We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
Review of Anthony's By the Sea - CLOSED

Anthony's By the Sea
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Nellysford, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Ate at Anthony's for valentines day. First, did not give us table that we wanted even though reservation was made well in advance. My husband had to send back overlooked Ahi. My linguine had no flavor whatsoever. Way overpriced . Will not return.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    38
    16
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
345 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Great sunsets....great service!”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Occupying the former location of Jameson's by the sea, Anthony's offers the same great views and great service. While the menu isn't quite as nice as Jameson's was, and the food maybe just a tad less delicious, the overall experience was still terrific and priced about the same as Jameson's, or slightly less. These guys are making a good effort to maintain the great reputation that this location enjoyed for over 20 years.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charlesodonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland,Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great lobster!!!!!!”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This restaurant had the best lobster I have had in a very long time. You can order an extra tail for $20. They also have a wonderful lobster flat bread app. The desserts were fabulous!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank born2travel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Reserve for a Sunset Dinner!”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

First, if you plan on eating here, make sure you get an outside table. You can enjoy watching the surfers at Magic Sands beach as well as the beautiful sunset. Location, location, location! Minor disappointment when they didn't stock my liquor of choice, but made do with wine instead. We started with a shared appetizer of a lobster special. It was coconut coated and served with a tangy, sweet sauce. I loved it~but then again, I am a huge coconut shrimp lover! I ordered the catch of the day which was Ahi, prepared grilled, blackened or broiled. It was served with potatoes au gratin, which were, w/o question, the BEST potatoes I ever had! The Ahi was delicious, but a smidgeon too "hot" for my taste buds. Dessert was a sampler of 3 different pastry and 1 ice cream. The passion fruit pie was our favorite. It was light and refreshing. We would definitely eat there again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJDusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Valley, Arizona
2 reviews
“Meets the Jameson's standard”
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful experience at this refurbished restaurant. Jameson's was always a favorite and Anthony's will be as well. Our service was excellent. The menu is very basic but the 5 dishes we ordered were well presented and flavorful.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JustStayHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anthony's By the Sea also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing