We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big Island Waipio Valley Hamakua Coast tour”

Wasabi Tours Hawaii Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$123.96*
and up
Kona Tour: Coffee Plantation, Kealakekua Bay, Kaloko-Honokohau Park and Bee Farm
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Wasabi Tours Hawaii is a locally owned and operated company specialize in guided small group tours on the Big Island of Hawaii. Our circle island tour, twilight volcano tour, Waipio Valley waterfall tour, historic Kona tour, and customized private tours offer a personal, exciting, and unique experience that's unmatched by other group tours. We only select the most breathtaking and scenic attractions and travel routes to ensure our guests will cherish the experience for a lifetime.
Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Big Island Waipio Valley Hamakua Coast tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Our tour guide, Richard, was excellent. He gave us information on Hawaii's history, culture, and geography. There was just my husband and me and another couple. We had a very comfortable van. We started out on Saddle Road heading toward Hilo. We went to Rainbow Falls, Akaka Falls, saw a huge Banyan tree, rainforests, flora and fauna native to Hawaii. We stopped and shopped at the Hilo Farmer's Market. We saw Laupahoehoe point with its rocky shorelines and tide pools and dramatic cliffs. We were not able to go down into the Waipio Valley as there had been a recent mud slide but we could see very well from the lookout above it. We had a good lunch at Tex Drive-in with some local fare. The ride back to the Kohala coast was lovely through the Hamakua Coast. It was an 8 hour tour. We felt like we had seen a great deal of the Big Island.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaTravelNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    665
    40
    6
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Twilight Volcano Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

My family and I took the Twilight Volcano Tour offered by Wasabi in March during spring break. Our guide, Nickels, was sociable and extremely knowledgeable about anything and everything dealing with Hawaii: Hawaiian language, island flora, geological phenomenons, cultural hot-spots, etc. Furthermore, Nickels was a skilled cameraman which made family photos much easier. The day-long trip began with Nichols personally picking up my family and other tourists in a Mercedes tour van that was surprisingly spacious. With a speaker system add-on, I had no problem understanding each and every one of Nickel's comments. The Twilight Volcano tour brought us to the major attractions of the island. After eating the already paid for lunch, we traveled to Volcanoes National Park. What stood out with Wasabi's volcano tour was the extended journey down the Chain of Craters road that took us to spectacular vantage points, new lava flows, and the all-natural Holei sea arch. From the sea arch, we hustled back to the national park for the main event: watching the twilight glow from the crater. The timing was absolutely perfect throughout the tour. After a day of excitement and fun, we retired for the dinner, which was also covered. It doesn't seem like other tour companies are able to hit all these attractions in one tour, which made me grateful that I picked Wasabi. Next time, I'll be sure to try out their Island tour!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KevJed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turner Valley, Canada
1 review
“Twilight Volcano Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Our family (1 senior couple & 1 middle-aged couple) is truly thankful that we decided to take this tour on March 20, 2014 rather than trying to view places on the Big Island on our own. Our tour was conducted by Nichol Badger who proved to be very personable as well as being extremely knowledgeable. We learned so much while thoroughly enjoying ourselves. This tour proved to be the highlight of our visit to Hawaii!
The "Doggers" from Alberta & Saskatchewan, Canada

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Norma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Twilight Volcano Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We had a great time . Our guide, Nick, was very knowledgable and gave us informative explanation throughout the tour. Lunch was fantastic as we had a picnic near black sand beach while watching sea turtles "suntanning". The volcanic glow was stunning. Absolutely blown away by the beauty of Nature!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BrowniesLava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Thank you Kale for a great day out. Kale made the tour as he is friendly, knowledgeable and extremely passionate about his homeland. Kale was so good that at many of our stops other tourist quietly joined in our group and followed us around. Really the only way to see the whole island and learn about it's nature and history.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wasabi Tours Hawaii Day Tours also viewed

 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Wasabi Tours Hawaii Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing