We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tropical”
Downtown Kona!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Downtown Kona!
Kona Sunset View From Lanai
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Downtown Kona!
Kona Sunset
View From Lanai
Walk way to condo
Walkway to Unit
Ocean Front Seating
Living area
living area.
Kitchen
Living area
Smart TV
Living
Bath
Master w/ King Bed, You can hear the surf crash
Master
Window runs the full length of the wall for a fantastic ocean view!
Loft 2 twin beds.
Lania
View From Master Bedroom
Front of Complex, right on the ocean!
Ocean Front BBQ Area
Front of Complex, Snorkel right here
Beautiful Pool area
Ocean Front Pool
3 nice BBQ's
Sunset from Lanai
Sunset From Lanai
Court Yard
Sunset from BBQ Area
Lanai Views
Complex
View from Ocean
The Island is Beautiful!
Hidden Beach
White Sandy Beach
Beautiful Island
Hawi Black Sand Beach
Green Sands Beach
Swimming with dolphins
Kahala sunset
Kahala
End of the World
Volcano from Helicopter
View from Helicopter
Pololu Valley
Sunset in front of Unit
Pretty shot in Kona
Kona
Snorkeling with the turles
Snorkeling with the Spinner Dolphins!
Monk Seal
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
llthompso...
Everett, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tropical”
Reviewed 12 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Awesome condo with all the amenities inside - dishwasher, washer, dryer, blender, etc. and incredible views from the lanai! All the amenities outside, pool, hot tub, ping pong, beach - rock side sitting, BBQ's by the pool - beautiful grounds. Its a nice walk to town which is lined with restaurants with great food and terrific beverages and all of them know how to make a great Mai Tai! The shopping is plenty full and the beaches are breath taking with incredible sunsets. We swam with the dolphins, snorkeled, hiked, laughed and had the most incredible time. Of course, the company was spectacular which make the trip all that much better! Loved it and will go back any time!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee B
Lake Tahoe (California), California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location for Kona vacation!”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Four family members shared this condo for a week. We were more than satisfied with the accommodation. It's in a great locale with beautiful grounds. We enjoyed hanging out at the pool each evening watching the sunset and often saw the dolphins from the lanai in the mornings. Can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Common areas
Liked least: Spiral staircase to loft room
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brownjewe...
Hayden, Idaho
1 review
“Great Condo!”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Great condo for our week stay in Kona. Centrally located and easy to find. Loved the little extras - the beach chairs, the small cooler, the plastic sandwich containers. The condo was clean and well equipped. If we had any complaint, it was about the Internet access, which was spotty at best For 2 days we were not able to access the internet at all. The rest of the time, it would only work in the living room, but not the bedroom. The bedroom lamp outlets on both side of the bed only worked sporadically as well. The king sized bed was sooooo comfortable and the air conditioner was quiet. We definitely would return to Kona Makai and had a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location!
Liked least: Internet access was spotty at best
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvia H
Allyn, Washington
2 reviews
“It was great!”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The condo was great. Kitchen had everything you wanted. Four of us gals shared the one bathroom and had no problem at all. The view from the lanai of the pool, grounds, and ocean waves was great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle...
Evergreen, Colorado
1 review
“Beautiful unit, great location!”
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I thought nothing could beat sipping Kona Coffee on the lanai and watching the dolphins swim by every morning until I heard about the dolphin swim. We did a 3 hour private charter tour with Captain Will at www.mykonaadventures.com per recommendation by the unit owner, Lynette. Will was enjoyable to talk to and very knowledgable about the Big Island, Kona, fishing, dolphins, etc. When Will said he was going to go find the dolphins we laughed and thought they're probably near Kona Makai. Sure enough as we headed north from Keauhou Bay we saw the dolphins in front of Kona Makai. We all jumped in the water and had the experience of a lifetime as 50 or more spinner dolphins circled and swam with us!

Lynette's unit is comfortable and clean with all the necessary amenities! Loved the look and feel of the new carpet! Beautifully manicured gardens escort you all the way from your car to the unit and can be seen from the lanai.

If you are looking for a convenient and comfortable place to stay, Kona Makai will not disappoint. Can't wait to come back next year!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting on the lanai and falling asleep to the waves of the ocean.
Liked least: Leaving :(
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee B
Lake Tahoe (California), California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best vacation in a long time”
Reviewed 11 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Kona Makai exceeded our expectations and we highly recommend this location and this unit. Four of us, two couples, shared it for a week. It was super clean, had all the necessities, and had excellent amenities we hadn't expected including the great ocean view, the bbq common area adjacent to a lava rock bed on the ocean, the exercise/fitness room, and the lovely landscaping. Don't let the third floor scare you...it's the best because of the views and because it catches the breeze. I hate air conditioning and never had to run it! The location of this particular unit is great too because it is right across from the vehicle drop-off versus another building. Not only is it easy access, you don't look across at another building from your lanai. Instead you look at the beautiful palm trees straight ahead or ocean to the left. We saw lots of dolphins from that lanai. The property management company provided excellent instructions as well as a very comprehensive guidebook in the unit. We used it daily and it steered us to great beaches and destinations. The owner was delightful, easy to deal with, and very prompt and responsive to our questions.
In terms of swimming with the dolphins and snorkeling to see the manta rays at night, we recommend My Kona Adventures. They are a small, less commercialized operation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: proximity to town & ocean and property/amenities in general
Liked least: only one bathroom
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2015
Aloha! We are so happy you had a fantastic vacation and our Sugar Shack met all your expectations and more. As far as swimming with the Wild Dolphins it is an amazing adventure. Captain Will does a great job finding the dolphins and Mantas. We are happy you will be our guests again next year.
Mahalo Lynette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Reviewed 26 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing