We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Thanks Ellen... it was fun!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
7 reviews
Garden view lanai has a double fan for cool breezes
garden lanai looking back into the livingroom
garden view lanai with table/3 chairs and an easy chair
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stephanie...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location but stay somewhere else”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Great location but studio could be cleaner. Water damage (water leaking from ceiling into AC and electrical socket) forced us to find somewhere else to stay - glad we did. Ellen was less than accommodating, very disorganized, and quite rude. There are so many better places to stay in the area, don't stay here!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2014
These people are disgruntled because I would not give them a refund for a shortened stay.
I got a telephone call after I had gone to bed telling me that there was water seeping from the ceiling onto the wall in Capt.Jacks and that they were leaving the next morning and wanted a refund. I told them I would be there and investigate what was going on and then I would decide on if they would get a refund for a shortened stay.
I arrived early the next morning to discover that the dripping was caused by the unit above us having a plugged Air conditioner drain. I got ahold of the owner and she sent a repairman immediately. Problem solved. Nothing else was effected and there was only a damp looking area on the ceiling and no dripping.
These people never mentioned any other complaints or gave any other reasons for their leaving and certainly never gave me any opportunity to correct the problem. I feel they exhibited unreasonable behavior and I stand by that decision.
Ellen Kjos
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Reviewed 24 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, location, location
Liked least: Although I the pirate ship theme, interior is a bit dark, Brighter lighting would be good
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cherie S...
Temecula, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location - could walk everywhere - condo was right-sized for two adults sharing space”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Arrived late at night - 11 pm from Mainland - directions and security info to get into unit worked perfectly! Light was left on inside to welcome us.
Loved the outdoor patio, with light and fans and the jungle red gingers providing both privacy and atmosphere.
The kitchen - though small and unique - functioned very well for cooking breakfasts, fixing lunches and even an occasional dinner, if you planned ahead. Generous supply of condiments in fridge or cupboards, and very adequate cooking implements. Full-sized fridge, with ice-maker, dishwasher, microwave and convection plate cooker.

Loved the Murphy Bed - as it gave us plenty of sitting/walking around space during the day - when we could fold it back up into the wall - bed was firm and comfortable.

Couches, chairs, lighting, desk, TV/DVD player, WiFi etc. all worked easily and comfortably for both of us to be able to use our laptops/I-Pads, read, listen to music, whatever... Fans/AC unit functioned well to maintain a comfortable environment throughout the day/evenings.

Bathroom very functional with nice sized shower and lots of storage and towels.

Parking in the evenings can be a challenge, but parking IS available right in front of the property - at the upper road (not Alii Drive below).

For more money, you can stay further down Alii Drive at other properties, perhaps have a little more complete kitchen and breakfast provided, but you would have to drive into town and hassle with parking which you do not need to do from the Islander Property.

You are just across Alii Drive from the water line - although there is no real "beach, per se" in Kona Town, but you can walk all along the bay and get to lots of shops, restaurants and the Farmer's Market/Local Crafts Market one block away - which is open every day except Monday (I believe) - wonderful prices on fresh local produce and baked goods, flowers, and other fun things to peruse and take home.

All in all - after many visits to Big Island - including Kona, Hilo, Captain Cook, Volcano and Waikaloa stays in various condos/hotels, this was probably the most conveniently located I have ever stayed in over 30+ years of visits to this island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location!
Liked least: Parking availability
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago Il
Reviewed 31 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$99
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing