We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not luxury, but very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersSilver level
Easton, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not luxury, but very nice”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon and we really enjoyed our stay.
Room: Everything about our room was updated and nice with the exception of the toilet/shower area of the bathroom, which looked outdated but was serviceable. We were upgraded to a room with a huge private balcony and a view of the bay, which was gorgeous.

Pool: The pool area was not the most insane/luxurious I've seen, but it was very nice. There was a towel service, and most of the pool has ocean views. (It's HUGE - sort of multiple pools than connect to one another -but the best part is by the ocean). We never had difficulty finding a chair, although we generally went out sightseeing during the day and returned to the hotel and pool in the late afternoon. The sun sets over the water, so you can see a great view from the pool - we enjoyed that several times. My husband also enjoyed the water slides! Note that in this area of Kona, the shore is rocky so there is no beach.

Restaurant options - We enjoyed the food and drinks at the pool bar, which unfortunately did not have a direct ocean view (that was saved for the seating around the pool), and closed at 5 (so not an option for dinner unless you like to eat early). The breakfast prices were outrageous so we left for our sightseeing and ate outside the hotel. We had drinks at Rays on the Bay and enjoyed the view of some huge waves!

Location - This is a short drive to the downtown Kailua-Kona area, which we enjoyed, a reasonable drive from the airport, and a somewhat long but do-able drive to the Hilo side of the island, which includes Volcanoes National Park. We drove over there twice and enjoyed our choice to stay in Kona but drive to Hilo side for sights. Note that the downtown area is NOT walkable - we rented a car.

Summary - Overall, this satisfied our expectations. When we arrived, it had the somewhat luxurious feel and view that we wanted; the rooms were great expect for the outdated bathroom which was still okay; the pool area was good and the view fantastic; and there were somewhat reasonable food options most of the time. We rented a car and were away from the hotel a lot of the time too, so I'm not sure how we wound have felt about it as a resort where we spent all of our time, but for how we planned our stay, it was a success! I did not rate Value b/c we booked it as part of a package with air travel, etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Aloha Heather W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful views and and Resort amenities!

We sincerely appreciate your review, and have shared this with our management team. As we strive to achieve excellence in customer service, we value your comments, and the opportunity to improve on our guest's experiences.

Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay! Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    907
    489
    223
    125
See reviews for
687
1,284
89
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (843)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We found the service friendly, the room comfortable and clean, the mountain/partial ocean view beautiful, and location on the lava rock bluff very nice. Amazing surf! We enjoyed watching the nightly appearance of rays swimming next to the rocks. The pool area is beautifully designed and jacuzzi really warm like it should be. I wish I had a chance to try out the water slide...looked really fun!

But, perhaps because of the cement construction and design of the building, noise transmits really well. Sounds like a train is coming down the hall when someone rolls a luggage rack on our floor or the floor above. Our room was several floors above the lobby entrance and if we chose to enjoy somewhat fresh air with the lanai door open we had to listen to constant lobby music, conversations, car engines, banging doors and often had car exhaust fumes drift in. I'd recommend if you stay here try to get a room as far from the lobby as possible.

I'm not sure of the smoking status of the rooms around us, but secondhand smoke would get thick on our lanai at night, another reason that we didn't want to open our lanai door even though I would have loved to have fresh tropical air in the room instead of AC.

Room Tip: Stay away from the lobby and main entrance if you want fresh air and a quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2flyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Aloha luv2flyak,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful views and friendly staff!

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay, and have shared this with our management team. Please know that we are reviewing our maintenance needs as we look for ways to improve our Resort and enhance our guest's experiences.

Thank you again for your review. We appreciate your comments and the opportunity to improve on our guest services. We hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Our stay was pleasant but a 10-y lack of maintenance makes me think this should be classified as a 3 star, not 4! Examples of problems: poor Internet connection, broken floor at main entrance, clogged drain in tube, poorly positioned shower (at just 1.6m height), no shower near the pool, old carpets, bad elevator signal (cannot see floor numbers), room numbers inconsistent with floor (eg room numbers on 5th floor begin with 4 / lobby on 2nd floor). Additionally they charge a mandatory 20 usd "resort fee" which should have been previously informed and included in room price. Positives: great landscape, beautiful pool, big rooms, friendly staff.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Aloha Ricardo C,

Thank you for taking for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and friendly staff!

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced, and have shared this with our management team. Please know that we are in the process of upgrading our WiFi system, and will have a more reliable connection in place soon. We have also initiated a preventative maintenance program recently which was not in place previously. This process is a complete strategic engineering and housekeeping overhaul of every room to ensure our final product is in perfect condition. In addition, our strategic plan for our capital re-investment into the hotel has been completed, and will target high impact portions of the resort to bring more life and TLC to the resort. We plan to start on all major projects by months end.

Thank you again for your review. We appreciate your comments, and the opportunity to improve on our guest's experiences. Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Arrived late at night and was not allowed to park at the guest check-in for even 2 minutes because "there wasn't enough room for other cars to get around" - yet you could have driven a bus through there. Upon checkin was told we had booked 2 double beds...which we had not...and that no upgrades were available. We were not told where to park or how to get to our room from the parking lot, and could not find any staff to send us in the right direction after we left our car.

After spending the night squished in our double bed together we awoke to a tour bus idling in the parking lot at 6 am. Next night - the couple above us apparently rearranging furniture until 7 in the morning. Next night - the staff dumping glass into the recycling - must have woken up the entire side of the building.

Resort fee of $30 covered parking and wifi - really? This is free at every hotel, everywhere. You got nothing for your fees.

The hotel looks nice and it's clean. That's the only good thing about it. Would never stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnyone79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Aloha sunnyone79,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so disappointed to hear of your experiences, and sincerely apologize for the inconveniences during your recent stay. Please know that we are in the process of completely retraining all our staff with the most up-to-date Starwood Hotels & Resorts courses and policies, including WELCOME, StarGuest Global Personalization, and Guest Expectations, and will certainly be addressing your comments with our team.

Thank you again for your review. We appreciate your time, and the opportunity to improve on our guest services. Mahalo nui loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We only stayed at the Sheraton for one night (we were on our way to the Hilo side), but enjoyed our time here. The rooms are roomy and clean (our room also had a huge balcony) and the lobby was beautiful. The pool area was nice (it had a waterfall and water slide) and not crowded (it was also a Monday, so that might be why). The hot tubs were open until 10pm, which was really nice to come back to after the manta ray night snorkel (the ocean water is cold!). The other person in my party didn't want to do the night snorkel, but the Sheraton was perfect because they had a great manta talk (about 30 minutes, led by a woman who was very enthusiastic and knowledgable about mantas) and you could see two mantas (just their outlines from that far away) from the viewing deck. During the day we rented snorkel equipment from the hotel (I believe it was $12/person), which was convenient. They don't have the size/brand selection like a dive shop, but it worked for us. All of the staff I encountered were very helpful and friendly. The only thing I can't recommend are the breakfast sandwiches from the coffee bar. We tried two kinds and both weren't very good.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank PiperNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Aloha PiperNYC,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable rooms and unique Manta Ray viewing experiences!

We sincerely appreciate your comments, and have shared this with our management team. We have recently brought in two new chefs, who are working to create innovative new menus for all of our Food & Beverage outlets on property. We hope to see you again in the future, to sample their new creations!

Thank you again for your review. We appreciate your comments, and hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay! Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The good: Location - Concierge Service - rental bikes and kayaks - Breakfast seating area - Gym (Very good actually) - bar ocean looking spot

The average: Breakfast buffet (no soy milk for 6 out of 7 days!!!!!?????) - free shuttle (more frequent arrivals would make it more practical) - bar (weak menu)

The bad - staff (nice but ineffective!!!! they will see they will look after your issues like bed setting and soy milk at breakfast but they DON't!!!!!!!!!!) - tired hotel building but can't do much about that

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ehsan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Aloha Ehsan V,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful views and helpful Concierge team!

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced, and have shared this with our management team. Please know that we are in the process of completely retraining all our staff with the most up-to-date Starwood Hotels & Resorts courses and policies, including StarGuest Global Personalization and Guest Expectations. We are so disappointed that we did not meet your expectations during your stay, and will use this as a training example as we strive to achieve customer service excellence.

Thank you again for your review. We appreciate your comments, and the opportunity to improve on our guest services. Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed at the Sheraton Keauhou Bay for most of the month of January 2014. It is one of our favorite places in the world!

This is the 2nd year in a row that we have come to the Sheraton Keauhou Bay for nearly a month. The staff, from top to bottom, are welcoming, helpful, efficient, guest-focused, and exude the Aloha Spirit!

The location is spectacular! On Keauhou Bay, the resort has water everywhere. We like being Oceanfront, so we get an up-close-and-personal relationship with the ever changing sea. Some days, it's gentle and calming, and other days, it's angry and violent. We love it! And it is literally 20 feet from our lanai!

We also love the marine life show from our lanai. We saw Humpback Whales almost every day. Sometimes they are breaching, sometimes they are flapping their fins or their tail, and sometimes you just get the blows. We also enjoy watching the Manta Rays that gather by Rays at the Bay almost every night to feed. Last night, there were 6 or 7 of them majestically gliding around and filter feeding. The wing span on these things can get up to 20 feet!

Lastly, we highly recommend you get a Room with Breakfast deal. The hotel does a huge buffet spread for breakfast with fruit, yogurt, cerals, breads and rolls, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, breakfast potatoes, and on and on. Plus, they have an omelet bar where you can get whatever kind of eggs you fancy. The setting and service are outstanding! It's a great way to start your day!

As you can tell, we highly recommend the Sheraton Keauhou Bay! Next year, we're coming back for 5-6 weeks!

Room Tip: We gotta do Oceanfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikie376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton K, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Aloha mikie376,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit at your "home away from home"!

As we continue to strive to achieve excellence in customer service, it is wonderful to receive such positive comments from our valued guests. We have been working hard to ensure that each of our guest's experiences exceeds their expectations, and our team will be delighted to hear that they succeeded during your stay!

Thank you again for your review. We appreciate your comments, and look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa next year! Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
6.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
31.7 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
32.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
5.3 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,847 reviews
28.0 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Property: Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Address: 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2525 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#6 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the diversity of Hawaii's Big Island with family and friends at Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa. From stargazing atop majestic Mauna Kea to tours of nearby Kona Coffee farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort And Spa
Sheraton Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa At Keauhou Bay Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing