We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, well kept, older property - great staff, very relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed here Dec. 1-5, 2013 and loved it. Won this hotel on Priceline and it was excellent value at that price. Super nice staff, very accommodating - requested anything but a parking lot view and got nice partial ocean view with lovely view of manicured gardens/grounds. They also accommodated my request for late check-out (6pm) so I could enjoy the pool one more afternoon before my flight back to Alaska.
The food and service at Ray's was excellent - we chose a "tall table" in the bar area that had the best view of the Manta Rays feeding at night, just off-shore. The breakfast restaurant is buffet only and not really worth the $25 price, but it is convenient. There are several good restaurants options within a ten-fifteen minute drive. For breakfast, a 15 minute drive south is the Coffee Shack - crazy good food, insanely beautiful views.
The pool areas are great, fairly quiet and plenty of chairs, towels. The grounds at this hotel are flat gorgeous. The staff was outstanding, everyone smiles and is helpful. The Kona area is quite spread out so you need a car but the hotel is so relaxing, one day we didn't leave the resort at all.
As mentioned by many reviewers, the property is older, the bath fixtures a bit dated, but very well maintained and staff fantastic. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Beg or pay for anything but the parking lot view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iceman41ak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Aloha Iceman41ak,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful Resort and friendly staff! We take great pride in our service and culture, and greatly appreciate your positive comments!

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa in the future. Mahalo nui loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,938 - 1,944 of 2,698 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

We came here hoping for more, but expecting less. We stayed on points for five nights and tried to use our Suite Night Upgrade, but they were not able to accommodate us. However, they did put us in an amazing room where we could watch the Manta Rays from our Lanai at night. We were also close to Ray's which has nightly live music. We loved being able to watch the Manta Rays and listen to the music. We could not hear the music in the room with the door closed.

The room is normal enough with a comfortable bed. The lanai is not large but plenty big for two with a table and two chairs. The WiFi is kind of iffy and a hassle to connect on Androids, but does work at least most of the time after you figure it out. If you cannot connect, forget the network and try again. They also gave us complimentary valet parking since we are Platinum members. The only real gotcha is that they told my wife that a breakfast buffet was $10 per person since we were Platinum. It cost us $45 for two breakfasts. We didn't go back. We did a snorkeling trip leaving from Keauhou Bay, which is just a short walk from the hotel. Yuki our concierge was very nice and booked this trip and a Manta Ray trip up by the Airport which was incredible. One day leaving the resort, we saw two mongoose playing in the road. We stopped and one went one way, the second went to the other side. They are so fuzzy looking and cute. Watch out for them.











Normally, the $30 resort fee would be an automatic 1 star deduction for me, but the room more than made up for it.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Aloha Widget-Remo,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our unique Manta Ray views and wonderful location near Keauhou Bay!

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay, and have shared this with our management team. Please know that we are currently reviewing options to upgrade our WIFI service, to enhance our guests experiences. We are also in the the process of completely retraining all our staff with the most up-to-date Starwood Hotels & Resorts policies and procedures, and apologize that you were given conflicting information during your stay.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Kona Resort in the future. Mahalo nui loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

If you take the average of the pleasant and no so pleasant reviews in the forum, it pretty much sums it up...average.

Not so pleasant review:
1. I booked a partial sea view room and whenI stood in the middle of the room and looked out, I got mountain view. Then when we step on to the balcony, I saw car park, the structure of the port-corchere, and had to look past it to have a glimpse of the sea. See the picture attached and you'll see what I mean. I was disappointed with the classification of the room I booked and got. My advice, pay for the garden view and ask for rooms that faces the lawn.

2. We ordered ice coffee by the pool and the it came with granulated sugar on the side instead of sugar syrup.

3. Buffet breakfast was a tad disappointing too.

The nice part:
1. the setting was really nice.
2. generally the staff are pleasant.
3. Jim and the lady who sold us the luau tickets were really friendly and informative.
4. although the property was a little old, it's pretty much well kept. Room was decent.

Put it this way, this is a Starwood category 5 hotel, and in Asia, a Starwood category 2 or 3 would beat this hotel hands down.

Room Tip: Pay for garden view, ask for those faces the lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 74salt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Aloha LUXXX,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful grounds and friendly staff!

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay, and have shared your valuable comments with our management team. We have recently brought in two new chefs, who are in the process of reviewing the menus in all our restaurants. They are excited to utilize more of our local farm and sea amenities, and are creating innovative new offerings that will improve and enhance our guests experiences.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa in the future. Mahalo nui loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed in this Hotel Jun, 2011. Great location, spacious and great landscape surroundings and kept some of the original lava setting, one could take a walk around the property and be in awe with nature right there in the Hotel's out environments. The water slide kept children busy having fun.
Good variety of food for break fast, I wished they had the croissants warm but there's plenty of other choices just pastry's my fave. Staff's friendly only one breakfast happened to be one short temper girl because I preferred not to share the table however I's willing to wait till a table for two was ready. I only had one dinner in the main restaurant and the risotto was quite salty. Otherwise good experience and cleanness overall.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katerina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Aloha Katerina B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful Resort and friendly staff!

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay, and have shared this with our management team. Please know that we are in the process of completely retraining all our staff with the most up-to-date Starwood Hotels & Resorts policies and courses. We are also reviewing the menus at all our Restaurants, to improve and enhance our guest's experiences.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa in the future. Mahalo nui loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This is a beautiful spot if you don't require a sandy beach. The ocean view rooms such as mine are on lava rocks with the beautiful sight and sound of waves crashing and spewing foam into the air. Rooms are large and well furnished and there are shops, two enormous pools, a nice breakfast room, meeting rooms, an outdoor bar, manta rays that swim under your windows at night and a nice setting.

The hotel charges a $30 a day resort fee. That's a lot of money but you get a daily newspaper, 30 minutes a day free calls to the mainland (not such a big deal since the days of cell phones), parking, good wi-fi in all the rooms and free use of the Kona Shuttle, a little open air trolley type bus that goes downtown and makes many stops at stores and beaches and normally costs $2 each way.

The breakfast was beautiful and I think probably included in most guests' room rates. About half the guests are Japanese so there are interesting Japanese foods as well and you can eat indoors or outdoors overlooking the bay.

The fancy hotels are 30 miles north on the Kohala coast but if you want luxury closer to Kona, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: I enjoyed looking at the ocean. There are pool view rooms that are probably quite nice. Every room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orindaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Aloha Orindaguy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful Resort during your recent stay! We hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa in the future! Mahalo nui loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The pool and poolside restaurant were amazing (coconut smoothies and fish tacos)! Eat the poke at Ray's on the Bay. Resort activities were fun. The staff were so helpful in planning offsite visits. There is no beach onsite, but the hotel runs a free shuttle to the ones nearby. We thoroughly enjoyed the luau entertainment, but the food was not as tasty as I had hoped.

Room Tip: You can get away with ocean view if you are facing the bay side. Might save a few dollars that way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Aloha Sann K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feed back with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful Resort and helpful staff!

We sincerely appreciate your comments, and have shared this with our management team. Please know that we have recently brought in two new chefs who are committed to fully utilizing items from our local farm and sea communities in a new menu.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the beautiful Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa in the future! Mahalo nui loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in November which was a great time to go, not too many people around but not too few either.

Service: Fantastic. Every single person was helpful, nice and considerate. Housekeeping were great except one of the days they left our tip on the counter and didn't replace our water bottles, but still made everything up which was weird, they didn't leave a note or anything. I'd like to think they ran out of water and felt bad taking our tip... not sure what happened. Other than that, their service was great.

Atmosphere & Surrounds: This resort has a nice casual feel to it, fantastic, huge pool area with 2 jacuzzis which looks out over the ocean and a superb pool bar and amazing grounds & landscaping. Just watching the surf crash into the volcanic rock cliffs is relaxing. There isn't a beach here but the pool area is good enough if you have a rental car to drive to some of the beaches further north (we went to Hapuna beach - awesome).

Food/Convenience: While the pool bar is great for beers/cocktails and light food, the more formal dining option is Rays on the bay - excellent service and very good food, not a huge menu though and price was slightly higher than we were used to. They also have live entertainment every night and what looked like a pretty good bar. Next door to Rays is Ainakai, where breakfast is served. It's about what you'd expect, except they have a chef making omelets to order which were pretty good. There is also a cafe/coffee shop near the lobby for breakfast/lunch which we didn't try. Apart from these there isn't any other food establishments on the property or in the immediate vicinity. There are a few nice places at the Keauhou shopping center which is about 20 minutes walk (2 minute drive) past the small harbor and up the hill. We did this once to soak up the atmosphere and grab a few things from the supermarket. If you don't have a rental car, this is an option for shopping/supermarket etc but I wouldn't recommend it - it's hot! You could also take the trolley, which is free if you are a guest at the Sheraton. One restaurant we particularly liked was Sam Choy's but there are a few others here if you don't want to eat at the Pool Bar or Rays.

Rooms: We had a partial ocean view which had a nice view of the grounds a bit of ocean and a nice big 'Lanai' (deck) - it looked like all rooms had these in varying sizes. To be honest, the room was pretty good but a few things weren't perfect. When I booked this resort I had researched it quite thoroughly and got what I expected. What it comes down to is that the place is old. They've dressed her up pretty nicely, but at the end of the day, she's an old girl who is showing her age in some areas. Examples of this include the lock on our sliding door to the deck felt well worn and tricky to lock and unlock, light stains on the bath tub, and the guest (coin operated) laundry was in a dark, dingy room with no air con etc. Having said that, I didn't really care about these things. The bed was comfy, we had nice furniture & TV and plenty of space.

I gave this 4 stars because the rooms could have been a bit better (although they were what I expected) and also the resort fee. I dislike this practice a lot. Just increase the price of the room and include the extra services in that. When I book through a travel agent, I don't want to have to then be budgeting for parts of my accommodation to be paying later on. I want to pay for it and be done with it. It's inconvenient and unnecessary and it feels dishonest on the part of the resort. One final thing I didn't really like was being asked to prove I was a hotel guest when swimming in the pool after hours. The pool shop closes at about 7, but the pool stays open later. You have to get a wristband from the pool shop when you go in the pool, but we couldn't because it was closed. The security staff were quite apologetic about having to ask us and I felt sorry for the guy awkwardly interrupting us in the jacuzzi to see if we really were guests. I guess they have to do this somehow, otherwise anyone could just come wandering in but I'm sure they could some up with a better way than this - maybe swiping your room key in a special reader for after hours?

To summarize: If you are the sort of person who can't get past a bit of wear and tear, or needs to enjoy doing their laundry in a nice spacious, air conditioned room for 30 minutes of their otherwise perfect holiday, then don't stay here. Pay more and go somewhere brand new. If you don't mind these things (like me), then you'll see the value of this resort and enjoy it very much. The upside of being an older, less pretentious resort is that the people here were all so relaxed. There weren't any snobby kids screaming in the pool area, the staff were very genuine, and the whole atmosphere was so chilled. It's a peaceful, beautiful place with excellent service and a nice casual vibe. Would 100% stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanTheKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Aloha DanTheKiwi,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful Resort and friendly staff!

We sincerely appreciate your comments, and have shared this with our team. As we have recently undergone a management transition, we are constantly searching for ways to enhance our Resort and amenities, and improve our guest experiences.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa in the future! Mahalo nui loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
6.1 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,959 reviews
25.9 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
28 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Address: 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2525 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#6 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: £166 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the diversity of Hawaii's Big Island with family and friends at Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa. From stargazing atop majestic Mauna Kea to tours of nearby Kona Coffee farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort And Spa
Sheraton Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa At Keauhou Bay Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing