We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Nearby Hotels
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)
US$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$271
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$1,459
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,075
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,905)
Filter reviews
2,905 results
Traveller rating
852
1,026
584
283
160
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
852
1,026
584
283
160
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrays on the baybay restaurantmanta raykeauhou baythe big islandself parkinga mountain view roomfree trolleyocean frontbreakfast buffetcoffee shopgreat poolpoolside barpool sidepool staffoceanfront roombeautiful grounds
Filter
Updating list...
2,170 - 2,175 of 2,905 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We visited this hotel for our honeymoon last September. The staff is very helpful, and the restaurant is great! We normally don't eat in, but the hotel is a few minutes drive from Kailua, and my husband and I both wanted to have a drink. So we had dinner at Rays twice. The ahi was perfect! We will definately visit Hawaii again, and we will stay here for sure!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priscilla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Aloha Priscilla G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful Restaurant and helpful staff! We have recently brought in a new Chef at Rays on the Bay, who is crafting a new menu which speaks to our Big Island farm community and takes advantage of our abundance of fresh fish. We are so glad that you enjoyed his efforts!

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Sheraton Kona Resort and Spa in the future! Mahalo nui loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The Sheraton Kona Resort and Spa is about 15 minutes from the main town of Kona, away from the major stores, shops, and traffic, but it was quite difficult to actually find the place due to lack of signage. I had to pull out my google maps app. We pull in, Valet guys were nice, helpful and competent. At first glance, it's nice and clean on the outside and the lobby is decently decorated. I felt it could use more flowers and plants for being in Hawaii. For the most part the staff was friendly, but hard to find throughout the hotel unless we went to the lobby. Our room wasn't ready yet due to check in not being til 3:00pm. There is a 30$ resort fee which covered pretty much nothing I felt. I did not know free breakfast was offered as there was no information given in any of the brochures in the room.
Our room was on the 7th floor with the balcony facing the Kona mountainside and we could see the ocean sunset just outside the door in the outdoor hallway. The room was ok, pretty standard and rather small (we were expecting a little more extravagance because it was a Sheraton not a motel 6, but honestly I've stayed in some much nicer budget hotel chain rooms than the one we got.) The bathroom shower curtain smelled like moldy urine. The tub and tiles were pretty worn, there were black worn spots on the tub and the tile looked like it needed a good steam cleaning and possibly some new grout. The towels were soft. There were no robes or slippers offered. I guess we have been spoiled a bit with some of the other hotels in the Kohala area up north of Kona.
We decided to have lunch at the pool bar. I had some rather overcooked sliders, and my guest had a salad which was pretty good. The staff behind the bar were super friendly and really made us feel welcome. There was one young man who was part of the wait staff for the pool areas who had a really bad attitude, not toward us but as we were sitting at the bar he would come up to pick up drinks and all you could hear out of his mouth was "F-this and F-that" "this guy sucks and F-that". It was a little off putting and there were little kids everywhere! By this time, after a few pricey drinks (it's Hawaii, we get it, its going to be more expensive) we headed to the pool.
There are two pools, with two water slides which rather nice but the Flow is reallly off. It was difficult to get from one side to the other without walking through the bar and bumping into the chairs and tables with other guests trying to eat, and you are dripping soaking wet from the pool and avoiding other patrons and staff etc. It was just weirdly laid out. The outdoor pool with the larger water slide was rather loud as a bunch of kids were playing but that is to be expected. Its hot in Kona and the sun is rather bright and I'm pretty fair so I needed some shade and the umbrellas are fixed to the ground and the lounge chairs were all soooo close together it was crowded. The bathroom near the pool was gross. The floor was soaking wet, like pooling puddles and that to me is dirty and dangerous. A heavy duty waterproof floor mat at the entrance was badly needed. There seemed to be a lot of puddles everywhere especially after a rainfall which is understandable but the staff should be out mopping that up, if there's time to put 5 wet floor signs, there's time to get a mop and mop it up.
There were little cabanas that could be rented, but they didn't have much options for covering the top to get shade, only little curtains that sorta held the sun back. Maybe updating the cabanas a little to provide more shade would help sell them a little better. When I found an umbrella'd spot, a whole family of 6 came and gathered around me, and tho I really needed the shade, I felt that I should move so they could have that spot together. There was no real help with the pool staff on seating or arranging for comfort.
We were only allowed one towel each and they barely covered the lounge chair, so I was uncomfortable laying on part towel and part lounge chair that hundreds of scantily clad others had already laid on. I think possible lounge covers like some other resorts provide would be nice. The stairs to the water slide made me feel icky, i saw at least 3 bandaids and wondered when they had been washed down last. There was also mold in some of the wetter areas like under the water bridge and on some of the walls in various parts of the hotel.
The grounds were nice, there is a trail on the north side leading to the manta ray area and the wedding chapel but to the south side it was weird and stopped and we had to turn around, go through the outer pool area to get to the other side of the trail on the south side of the property. I felt that that there were NO benches or seats or areas for people to sit and enjoy the ocean, sunsets or just to gaze at the birds and mongoose running around. Its in Hawaii on the cliffside and we couldn't just sit and relax and take in the moment. I feel that is a big miss and an easy fix. There was a couple of tennis courts, basketball hoop, a sand volley ball area but no place to sit and watch or even rest. I just thought that was missing a big point.
Also the lighting at night was really cool with the torches but after i guess 10:00pm they put them out, I had friends who were smokers and had to go buy a flashlight so they could walk out to the smoking area, its a little scary, a few more solar lights available would help.
We did not need housekeeping, and wanted to be green with our towels as we were not staying the full week, and our friends did the same but they got a $5 per day coupon (good for use almost anywhere on the property) for not using housekeeping but we didn't and that bugged me a little bit as we didn't even get more water, coffee and soaps either. I'm sure if I pursued the matter, we would have gotten our coupons but we just didn't have the time by the time we checked out.
So basically that was our experience here. It was in Beautiful Hawaii, and we made the best of it because how could you not?

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kamij9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Aloha kamij,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feed back with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful grounds and friendly staff!

We sincerely apologize for the challenges that you experienced during your stay, and have shared this with our management staff. We have recently brought in a new Director of Engineering, who is currently reassessing our Resort maintenance needs. We have also tasked our Housekeeping team with addressing your concerns, as we strive to improve our guest services and create safer facilities for our guests.

Please also know that we are in the process of retraining all our staff with the most up-to-date Starwood Hotels and Resorts courses and programs; as well as reviewing the policies that are currently in use at our Resort. We truly value you and your business, and apologize that this was not reflected in our service to you.

Thank you again for your review. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to the beautiful Sheraton Kona Resort in the future. Mahalo nui loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Nice resort with a great pool and slide.
Great view from the restaurant on the bay with Manta Ray at night !
The "montain view" was rather a really nice bay view with a wonderful view on the Kona volcano in the morning.
It is better to have a car because the hotel is not near Kona city and shops.

Room Tip: The "montain view" was rather a really nice bay view with a wonderful view on the Kona volcano in the morning.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Car0coco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Aloha Car0coco,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful Resort and beautiful views! We are very proud of our Resort, and love to share this with our guests!

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the beautiful Sheraton Kona Resort in the future! Mahalo nui loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here for the Ironman as it seemed to be relatively close and we found a reasonable rate on-line. We were very pleased with the property, the rooms and the service. We had breakfast included which was in the main dining are server buffet style but with a variety of eggs, omelets to order, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, veggies, rice, breads, juices and pancakes - not to mention the coffee. For a family the pool is ideal with the big slide for both the big and small kids on your family. I enjoyed the slide. It is about 6 miles - 12 minutes from downtown Kona, but for the Ironman, we did not have an issues going into town and finding parking both the before the race and the day of the race. We had a late flight, so we check out and they let us use the pool and then a hospitality room for 30 minutes so we could shower before heading to the airport.

The only negatives I would say is the toilets were very industrial and the hallways were a bit noisy - one night it seemed like groups were coming a going as I heard the slamming doors.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiamiBeachExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Aloha MiamiBeachExplorer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We are so pleased to hear that your enjoyed our wonderful Resort and facilities!

We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us, and have shared your concerns with our management staff. We have recently brought in a new Director of Engineering, who is reassessing our Resort maintenance needs as we strive to improve our guest services.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the beautiful Sheraton Kona Resort in the future! Mahalo nui loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The Sheraton at Keauhou Bay has a great location south of Kailua/Kona. Close enough to do all of the tourist things yet away from the hustle and bustle of Kona. It is also a short drive from there to The Painted Church and the Place of Refuge. We had an ocean front room with a view of Keauhou Bay and Manta Rays swimming at night. The room was clean, well appointed, but slightly dated. We stayed three nights and the elevator in our wing was out of service the entire time we were there. The grounds and pool areas were nicely maintained and the staff was courteous and helpful. We swam with the Manta Rays (an awesome experience) one evening and the boat dock for the excursion was a short stroll from our Hotel. Definitely check your bill upon check out as we discovered a dinner charged to our room when we never dined in the hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: Ocean front is definitely worth the extra charge.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Aloha wmikek,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful location and beautiful facilities!

We sincerely apologize for the challenges that you experienced during your stay, and have shared this with our management team. Please know that we are in the process of retraining all our staff with the most up-to-date Starwood Hotels and Resorts courses and programs, in an effort to improve our guest services. We also have a new Director of Engineering, who is currently reassessing the Resorts maintenance needs.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the beautiful Sheraton Kona Resort! Mahalo nui loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews