Checkins) ***PLEASE NOTE***NO CHECK IN AFTER 10PM! If you can not make it by 10:00 pm you could speak with the manager in advance and we will try to get you in your room that night. Checkins before 5pm available but not before 12pm, this is so we can provide you with a clean and ready apartment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Koa Wood Hale - Patey`s Place Hotel Kailua-Kona
Koa Wood Hale - Patey's Place Hostel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing