We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brookfield, Wisconsin
1 review
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed for 7 nights, 11/29-12/6/13 - we loved that there are 2 pool areas, tons of seating and great service by the staff at the bar. The room was large, clean and the bed very comfortable. The bath fixtures are a little dated, but to me that isn't a big deal. The Wi-fi was a little weak, but we were still able to run our businesses while on vacation without too much of a problem. I agree, the price of the food on-site was very high....$8 for a egg & sausage biscuit from the coffee shop, $25 for a breakfast buffet, $85 for the Luau & so on....but I came to expect that from almost any place on the Island - even McDonald's was about twice what we would spend here in WI. The only "problem" we had was that our first room (partial ocean) had an adjoining room & the lock on our side didn't work. I brought it to the attention of the desk & since they couldn't get someone to fix it immediately, they gave us an upgrade to another room (full ocean). It was a pain to move our stuff, but totally worth the view once we were there. The staff was great - very friendly and responsive. I would definitely recommend this place to friends and family!

Room Tip: Higher floors for full & partial ocean view will guarantee no obstruction from palm trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMP428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Aloha KMP428,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful Resort and helpful staff!

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced during your stay, and have shared your valuable comments with our management team. Please know that we are in the process of reviewing options to upgrade our WIFI system, so that we may enhance our guests experience in this area.

While we were not able to immediately repair your door, we are glad to hear that your issue was resolved to your satisfaction. This is a great testament to our new service culture of "Get to Yes"!

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the beautiful Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa in the future. Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    849
    454
    207
    116
See reviews for
625
1,208
87
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (796)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

If you want a stand alone resort, this may work for you. I did not like feeling captive here. Service at the dinner restaurant was pitiful. The breakfast buffet is way overpriced and there were ants crawling all over the wall next to our table which totally ruined my appetite. Rooms are large but feel dated. We also had problems with the wifi - had to call and have them reboot the entire system.

Room Tip: Ocean views are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liuclam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Aloha liuclam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced, and have shared your valuable comments with our management staff. We have recently brought in two new chefs, who are in the process of creating innovative new menus, which take advantage of our local farm and sea communities. In addition, we are currently reviewing options to upgrade our WIFI system, to improve and enhance our guests experience in this area.

Please also know that we are in the process of completely retraining all our staff with the most up-to-date Starwood Hotels & Resort policies and courses. We apologize that your expectations were not met during this stay, and hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

This seems like it probably used to be a nice hotel at some point but has been poorly maintained and managed. If you like cruise ships or all inclusive resort packages, the Sheraton will offer the same giant, impersonal experience, but without the free food or drinks. In fact, it might be ideal if you have kids and want to spend a lot of your time by the pool. It wasn't all bad, but the cons far outweigh the pros for me:

PROS

The pool is great. It's really big with separate sections for kids, and there are two hot tubs. The lobby is also really nice.

The balconies are large and private, and ours had a table and two chairs on it.

CONS

Service was terrible everywhere except the breakfast buffet restaurant. We reserved a King room, ocean view, but when we arrived, the front desk lady said they only had rooms left with two full-sized beds. it's annoying to have my feet hanging off the bed at night, particularly when we paid for a king-sized bed. The staff was not very apologetic about not having our reserved room type available, and they wouldn't check to see if one would open up the next day, even when we asked. At least the mattress and pillow were comfortable.

The bathroom was extremely dated, and had a toilet with a handle like in public restrooms, where you can flush it with your foot. Not classy, but not a big deal.

The mandatory $31.25 per night resort fee allegedly includes free wifi, which would have been useful if it worked, especially to look for restaurants that would allow us to avoid eating at the Sheraton. In all the times I tried to use the wifi over the course of four days, it only connected once, for a grand total of two minutes. I know this because I was excited when it finally connected and tried to watch a 3-minute video, but didn't make it to the end before it disconnected. I once called guest services to tell them the wifi wasn't working, and the person there wouldn't even talk to me. She immediately said she couldn't help me and transferred me to "tech support" which is not anyone who works at the hotel but Time Warner cable/internet customer service. After being on hold with them for a few minutes I realized how ridiculous it would be for me to spend time on my vacation talking to Time Warner, so I gave up, and it was clear they wouldn't have been able to help me anyway. They do have public computers for use on the ground floor, which are painfully slow and for some reason block Yahoo mail as an "adult" site, but it's better than nothing.

The breakfast buffet was included in my rate. The food was OK, but the restaurant is open air on one side and birds fly in and out a LOT, landing on tables, and eating off plates as soon as people get up. Is this not a health code violation? The first day, we sat by the window, but after a few near misses from birds, we stayed as far away from the windows as possible for the other days.

The location is not terrible, but it's not on the beach, and you have to drive to get anywhere.

Also included in our rate was a "welcome gift", which wasn't provided. It wasn't a big deal, but we asked about it upon checkout since the hotel didn't give us anything or mention it. The girl checking us out claimed that we weren't entitled to any gift, and we literally had to show her the hotel confirmation that indicated that we were. She showed it to her manager, which took a couple of minutes, and then conceded that we were allowed to get the gift. It was a tiny bag of sea salt. Why were they being so protective of this tiny tiny bag of salt? Why be so argumentative about the "welcome gift" when it's literally just a plastic baggy filled with salt?

As you can probably tell, I will try to avoid this hotel in the future and don't recommend it. It wasn't the worst hotel I've stayed in, but it was definitely the worst Sheraton I've stayed in, and there are plenty of other options in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nafa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RNewton5, Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Aloha nafa2,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and your powerful review. Your gift of feedback is something we take very seriously here at the Sheraton Kona and we will be reviewing your comments today in our operational focus meeting to help us improve. Starwood recently returned to management of the property and we are moving quickly on service enhancements. If we may respond to some of your comments:

No words can express my disappointment in our staff’s inability to satisfy your needs and their service delivery during your stay. Please know we are in the process of completely retraining all our staff with the most up-to-date Starwood Hotels and Resorts training courses and programs such as; WELCOME, the ABC’s of Housekeeping, StarGuest Global Personalization, Voice, Guest Expectation, the FARWEL, etc. Our new motto is “Get to Yes” which obviously we did not and for this we are sorry.

We have recently initiated a preventative maintenance program which was not in place previously. This process is a complete strategic engineering and housekeeping overhaul of every room to ensure our final product is in perfect condition.

As for WIFI, unfortunately, the building was built prior to there even being a notion of personal computers or cell phones. Now everyone has at least three to four devises during their stay. We are working with our internet provider to place and replace access points in each room to eliminate the issue and moving to a 5 x 1 solution for speed with increased download/upload times.

Like most hotels here in Hawaii, we have bundled all our ancillary charges into one simple resort charge instead of applying many different charges. We feel the daily water, internet, parking, 60 minute calls, trolley, and cultural programs are a tremendous value and end up saving our guests when looking at it holistically. These charges are never hidden and fully disclosed on through all our channels and business partners.

The Big Island of Hawaii does not have many natural beaches. What we do have here at the Sheraton Kona is the amazing Keauhou Bay and all the activities coming right out of the bay including; snorkel tours, kayaking adventures, manta dives, dolphin expeditions, and deep sea fishing to name just a few… Hopefully you had a chance to explore and enjoy these one of a kind adventures.

Mahalo again for your stay and insight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed. Lovely views over the bay. Big room very comfortable. Food in the restaurant was good too and very pleasant staff. Worth a go. Only problem is no easy access to other shops etc. but busses or taxis will solve that.

Room Tip: Ask for sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dancerstansted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Aloha dancerstansted,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful views and friendly staff! We take great pride in our service and amenities, and sincerely appreciate your valuable feedback!

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa in the future. Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

WiFi at this hotel sucks badly...and hotel made zero effort to fix it! They charge $30 a night resort fee which includes internet service but you cannot use the internet!!! I complained couple of times but hotel made no effort to fix the issue. All they needed to do is install a WiFi range extender in the room, which costs no more than $20. Avoid this place if you are on business.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Rus008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RNewton5, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Aloha Rus008,
This magnificent building was built prior to there even being a thought of a personal computer let alone smart phones. These days there are, on average, 5 devices per room. We are working with our WiFi provider to enhance the individual routers (which is the solution in place as you correctly suggest) in each room to eliminate the issue and move to a 5 x 1 solution for speed which will increase download/upload times. There is also on site our "Link @ Sheraton powered by Microsoft" which allows guests free internet, WiFi, and printers 24/7.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed here Dec. 1-5, 2013 and loved it. Won this hotel on Priceline and it was excellent value at that price. Super nice staff, very accommodating - requested anything but a parking lot view and got nice partial ocean view with lovely view of manicured gardens/grounds. They also accommodated my request for late check-out (6pm) so I could enjoy the pool one more afternoon before my flight back to Alaska.
The food and service at Ray's was excellent - we chose a "tall table" in the bar area that had the best view of the Manta Rays feeding at night, just off-shore. The breakfast restaurant is buffet only and not really worth the $25 price, but it is convenient. There are several good restaurants options within a ten-fifteen minute drive. For breakfast, a 15 minute drive south is the Coffee Shack - crazy good food, insanely beautiful views.
The pool areas are great, fairly quiet and plenty of chairs, towels. The grounds at this hotel are flat gorgeous. The staff was outstanding, everyone smiles and is helpful. The Kona area is quite spread out so you need a car but the hotel is so relaxing, one day we didn't leave the resort at all.
As mentioned by many reviewers, the property is older, the bath fixtures a bit dated, but very well maintained and staff fantastic. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Beg or pay for anything but the parking lot view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iceman41ak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Aloha Iceman41ak,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful Resort and friendly staff! We take great pride in our service and culture, and greatly appreciate your positive comments!

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa in the future. Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
145 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

We came here hoping for more, but expecting less. We stayed on points for five nights and tried to use our Suite Night Upgrade, but they were not able to accommodate us. However, they did put us in an amazing room where we could watch the Manta Rays from our Lanai at night. We were also close to Ray's which has nightly live music. We loved being able to watch the Manta Rays and listen to the music. We could not hear the music in the room with the door closed.

The room is normal enough with a comfortable bed. The lanai is not large but plenty big for two with a table and two chairs. The WiFi is kind of iffy and a hassle to connect on Androids, but does work at least most of the time after you figure it out. If you cannot connect, forget the network and try again. They also gave us complimentary valet parking since we are Platinum members. The only real gotcha is that they told my wife that a breakfast buffet was $10 per person since we were Platinum. It cost us $45 for two breakfasts. We didn't go back. We did a snorkeling trip leaving from Keauhou Bay, which is just a short walk from the hotel. Yuki our concierge was very nice and booked this trip and a Manta Ray trip up by the Airport which was incredible. One day leaving the resort, we saw two mongoose playing in the road. We stopped and one went one way, the second went to the other side. They are so fuzzy looking and cute. Watch out for them.











Normally, the $30 resort fee would be an automatic 1 star deduction for me, but the room more than made up for it.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Aloha Widget-Remo,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our unique Manta Ray views and wonderful location near Keauhou Bay!

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay, and have shared this with our management team. Please know that we are currently reviewing options to upgrade our WIFI service, to enhance our guests experiences. We are also in the the process of completely retraining all our staff with the most up-to-date Starwood Hotels & Resorts policies and procedures, and apologize that you were given conflicting information during your stay.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Kona Resort in the future. Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
6.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
31.7 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
32.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.8 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
28.0 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
27.6 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Property: Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Address: 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2525 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#6 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the diversity of Hawaii's Big Island with family and friends at Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa. From stargazing atop majestic Mauna Kea to tours of nearby Kona Coffee farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort And Spa
Sheraton Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa At Keauhou Bay Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing