We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, average rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My husband and I visited the Sheraton Kona on our honeymoon last week. The trip started out a little rocky, but ended well! They first "upgraded" us to a view of the parking lot on the second floor right next to the elevator which was loud all night. We then found a lizard in our room! They sent someone to catch it, but we were still uneasy staying in that room. We spoke with Veronica the next day who was AWESOME. She moved us to a room with a view of the bay, conveniently on the same floor as the lobby. From then on, our trip was great. The lobby is beautiful, there's plenty of activities and things to see, and the pool is beautiful! The bathrooms in the guest rooms could use a little updating, but other than that our stay was great. Thanks to Veronica!

Room Tip: Upgrading to an ocean view is worth it. "mountain view" and "partial ocean view"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank trucksr4girls8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKonaPR, Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for recently staying with us at the Sheraton Kona and for providing us with your valuable insight. We're so happy to learn that Veronica was able to assist you and help with your every need.

Being in the tropics, lizards and other pests are an ongoing issue for most hotels. We have our hotel on an aggressive remediation program with our national Starwood vendor Ecolab and do everything possible to stop their intrusion into the resort. We'll step up our efforts.

Should you wish to contact me directly, my email is kathryn.vanes@sheraton.com. Mahalo again for staying with us at the Sheraton Kona.

Regards,
Katie Vanes, PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,756)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,708 - 1,714 of 2,756 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

We selected this hotel for our Big Island vacation this year since Keauhou Beach Hotel closed last October. For the price, the Sheraton was very disappointing. Resort fee $30/day - for services that are standard in other Kona hotels. Roll-away bed is $65/day - again free at other hotels. Rooms need updating - low water pressure and weak air conditioning. Staff was friendly and nice, setting is good though a bit of a drive if you want to get food other than the very pricy hotel fair. Overall, I would expect more for a hotel of this quality, especially if you are paying a significant resort fee on top of your booking rate.

Room Tip: Most rooms have good view, so selecting one is not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKonaPR, Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Aloha Steve,

Thank you for recently staying here with us at the Sheraton Kona, and for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. I am sorry to hear that you had such a disappointing experience at our resort.

While we're glad to hear that the service was friendly, we're disappointed to hear that you were overall not satisfied. Regarding the resort charge, we have bundled all of our ancillary charges into one simple resort fee instead of applying many different charges. We feel that daily water, internet, parking, 60-minute calls, trolley and cultural programs are of tremendous value and end up saving guests time and money. These charges are never hidden and are fully disclosed on all of your channels -- if this wasn't the case, would you please email me at kathryn.vanes@sheraton.com so we may remedy the error? I would also like to discuss the other items with you personally.

Best regards,
Katie Vanes, PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I really don't have too much negative to say about this facility. The room, service and ammenities were generally good and the pricing was quite reasonable. It is located very near to a popular Kona beach with snorkeling, surfing, turtle watching, and other activities, and is very close to a local mall with a number of shops and restaurants.

I will say that the games in the games room (pool, fooseball, table tennis) were all quite old and in need or repair or replacement. None of the pool ques even had tips on them anymore and the ping pong table net was torn and the paddles were all plastic (no rubber face). Given the scale of the resort, and the minor cost of a couple of new pool ques, ping pong table, etc., I'm very surprised that they wouldn't just replace this stuff but I guess it's mostly kids who go in there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rantech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKonaPR, Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Aloha Rantech,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide this valuable insight. I've noted these comments about the recreational areas and will be sure to take this up with our cultural and activities management. Should you have any additional concerns, please feel free to email me directly at kathryn.vanes@sheraton.com

Sincerely,
Katie Vanes, PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Retro hawaiian hotel (old Kona Surf) with a good location. Definitely need car. Rooms clean, beds comfy. We had five and the suite worked well. Very nice roll out beds. Good view for oceanfront. Platinum Starwood benefits used including valet parking, half price cabana rental, 15% off food, free continental brekkie (or just $8 for full buffet). Have to admit, those items made me feel special. Quick massage outdoors was a first and lovely masseuse. Dinner overlooking beach/harbor had good food (poké great), breeze, view and music. All staff kind and accommodating. Nothing high end but all good and serviceable.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank upintheairmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKonaPR, Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Aloha upintheairmom,

Thank you so much for providing your valuable feedback on your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you were able to access great benefits as a Platinum Starwood member and that you enjoyed our newly revitalized menu at Rays on the Bay!

We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards,
Katie Vanes, PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed at the Sheraton Keauhou for a weekend trip in July. Great family friendly hotel. The pool was large with a small slide, two separate sections, a sandy area for smaller children, two hot tubs, and a large slide - the kids swam for the entire day.
Food at the restaurant was good (breakfast, lunch, dinner). The restaurant/bar "Rays on the Bay" overlooking the ocean was a great place to watch the sunset and see the mantas come out in the evening.
Rooms were clean and spacious. Staff were friendly and accommodating.
We enjoyed our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank al0ha808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKonaPR, Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Aloha808,

Mahalo for taking the time to give us a fantastic review -- we're so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Sheraton Kona, from the family-friendly activities to the delicious food at our various restaurants. We look forward to having you and your family back in Keauhou!

Regards,
Katie Vanes, PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Sheraton Kona resort for 2 nights at the end of a trip to the big island for a yoga retreat. I booked it on a quick whim to spend a few nights in Kona. My husband and I had been to the big island in August 2013 and loved the area. We stayed at the Hilton which was much better than the Sheraton. First con was the location. I was hoping to be closer to the main strip of Kona but this resort is far down the south side and not within walking distance or even a short drive to anything. Second was the rooms which are very outdated. I booked a garden room since it was last minute and I was traveling alone but it was on the 4th floor yet I still felt like I was in a basement bc it felt like a cement room with a very high wall on the patio and therefore didn't let much light in. Overall it was fine for a few nights away and is a decent middle of the road hotel but if I were to return to the area I would stay north at the Hilton again or one of the resorts on the northern part of Ali'i drive.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank utahlovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKonaPR, Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Aloha UtahLovin,

Mahalo for taking the time to share this feedback with us on TripAdvisor. I'm pleased to share with you that the Sheraton Kona recently received a revitalization, so it will be a whole new resort the next time you visit.

As for our location -- while we acknowledge that we are 15 minutes outside of town -- we have some great dining options here and plenty of activities to offer right here on Keauhou Bay! Were you able to take our complimentary cultural tour of our historic land? This is one of the most unique, authentic aspects of our resort. We are lucky to be right next to an old fishing village and additionally the birthplace of King Kamehameha III.

We look forward to hosting you again to show you these excellent activities and our new menu at Rays on the Bay!

Kind regards,

Katie Vanes, PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

just came back from hawaii, including 7 days at the sheraton. This is a lovely hotel especially the ocean view rooms ( which l had). My only issue is the ridiculous new add on that the Americas have got away with and it's a RESORT FEE, yes a fee just to be there of $30.00 a day per room plus don't forget the tax on top of that. Total $ 31.50 a day, yes it gives you internet a few other things, but what if you don't want them, bad luck you have to pay. When l mentioned this at the Hilton in Honolulu they said they don't charge this fee but some hotels are trying it on. Be aware and look for the ones that don't rip you off.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vern794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
31.7 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.9 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
5.3 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,999 reviews
28 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Address: 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2525 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#6 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: £137 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the diversity of Hawaii's Big Island with family and friends at Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa. From stargazing atop majestic Mauna Kea to tours of nearby Kona Coffee farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort And Spa
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa At Keauhou Bay Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing