We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DELI Deli”
Review of Sumo Deli

Sumo Deli
Ranked #197 of 290 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Restaurant details
Los Banos, California
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“DELI Deli”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Hole in the wall!! Buttt the food is so good. We went here a couple of times to bring food back to our room. One great dish was the eggplant/tofu stir fry. The Tongasu was very tender and lots of flavor.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bdbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fast and Filling”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I went here twice in just a few days, because it works as a great quick lunch/dinner and the leftovers from it are great the next day. The food definitely had flavor and came in big portions. Yeah, the food comes in a foam take away box, so not gourmet, but go in with the right expectations and you will not be disappointed. A solid meal!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noplanenogain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good plate lunches”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Great local plate lunch food. We stopped and picked up food on the way to the beach, and the food was delicious even a couple of hours later. We each (4 of us) ordered a different plate lunch, and all 4 were excellent. The price is right too, definitely a yummy, affordable treat. We will go back here again on our next trip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeezPulelehua27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good, local breakfast”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I walked to this restaurant from my hotel to avoid paying an obscene amount for a breakfast. I was rewarded with a reasonably priced, typical island breakfast (rice, eggs, and sausage for $5). It wasn't a gourmet food shack, but it certainly fills the purpose. I plan to return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
458 reviews
397 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Good place for reasonable lunch”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We felt like a light lunch and decided to share a combo lunch of teriyaki chicken, teriyaki beef and kalbi. The food was cooked fresh and it came with rice and a choice of 2 sides. We chose macaroni salad and corn. Service was friendly. There are a couple of tables inside or you can sit at tables that they have outside but they border on the parking lot so it is not very interesting. Our lunch combo was $8.50 and there was plenty of food. The meal was tasty and well prepared. Very good value for the money.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vbrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sumo Deli also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Sumo Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing