We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice for the price paid” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
129 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for the price paid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

This hotel offers specials when booked in advanced excellent choice secluded yet close to Kona. The rooms are fantastic and very spacious with a large balcony (lanai) the grounds beautiful to keep you entertained no wonder is a family retreat in the island only drawback is the lcd bright blue temp control display right in front of the bed can keep you awake all night I suggest the hotel moves it under the spacious sink area

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dreyes1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Aloha! It is wonderful that you enjoyed the rooms and grounds so much at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. We are glad you had a good time while you were here but we are sorry that the temperature display made it difficult for you to get to sleep; we will pass along your suggestion for its location to our management team. Please come back and see us again soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    849
    454
    207
    116
See reviews for
625
1,208
87
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (796)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Meadowbrook, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed one night at the Sheraton Keauhou after a day of snorkeling with SeaQuest Adventures. They kindly kept our luggage for us at the hotel and after our snorkel adventure, we just walked up the hill to our hotel.

It was very convenient for our one-night stay. We had appetizers at Ray's on the Bay and watched the sun set. It was lovely even though the tide was very high and people were actually getting wet at the bar, but it was such a sight to see and people were just laughing about it.

My only complaint would be that we had a room next to the crashing waves and it was hard to sleep because it sounded like thunder all night long. The next morning we rode the shuttle bus which was very nice (included in our stay for free at the Sheraton).

We stayed at the King kamehameha Hotel the next night and enjoyed it a little more because it had a beach and you could walk into town. Also, my boyfriend and I usually go to places with no children and lots of night life. Since there are no adults-only hotels in Hawaii, we weren't sure what we were going to get. We liked the night life in Kona, but there were a lot of kids staying at the Sheraton, even in the middle of January.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Aloha and thank you for choosing Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay for your overnight stay. Even though it was only one night we are glad you had a chance to relax at Rays on the Bay while enjoying some appetizers and watching the tide come in. We are however sorry that the sounds of the ocean made it difficult for you to sleep at night and hope that it did not take away from your overall experience. Please come back and visit us again. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fruit Heights, Utah
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

This is a nice hotel!

We stayed at the Sheraton Kona for five nights in April 2013, and there is so much to love about this hotel. I’ll warn you ahead of time that this is a rather wordy review. My wife and I rely on TripAdvisor so much when making our travel plans, and I hope others will find this useful. So many reviews on TripAdvisor are subjective, and you have to consider the source, so here’s my disclosure: we are a middle-aged couple (51, 47) that tries to take a nice vacation each year, and we like to think we have average expectations when it comes to our accommodations. We don’t have any ties to the travel or hotel industry, we’ve never flown first class, never stayed in a 5-star hotel, and while we enjoy nice things in life, we’ve learned to appreciate the little things too. Hopefully you’ll glean some insight to this hotel from my review.

When we booked this hotel, I’d read a lot of reviews and seen a lot of pictures of the Skeraton Kona, and we were expecting a huge, smooth concrete hotel with a lot of angles, but we didn’t realize the concrete is all beautifully textured, and it actually looks like heavy stucco. Nothing prepared us for the beautiful open-air lobby with a stunning view of Keauhou Bay that just blew us away as soon as we got out of our car. The trade winds were blowing when we arrived, keeping it nice and cool in the lobby. We had maybe a 5 minute wait for check-in, and I ended up just staring out the huge windows overlooking the bay until we were called. Once at the desk, it didn’t take 5 more minutes to confirm our reservations, get our keycards, and be on our way to our room.

The hotel wings form a rough comma shape, starting with the garden view wing angled towards the mountains, and then curving around the pool area up to the North wing, where the Manta Ray overlook area is located. You walk into the lobby from the ground level in front, but it’s actually the second floor of the hotel, as this level overlooks the pool areas below. We were given room 1403, in the Helani Wing, in that farthest North section. Our room was on the top floor, and was situated right above the lava cliffs, looking directly West with unobstructed ocean views. Absolutely gorgeous ocean views.

The room itself was really nice. This is an older hotel, so you can see some signs of updating over the years. This didn’t bother us in the least. In fact, once we’d entered the room and looked out the balcony windows, my wife exclaimed, “Wow, we may never leave the hotel this week!” We did leave, of course, snorkeling at several locations, and hiking/exploring the historical sites along the Kona/Kohala coast. If you are looking for a nice hotel to serve as a base for your explorations, this is an awesome hotel.

One note about the location of the Sheraton Kona. Keauhou (pronounced “KAY-ow-ho”) is about 10 minutes south of Kailua-Kona town, and about a 15-20 minute drive from the airport. From what we saw, the Sheraton Kona is the gem of this area. There are some really nice resorts to the North of the airport, but be aware that these resorts are isolated – the drive to get to them is down a highway, across barren, desolate a’a lava flows and dead brush, and doesn’t look tropical at all. The palms and green of the resorts to the North have all been manmade, because this is a very dry area. While I’m sure those resorts are nice (at their prices, they should be), and they are the resorts with beaches, you will be very isolated from everything if you stay there, and your shopping/dining options will be very limited. We loved having more options within 15-20 minutes of the Sheraton Kona.

There are two things you should not expect when you come to the Big Island, big fancy beaches, and night life. It’s Hawaii, so expect to slow down, get up early, enjoy everything, and when the sun goes down, relax with dinner and drinks, and then go to bed. Live Aloha! Most of the white sand beaches are at the Kohala Coast resorts to the North, but there are always warnings about rip tides and waves, so the swimming isn’t going to be the best. Plus you’re going to get sand in everything if you spend an afternoon at the beach. If you plan to lay out in the sun, you’re better off sitting around the pool, and the Sheraton Kona has one of the best pools you are going to find anywhere on the island. The hotel is situated on lava cliffs, so there is no beach, but you won’t miss it – there are waves crashing on the rocks, and palms all along the edge of the resort, so sit back, enjoy a drink, and you’ll know you’re in Hawaii here. And speaking of drinks, one disappointment was the price of drinks at the resort. Thirty bucks (including tip) for two drinks is pricey, and I’m sure most people will order one, recover from the sticker shock, and go to the grocery store up the road and buy their own booze for the rest of their stay. The Sheraton Kona missed the boat on attracting bar business here. But the pool area is beautiful, and was very quiet and serene pretty much our whole stay. We were there from a Saturday through Thursday, and we didn’t experience any of the pool noise that some have complained about in this forum. The doors to the rooms do open to an outdoor hallway (everything is open throughout the resort), and you do hear the doors close. This didn’t bother us in the least. After dark, you might see three or four couples in the pool area, so it was definitely quiet, except for Monday evening when they host a Luau on the South lawn. This was on the opposite side of the resort from our room, so we hardly heard it, and it was over by 10:00 PM. Those with rooms on that end of the hotel (the mountain view rooms facing to the South) would have a nice view of the luau show from their rooms.

I do understand why some have complained about how far it is from the lobby to the rooms. If you are in the East wing, it extends a long ways from the lobby, and yes, you would have a little hike to get to the lobby for valet. But you’d also be much closer to the self-parking lot in that end, so it just depends which you choose. We paid the extra $7/day for valet parking, and liked having our car come to us with the windows down and air conditioning already blasting, so we didn’t spend our first 10 minutes roasting in the car. Some may not like to pay the valet fee, and if so, the self-park is very easy to get to (down two flights of stairs if you come out of the lobby, through a long hallway if you’re already in the East wing).

The Kailua-Kona area is where all the little tourist shops and restaurants are, and if you follow Ali’i Drive North from the hotel, there is a nice shopping center very close by, where you’ll find a grocery store and pretty much anything you’d need for sundries, suntan lotions, liquor, etc. If you continue North, you’ll pass Kahalu’u beach park within about 5 minutes (great walk-in snorkel spot), and then in another 10 minutes or so come to the Coconut Grove shopping center just after passing the Royal Kona Resort. We parked behind the Coconut Grove center several days for our lunch/dinner/shopping excursions. Parking is free, and you are minutes from several really good restaurants (Island Lava Java, Bubba Gump, and Humpy’s accounted for 5-6 of our meals that week, all are recommended). There are many little shops all along the way, and our two favorite spots were a store named Hawaiian Hands that sold hand-carved wood items by local artists (beautiful Honu sculptures at affordable prices), and the Hawaii Titanium Rings shop, where we found a replacement wedding band after losing mine while snorkeling our second day out. It’s nice to find souvenirs and such that are actually made here on the islands, and not imported from who knows where.

We ate at the breakfast restaurant here (way overpriced), the smaller breakfast nook by the computer center (much better priced, easier to grab coffee and a bite before heading out for the day), and Rays on the Bay (very good food, but we felt like a little put off by the service, but that’s for another review). We ate the majority of our meals while out and about, and at night found that the restaurants in the Coconut Grove shopping area were much better.

And before I forget, I do need to mention that the sunsets aren’t as amazing here as we’ve seen on other islands. A lot of that may have to do with the vog (volcanic fog) that drifts across this part of the island from the trade winds. A couple of our mornings during our stay were clear, with great colors in the water and a bright sunny horizon. But most days, and almost every afternoon, you’ll see a slight haze that tends to obscure the horizon. But As I understand, this is pretty common on the west coast of the Big Island. It didn’t bother us much, just kind of disappointed us to not have the amazing sunset pictures like we’d gotten on Maui. But that’s a small price to be paid for staying on an island with active volcano flows!

Our overall impression of this resort was, in a word, amazing. We loved our stay, we’d come back in a heartbeat tomorrow if someone else paid for the vacation (we aren’t rich, remember, it'd take us a while to save for another Hawaii trip), and we highly recommend this resort for anyone staying on the west end of the island that wants a very nice, classy place to stay with dining options and shopping nearby. If you’re a celebrity with way too much money burning a hole in your pockets, go ahead and spend a small fortune at one of the mega-resorts up North. But if you are like us, you won’t be one bit disappointed to stay at the Sheraton Kona, and you’ll have a tear in your eye when you have to leave.

Mahalo for reading!

Room Tip: The Helani Wing, west-facing rooms are quiet, with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank CoupleOfNuts2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Aloha! We can’t thank you enough for your lovely review of your stay at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay! It was truly enjoyable to read your comments and follow you on your journey at our hotel. It is always our hope that guests will take home countless fond memories of their time with us. Your many kind comments and your recommendations are sincerely appreciated. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

We used to stay at this hotel when it was the Kona Surf way back when. (Oops, I guess that dates me!) Wow, what a transformation. One of the last times we stayed here we renewed our wedding vows in the chapel on the grounds, so that is why it feels like we came "home again." The Sheraton Kona was lovely. We were upgraded to a wonderful room overlooking the ocean and the pool area. That pool is unbelievable. We have never spent so much time around a pool as we did this visit because it was just so nice. Everyone was so friendly and nice. The room was spotless. Enjoyed just walking around the grounds and taking in all the sites. The lobby bar was great with the wicker chairs overlooking the bay. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Aloha! You have made our day with your review! We are so glad you had such a lovely time during your most recent stay at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. This past fall our hotel completed our $20 million renovation; providing guests with many wonderful upgrades and a new beginning for us here. We cannot thank you enough for all your positive feedback. Please visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Ahuihou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

Our stayed was in May 2013. Since the Sheraton name has taken over you can "slowly" see the up-keep of the resort and I due mean slowly. Even though it says on the websiste, all rooms have been "remodeled", the bathrooms remain the last piece yet to be upgraded. I hope the Sheraton can fully restored this resort to its glory years!

That said, the common areas are in excellent shape and it seems that's where it spent most of the money. The lobby area is fantastic, bright, airy and colorful. The staff is wonderful and attentive and the pool area with its waterslide is a nice touch to an otherwise seasoned resort.

The $30 daily resort fee is definitely something not to overlook but I can say the wifi has improved from previous reviews. So it does mean mgmt has been reading these reviews and are not taking it lightly.

Room Tip: Skip breakfast and lunch and head to Manta on the Rays for dinner. The $5 green coupon is only go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Mahalo for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. We greatly appreciate that you have taken the time to express your impressions with us. All guest feedback is valued and we appreciate every comment as it allows us to continuously improve the experience for future guests. Thank you for both your compliments and suggestions. We hope that we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

Our stay here was really seamless from driving up to the entrance through check out. The staff was helpful and attentive throughout. Our biggest regret of our trip was not actually planning to spend more time at the Sheraton.

The pool with waterslide was awesome and everyone on the pool staff took great care of us too.

Sally at the front desk was very accomodating in getting us a late check out for our last day here, recommending some restaurants and setting us up on our last day ( we had a late flight out.)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Aloha! What a wonderful review, thank you. It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests and learn about their experiences at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. We’re thrilled you enjoyed spending time at the Manta Ray Super Slide and Pool and so happy learn that our staff took such good care of you while you were here. Please come back and visit us again soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

My family and I stayed here for two nights at the start of a 7 day trip to Hawaii and from the moment we arrived, we knew we were going to have an enjoyable and relaxing stay. The check-in staff were friendly and welcoming, the room was large, comfortable and clean, and the hotel has a friendly, relaxed feel.

The kids loved this place. In particular, they enjoyed the water slides and the two interconnected swimming pools. However, the highlight for all of us was watching the manta rays swimming through the surf at night - magical.

The hotel is located a little way south of Kona (about 15 mins drive) but has a restaurant and bar on site and there are various shops a short drive away. The hotel is also well placed for snorkelling activities as several charter boats are based in Keauhou Bay (right next to the hotel) and the safe, sheltered waters of Kahalu'u Bay are a few minutes drive north.

The only slight disappointment was that we paid extra for the "breakfast included" option but this rate only covered two adults and did not include the kids.

We were very impressed by our stay at the Sheraton Kona Resort - it's a shame we couldn't have stayed a little longer.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
We also wish you could have stayed a little longer. Thank you for sharing such a lovely review for Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. It is our goal to provide all our guests with a seamless stay from check in to check out and create an experience for them that forms fond memories. We are thrilled that your family had such a great time at our resort and watching the manta rays at night. The mantas are beautiful creatures that glide effortlessly through the water in the evening feeding on plankton; creating a magical show for all of us to behold. We truly appreciate all your kind comments and hope that we can welcome you back soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
6.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
31.7 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
32.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.8 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
28.0 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
27.6 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Property: Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Address: 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2525 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#6 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the diversity of Hawaii's Big Island with family and friends at Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa. From stargazing atop majestic Mauna Kea to tours of nearby Kona Coffee farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort And Spa
Sheraton Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa At Keauhou Bay Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing