We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome hostel!! Highly recommend.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Koa Wood Hale - Patey's Place Hostel
1 review
“Awesome hostel!! Highly recommend.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hostel is under new mgmt - I stayed there 2 nights and the staff were super friendly. It was very clean and spacious. Location was tops - close to the beach and bars and action of Kona. The place had an awesome vibe, I loved it and would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonnylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    36
    5
    9
    18
See reviews for
2
20
56
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Met so many cool travellers here! The Staff were very friendly and helped with any questions I had about the island. They made me feel very welcome and easily made my stay in Kona a highlight of my time in Hawaii. I found the hostel very clean and comfortable. Would definitely go back and I highly recommend it to anyone looking to stay near Kona!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Clean friendly and low cost
I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a sweet stay in Kona.
Located in the middle of Kona the beach is a short walk and so are most good restaurants.
I found the staff eager to help.
If you are looking for a great value and a home like place to rest while traveling check this place out.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Owen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marysville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

The peeps is what makes it happy and healthy. Everyone is considerate and caring, sharing, positive. The environment is clean and the geckos simply say hello, and then go on their merry way, as geckos are want to do. The furnishings are not luxurious, but hey, it's a hostel. Everything you could possibly need or want is within walking distance. Aloha abounds. Happy trails!

Room Tip: Share a private room with a friend and you get a little less sleeping society at almost the same pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

... and would not have stayed a second. I have stayed in hostels all over the world ... I know a lot of times the guests of the hostel can make or break the impression of the place. And we left with a very broken impression. I felt like I might "catch" something my one night there. From the mattresses with no protective coverings, a bathroom that should have been closed for renovations, guests without underwear sleeping on the floor of our common area. The fans didn't seem to work and the heat was stifling which didn't help with the lingering smell of "pot". When we tried to leave in the morning, another car had parked behind us and we could not get out. After waking a few of the guests that seemed to be sleeping where ever they fell, we were able to get the car moved and get on with our day. I will recommend this place if your other option is the street.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkzfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

The staff is very friendly. I arrived knowing nobody in Hawaii and after only 3 days met a lot of quality people. Meeting other travelers as well as locals made the stay so much better. The rooms are clean and the aura laid back. Located a 10 minute walk from the ocean front allowed me to not require a car to go everywhere. Beautiful sunsets seen from the balcony

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This place is pretty good! I found the staff to be very accommodating, they stayed open a late to check me in. Room is pretty clean. Sure, I saw a cockroach, but you will see cockroaches everywhere, in any place in Hawaii. Nothing is ever really locked, so if you are concerned about that sort of thing it might not be the place for you. If you are interested in a comfy bed, meeting some chill people, and staying at a decent (and affordable) location I would totally recommend this place. I actually stayed here on 2 separate occasions because I enjoyed it so much. Stoked!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madelaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.4 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
72.5 mi away
Hedonisia Hawaii Sustainable Community
0.3 mi away
Kona Islander Inn
Kona Islander Inn
#32 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koa Wood Hale - Patey's Place Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Wood Hale - Patey's Place Hostel

Property: Koa Wood Hale - Patey's Place Hostel
Address: 75-184 Ala Onaona St, LOOK FOR OUR TIKI TORCHES and ROPE LIGHTS, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1806
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take off your shoes and relax. Welcome to Koa Wood Hale. Our convenient location, friendly staff, and long list of extras are for your enjoyment. We have 3 dorm rooms:Mens dorm (4 beds) female only dorm (4 beds) and a coed-dorm (4 beds). Upstairs we offer 4 private rooms, 2 rooms share a space and these rooms may accomidate 1-3. Fresh Bedding and towels are provided.Free parking - wifi - computer & printer - full use kitchen and bath - t.V room with dvd player and movies - book trade - lockers - laundry facilities - maps and information - ++++ plenty of spacious common areas to meet other travelers from around the world!We are happy to loan you things you may need that we have extra of: beach towels, bags, tents, snorkel gear, sunscreen, band-aids, slippers, hats and umbrellas... Ask around or have a look on one of our community shelvesBikes and Boards for hire. Office Hours:8 a.M. To Noon (checkout by 10am)5 p.M. - 10 P.M. (Checkins) ***PLEASE NOTE***NO CHECK IN AFTER 10PM! If you can not make it by 10:00 pm you could speak with the manager in advance and we will try to get you in your room that night. Checkins before 5pm available but not before 12pm, this is so we can provide you with a clean and ready apartment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Koa Wood Hale - Patey`s Place Hotel Kailua-Kona
Koa Wood Hale - Patey's Place Hostel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing