We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed at Sheraton for 4 days. Great room with view of mountains and ocean. Staff very good with great breakfast. The gardens are spectacular to wander around in but could use a bit more directional signage. The only thing they could so better is have the coffee shop open until at least 6pm as it is only open for breakfast so no good coffee to be had anywhere after that ( if you prefer espresso that is). Pool side bar is great for light lunch and good drinks, very reasonable price.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Aloha Andrea H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful Resort and wonderful staff!

We have shared your comments with our management team, and are hoping to extend the hours of our wonderful Keauhou Coffee Company. We are also currently reassessing our Resort needs, and are looking at adding signage around our grounds.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the beautiful Sheraton Kona Resort in the future! Mahalo nui loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,952 - 1,958 of 2,677 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

We arrived on 23rd of October 2013, on our wedding anniversary. We enjoyed our stay. Our first lunch by the pool closer to the Ocean was made perfect by Rose the waitress. I enjoyed the virgin pinacalada. Our Dinner the next evening was also made fantastic by the Waitress Janie. We enjoyed the Lu'Au organized for us. Trolley was reliable. Garry from proposed a good Helicopter tour for us. Unfortunately, I didn't see him in person. He suggested this to my wife. I also like our breakfast as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GBEFALOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Aloha GBEFALOR,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! As we strive towards our goal of excellence in customer service, it is wonderful to be able to share the positive comments from our valued guests with our staff!

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the beautiful Sheraton Kona Resort in the future! Mahalo nui loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I would like to start by saying I searched many hotels and read allot of reviews. How anyone could write a bad review on this hotel is beyond me. My wife and I stayed at the Sheraton in Kona for 9 nights, The staff could not have been better we were treated like family!!! Grayden the ambassador went above and beyond, He is also a professional musician and played a couple of nights we were there go see him he is awesome!!! The entire staff from Tanni the front desk Mgr to Matt a bellman that went out of his way to get napkins for my wife and I, It is truly the little things that make a big difference. The property is beautiful in a beautiful setting with everything you could ever ask for. I have traveled allot in my time and never written a review good or bad, but we had such a good time at this hotel I felt obligated. We did upgrade to an ocean front room 2416 loved it!!!! We could sit on our balcony at night and listen to the live entertainment and watch the Manta Rays swim. The pool is awesome was not very crowded at all. The resort fee I knew going in and had no problem paying. The hotel offers daily activities such as morning Yoga, (Even if you do not do yoga you will enjoy!!) Lei making, Ukulele lessons (given by Grayden), You should do this as well it was a lot of fun. If you are looking for 5 star service with beautiful surroundings you have to pick this hotel!!! My wife and I will return many times in the future!!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to ocean front ask desk to look at room and then decide which one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SmithS2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Aloha SmithS2222,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We are very proud of our beautiful Resort and wonderful staff, and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us!

As we strive towards our goal of excellence in customer service, it is wonderful to be able to share such positive feedback with our team members. In particular, our Ho'okipa Ambassadors will be pleased to hear that their recent addition to our welcome experience has made such a wonderful impact with our guests.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa in the future! Mahalo nui loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The hotel could use a cosmetic upgrade. The pools are beautiful and not crowded when we were there. The grounds are magnificent. There is no beach front with the hotel, but that is not unusual for the area. There are plenty of public areas for swimming nearby. Great place for kids. The best for us was the restaurant; Rays on the bay.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Aloha jon I,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed our beautiful grounds and wonderful Restaurant!

We have recently brought in two new local chef's, who are dedicated to taking advantage of our Big Island farm community and abundance of fresh fish. We love to hear that their new vision is positively impacting our guests!

Thank you again for your review! We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa in the future! Mahalo nui loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The hotel
It is an older hotel with no beach.
There are two pools. One is totally surrounded by the hotel buildings and the other, complete with large water slide (and noisy kids), is situated next to the ocean. Even though there were a lot of sun loungers/chaise packed quite closely together, there was very little shade (I seem to recall only about 6 fixed straw ‘umbrellas’) and so we didn’t spend any time there. Adjustable umbrellas are sorely needed.

The room
We paid extra for an ocean front room but when we checked in, the room was about 200 ft from the ocean across the lawn, with a wall from the neighboring room jutting out about 10 feet and obscuring some view (look at the hotel’s photos – the rooms are staggered) and had a palm tree close by. The girls at reception were extremely helpful and immediately found us a different room which was about 20 ft from the water’s edge with an unobstructed ocean view so we could sleep with the windows open to hear the waves. That was lovely.

If you are not happy with the initial room, it is better to ask to be moved rather than let it spoil the vacation!

The only negative was that the balconies have high, barstool-type chairs (not a lounger/chaise) so you sit perched high and gaze over the concrete wall but don’t have anywhere to lay and read a book in comfort apart from on your bed.

Manta Rays
The restaurant Rays on the Bay is adjacent to the water with flood lights which attract the large Manta rays at night. Talks are held most nights around 7pm and it is possible to watch the rays whilst you have a drink at the rail.
Each evening, a number of boats disgorge countless snorkelers and scuba divers very close to shore to swim with the Mantas . It is an absolute circus to watch (I found it somewhat disturbing) but, after the boats have left, you can continue to watch the rays from the bar area or, if you have a room in the wing above the restaurant, you can watch them from your balcony.
The bar itself is very pleasant with burning tiki lamps, fire pits (which can be reserved for up to 2 hours) and a variety of comfortable chairs / benches, in addition to the regular tables and stools.
There was also excellent live music each evening until around 9.30pm with a different band each day.

Restaurant
We went there on the first night and the hostess was very rude. When we were finally seated, the food was mediocre at best. We didn’t eat there again.
There are a number of restaurants in the Keauhou shopping center just a few minutes drive up the road (Royal Thai, Sam Choys, Kenichi sushi, Mexican, BBQ…). La Bourgogne (Excellent French restaurant) is also a little further afield.

Breakfast buffet
This was included in our room rate and was pretty decent, with an omelet station. The room where it was held overlooked the lush grounds, wedding chapel and grass area. It was quite different to the other parts of the hotel and was very pleasant to walk around the paths.

Concierge
Gary the concierge was excellent and gave us a number of very good suggestions from his local perspective. Some of the places we would have driven straight by if he hadn’t told us!
The day we were leaving to drive to a different part of the island, he even helped us plan our route and marked places of interest along the way.
It was refreshing to meet someone who was friendly, professional and not just looking to send us to places where he would get a kick back.

All in all, for the price we paid, I would stay there again (with the right room)!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 92,075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Aloha 92075,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our helpful front desk and concierge staff!

We sincerely apologize for the challenges that you experienced during your stay, and have shared this with our management staff. Please know that we have initiated a preventative maintenance program recently which was not in place previously. This process is a complete strategic engineering and housekeeping overhaul of every room to ensure our final product is in perfect condition. We have also just finished our strategic plan for our capital re-investment into the hotel which will target high impact portions of the resort to bring more life and TLC to the resort. We plan to start on all major projects by months end.

We are also in the process of completely retraining all our staff with the most up-to-date Starwood Hotels and Resorts training courses and programs such as; WELCOME, the ABC’s of Housekeeping, StarGuest Global Personalization, Voice, Guest Expectation, etc.

Thank you again for your review. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back in the future! Mahalo nui loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The hotel is quite old and not really nice looking.
The rooms are OK, but bring a torch as you'll not find the card-reader for the room key as the lights on the floors are terrible dark.
Our room was just next to the ice machine and it was loud when someone took some ice out.

The pool is ONLY 3 feet deep!?!??
And you have to wear all the time a wristband that indicates that you are a guest of the hotel which is odd.
There is no beach, but you can walk 0.3 miles to the nearby small bay. There is a small park where some locals are also swimming in the sea.

In the evening, there are some boats just in front of the hotel where snorkelers and divers are watching the manta rays. There is also a platform from the hotel where you SHOULD see the manta rays, but you'll not see it... Go for one of the adventures and snorkel with them yourself.. it is worth.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheKringel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Aloha TheKringel,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We truly appreciate your insight and are working towards addressing all of your concerns. Starwood Hotels and Resorts recently returned to management of the resort and we are aggressively making changes to the overall guest experience.

We have initiated a preventative maintenance program recently which was not in place previously. This process is a complete strategic engineering and housekeeping overhaul of every room to ensure our final product is in perfect condition. We have also just finished our strategic plan for our capital re-investment into the hotel which will target high impact portions of the resort to bring more life and TLC to the resort. We plan to start on all major projects by months end. Please know we are also in the process of completely retraining all our staff with the most up-to-date Starwood Hotels and Resorts training courses and programs such as; WELCOME, the ABC’s of Housekeeping, StarGuest Global Personalization, Voice, Guest Expectation, the FARWEL, etc. Our new motto is “Get to Yes”, and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with this service on a future stay.

Thank you again for your review. Mahalo nui loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Like a bad movie you have to sit through to the end. Couldn't wait to get out of the place.

Takes the prize for the most confusing room numbering system in the world. You will be lost trying to find your room, the system makes no logical sense. Have them draw it on a map, or have staff take you there.

A tired relic of some bad architects 1970's magazine style fad. It probably should be torn down and rebuilt as it is a beautiful location, if you don't have one of the parking lot rooms.

Other choices better.

Like a really bad B movie.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Cruizinquick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Aloha Cruizinquick,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We truly appreciate your insight and are working towards addressing all of your concerns. Starwood Hotels and Resorts recently returned to management of the resort and we are aggressively making changes to the overall guest experience.

Please know that we have initiated a preventative maintenance program recently which was not in place previously. This process is a complete strategic engineering and housekeeping overhaul of every room to ensure our final product is in perfect condition. We have also just finished our strategic plan for our capital re-investment into the hotel which will target high impact portions of the resort to bring more life and TLC to the resort. We plan to start on all major projects by months end.

Thank you again for your review. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to the Sheraton Kona Resort. Mahalo nui loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
6.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
6.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,937 reviews
25.9 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
28.0 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Address: 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2525 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#6 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: £147 - £349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the diversity of Hawaii's Big Island with family and friends at Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa. From stargazing atop majestic Mauna Kea to tours of nearby Kona Coffee farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort And Spa
Sheraton Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa At Keauhou Bay Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing