We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Property with Fantastic Hosts”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
King bed with comfy pillow-top mattress
Entrance to kitchen
Kitchen-fully equipped with appliances
Kitchen - Tropical fruit provided for breakfast
Seating area opens to lanai via 2 sliding glass doors
Sliding glass doors open to lanai from dining area
Dine al fresco at glass top table among the palms
Large bathroom includes slate shower and closet
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Alexis B
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful Property with Fantastic Hosts”
Reviewed 17 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

When we booked a six night stay, we were impressed with the owner sending us numerous emails with suggestions of things to do on the Big Island. Well, that was just a hint of more to come. We've stayed in a lot of rentals and, except for the exceptionally service-oriented New Zealanders, have never experienced such accommodating hosts as Caryl and John. The apartment is lovely and has everything you could possibly need to enjoy yourself on the Kona coast. We would return in a heartbeat to this memorable location and its gracious owners. Thank you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2017
Mahalo nui loa for the very kind review. We are missing you both already. Guests like you two are why we enjoy hosting so much. Please do come back soon.
Caryl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey N
Hood River, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic! We're repeat renters at this ohana”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This was our second visit to Caryl's Ohana and we'll be back again. A sweet ohana with million dollar views located <10 minutes from Kona Airport. Very well outfitted both inside (e.g kitchen items, spices, movies, etc.) and outside (e.g. great lanai & BBQ, loaner ice chests, beach mats, chairs, etc.) Quiet/peaceful/chill. Easy access to a number of small sandy beaches that are less-frequented by tourists.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So close to everything, yet above it all
Liked least: No stores in walking distance
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2016
Mahalo, Jeffrey for your kind review. We are happy to make our guests' stay comfortable by supplying everything we would like to have when we are away from home. Come back to see us soon. Caryl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff N
Hood River, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Getting away from it all in a sweet ohana!”
Reviewed 5 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Caryl and John are top-notch hosts! The ohana is outfitted better than any place we've ever rented... It has a newer, very clean stainless BBQ, outdoor table and chairs on the lanai, beach chairs, ice chest, mask/snorkel/fins, umbrella, good selection of spices in the cupboards, Kona coffee, fresh fruit, and more! You could show up here last minute with the clothes on your back, slippas and swim suits, and you'd be good to go! Nice being up country a little bit to get above the hustle and bustle that has become downtown Kailua. Easy shot from the airport (<10 minutes) and 10-20 into downtown Kailua, depending on traffic. Great sandy beaches nearby with a lot fewer people. This was our second stay here and won't be our last.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Completely turn key, down to spices, coffee and fresh fruit in the kitchen.
Liked least: Wild roosters let you know that you are not in the city.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2016
Aloha Jeff,
Thank you for the very kind words. I recommend that guests "pack light", since we have (almost) everything they will need here. We hope you will come back to stay with us again and again. We really enjoy your company.
Mahalo,
Caryl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaLee_H
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing, cozy and charming Appartment”
Reviewed 28 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The apartment is located in a quiet neighborhood. From the deck, we could contemplate the ocean, enjoy Star Fruits and papayas freshly picked from the trees in the garden. The apartment is clean, spacious and comfortable. We were close to all the major activities: Beach, city, mountain side, highway and airport. In addition, Caryl and John are generous with their time and information on what to do on the island, where to eat and what to visit. They were very responsive to all our requests and their warm welcome made us feel as if we were in our own home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The apartment and the amenities
Liked least: None. Everything was good.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Feb 2016
Aloha DaLee,
Thanks so much for your visit and your warm review. We are missing you already. We hope you come back to see us soon.
Caryl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff M
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed.”
Reviewed 25 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015
4
people found this review helpful

The first thing I have to say is what a terrific host Caryl was. I don't hesitate recommending her home when you are staying in Kona. In addition to a great place to relax, there were many small things that made it terrific: fresh fruit, free breakfast granola, a DVD and paper library, a private outdoor patio, and a full kitchen. I'm the week we stayed we made one stop to Costco and didn't have to spend anything additional on food the entire time.

Carly was very careful to ensure we had good directions and she provided us with multiple emails describing her favorite beaches, things to do, and places to see around the island. She ever has coolers, towels, beach chairs, and numerous other items you can borrow.

The location was central to everything we had planned so we didn't waste time commuting. Parking was right in front of the door, so carrying luggage was super easy. Having access to the washer and dryer also cut down on wasted money.

In short, it was a great home-base for our travels around the big island.

There are a couple things to mention, though I wouldn't let any of the discourage you. First, we were woken by roosters or cats most mornings, though this happens many places around Kona. Second, the bed is a bit on the firm side, but we were ok with it.

I recommend Caryl's place - you won't be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Feb 2016
Aloha Cliff,
Thank you for your review. You'll be happy to know that we have a NEW BED ordered which will be delivered in early March, 2016. Pillow top, Cal King. Super comfortable.
I supply soft ear plugs for guests to block out the sound of Raccus Ruffus, a feral rooster who lives in the neighborhood. We are hoping someone will take him home for their hen house.

I'm glad you found everything else to your liking. We are always happy when our guests are happy. Come back to see us soon.
Caryl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Initiativ...
Landcruiser
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Jederzeit wieder!”
Reviewed 24 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We (family with little child) stayed at Caryl and John’s Ohana for almost four weeks and it was wonderful. Situated up the hill it was never too hot or too cold. We even had ocean view when we were eating on the lanai. Caryl was very helpful and gave us great advices for our trips around the island. Our fridge was never empty and no matter what we wanted to do, the equipment was there (beach towels, toys, binoculars for whale watching,…) They even invited us for New Year’s Eve and a dinner on our last evening. We loved our stay in Kona and would love to come back one day!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2016
Your family was a joy to have around. We hope you can return so we can watch your son's discoveries. I know he will love the geckos when he is a little older. So glad you enjoyed your stay.
Mahalo,
Caryl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur M
Cupertino, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply the best”
Reviewed 24 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you ever find Caryl's home is available for your stay, book it ASAP and you will feel lucky for your decision later on. Caryl has evidently devoted a lot of energy and love for her home, and our stay here was the best experience we've ever had at Airbnb. The home was quiet, spacious, clean, nice, and Caryl even provided a full spectrum of supplies(just to list a few: beach towels, beach chairs, beach umbrellas, all kinds of kitchen supplies, etc.) for guests to enjoy the stay at Kona. I'm sure you will be surprised by how much Caryl has prepared for your stay. Caryl was also nice enough to share with us her knowledge about interesting sights of Kona which helped us a lot. There're just way too many good experiences to list in a short review here from our stay at Caryl's home, and as future guests, you should definitely try it out yourself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2016
Arthur,
Mahalo for your kind words. We really enjoy guests who are excited about adventures on our lovely island. Come back to see us anytime.
Aloha,
Caryl
Caryl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing