We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Holiday Spot”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Holiday Spot”
Reviewed 21 November 2007

My wife and I took three adult friends to this resort several miles north of Kona-Kailua. Its 17 units are part of a large condo complex with tennis courts and a huge 30 metre pool.
We had a 2nd storey two-bedroom unit in building 9, with views over the courts to the sea (and magic sunsets!!). The units are quite elderly but very large and comfortable. The kitchen and bathrooms had recently been completely renovated and contained state of the art white goods and amenities. We found some other minor repairs were needed, e.g. sliding flywire door to lanai kept coming off rail, towel rail fell apart, one power point didn't work - very minor things.
Keauhou shopping centre is nearby (we walked to the restaurants one night) and has everything you are likely to need. We highly recommend Drysdales Bar and grill - we ate (and drank!) there most nights.
A catamaran snorkeling trip to Kealakekua Bay where Captain Cook was killed is a must! It is easily done from Keauhuo bay nearby. Talking of Keauhou Bay, you must visit the mighty Sheraton Hotel there after dark. Spot lights have been placed shining onto the sea at night, attracting tiny plankton. This in turn attracts the mighty manta rays which come in to dine on the plankton. These huge creatures are 8 feet+ across. You can also go out at night on the same catamaran and snorkel or dive witht manta rays. I did this and consider it one of the best experiences I have ever had!!
Don't miss the volcanoes! They are awesome and you can walk right up to them. Kahalu'u Bay nearby is a wonderful spot to snorkel. At 8 o'clock one morning I counted 10 green turltles swimming around me!

  • Liked — Fine amenities
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank HumuhumuMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    95
    34
    17
    12
See reviews for
216
131
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2007

We stayed in Unit 1-306 from September 29, 2007 through October 6, 2007. The unit has great views and was relatively clean. The couches are very uncomfortable and the unit does not have A/C. We were there during a heat spell and it was VERY hot in the condo most of the time.

The garbage disposal didn't work properly. We called the property manager right away and we all decided to just see how it did before calling a plumber. We ended up not using it the rest of the trip just to be safe.

Before arriving we were given a long list of all of these rules and what supplies we needed to bring. It was ridiculous. We were required to supply our own toilet paper, soap, paper towels, dishwasher detergent, dishwashing detergent and laundry detergent. We were also required to strip all beds of linens upon departure and wash AND dry all beach towels before leaving. We also had to take all trash out, wash the fridge, stove and microwave before leaving. We paid $160 for cleaning and that was a big rip off as far as we were concerned. I can't imagine how much cleaning the so-called cleaning crew had to do after we left.

The owners require you to send them a check-in form within 48 hours of arrival and then another check-out form when you leave. This was a big pain in the neck. The last thing we wanted to do while we were on vacation was find a post office. They said that there was a mailbox in the condo complex. We could never find it. This was another hassle that didn't make sense to us.

The worst part of the whole experience was the fact that the entire complex was being renovated while we were there AND WE WERE NEVER TOLD ABOUT IT BEFORE WE BOOKED THE PLACE!!!! So we had to deal with construction workers hanging around and on our lanai from 7 a.m. until 4 p.m. several of the days. This made it impossible to enjoy any privacy, enjoy our mornings or even take an afternoon nap. Then, THE POOL WAS CLOSED FOR THE FIRST 3 DAYS WE WERE THERE TOO. Apparently, the entire pool had been replaced and we were there right before the construction of the pool was completed. It had been closed for at least a month before we got there. So, there we were - stuck in a heat spell with no A/C, construction workers on our lanai and no pool. It sucked!

We complained about all of this on our check-out sheet. I got one call and one email from the property manager. All claiming that they didn't know anything about the construction even though the owners daughter had stayed there before us. Whatever. It is their JOB to know these things!!! I thought that was a lousy excuse. We were not offered any refund or anything. We were actually told that we had gotten a good deal on the place. At this point, the best we can do is just warn other not to rent from these people. It is shocking to me that these owners would act like they're doing you a favor by renting to you. There are lots of places to rent on the Big Island and this place is far from the best deal around.

So, I would say that the complex is okay and this unit has a nice appearance, but with owners and property managers like this, I wouldn't spend my hard earned money on this unit. Pick a different one in the complex!

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
14 Thank RebelandKatmandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2007

Staying at "Calypso" right on the ocean was an unforgettable experience. We sat on our lanai having breakfast and were treated to lots of birds feeding on the birdseed the owner left for us, while watching the outrigger paddlers going for their morning workout.

Since the place was ground floor, we were able to go out onto the grass and also walk along the lava trail. The owner sent us a map to some petroglyphs out in the ocean that we walked to.

Also, we enjoyed the evening sunsetson the lanai. It felt like we were in a dream place.

"Calypso" was nice and clean, with tropical furniture and 2 king sized beds. There were lots of extras stocked up in the place, like birthday candles, which came in handy for my mother's 85 birthday.

  • Liked — On the ocean
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chic1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, CA
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2007

We rented Townhouse #2 and it was a great place to stay. Everything in the place is very nice, especially the beds (!!!), furniture and kitchen appliances. Everything was clean and orderly. The internet connection (wireless) was a nice bonus too.

The location on the shoreline is wonderful. If you like to hear the ocean, you will LOVE this place. It is set in a very private section of the resort with lush trees, a nice lanai and lawn.
I am looking forward to my next stay in Townhouse #2 already.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank ranDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2007

The Keauhou Surf and Racquet club is a nice condo village. It is not over the top , the price is right, location & sunsets are terrific. It all depends on the room (we had 2203 and it was fantastic.) Plenty of room great view, nice grounds, nice pool. We stayed for a week in July and then spent four nights up North at the Hilton Waikoloa. While the later is beautiful it is 3 times the price and the food is horrible, I mean horrible and that is for $50 lunches for two and $300 a night for 4 for dinner. We found Kona Surf and racquet club (our second visit) really pleasant. You have to accept the fact that you will drive to beaches (except the one great snorkling beach down the street), and you don't mind cooking or driving a short ways into town for some grub, but all-in-all this is a solid place and we expect to come back year after year. I wouldn't bother with the Hilton, it doesn't represent value to our family at any price.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank NachoSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake Village
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2007

We had a great stay in Unit #178 in August. The unit was fully equipped, and had a patio just steps from surf on the rocks. With two teenagers, two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a separate living room and kitchen made it much more functional and comfortable than a hotel, but this is not granite countertop, flat-screen luxury. Two lighted tennis courts, a large, warm pool and some ruins were the only "resort" amenities, but because many year-round residents live in this condo complex, the facilities were never crowded. An adjacent 36-hole golf course gives discounts for condo guests. Free wi-fi, free in-room washer/dryer and free parking a few steps away were very welcome.

This complex is older and has lots of units, so be careful to look at pictures online of the specific unit you are booking or you may be disappointed. We found savings booking through alohacondos.com compared to the larger booking agencies, and they show lots of pictures. An extra $15/day is charged for a/c in some months, but that is only for a window unit in the living room, with the bedrooms served by an attic fan. Still a good deal. The unit was clean, but there will be bugs in the tropics, especially if you leave the door open or drop crumbs.

  • Liked — The patio and views
  • Disliked — No a/c in bedrooms
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank palace17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2007

We stayed in unit #177 at KKSRC. It was terrific. The owner has lots of extras and the unit was extremely comfortable. Furnishings were all very modern and none of the usual cheap resort stuff. Appliances were all state of the art and it had almost as many utensils and kitchen gadgets as we do at home. Unlike other rentals we've had, it even has a spice rack. A wireless modem also provided free internet access. I point out unit #177 in particular because other family members stayed in #178 and we met the occupants of #179 and neither were as thrilled as we were. The units directly face the ocean and wonderful sunsets, overlooking a short lava field serving as a breakwall. The facility had a nice pool with ample lounge chairs and tennis courts. It does not have a jacuzzi or on-site access to food (though a very nearby shopping center, including a large, reasonably-priced supermarket, is extremely convenient). The facility also boasts an adjacent beach -- but that is true only for looking at the water, not actually getting into it as the rocks and surf make that difficult. However, Kahalu'u Beach is less than 1/4 mile away and it has fantastic snorkeling. Sea turtles abound in the area. The property also has several old Hawaiian historical sites. Excellent signage explains them all.

The only caveat is that bugs are a big problem everywhere on the Kona Coast and this facility is no exception. We had to be meticulous about keeping food and eating utensils off the kitchen counter.

  • Liked — The amenities and ease of use
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank JohnAshburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
5.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
0.2 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#2 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
1,558 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#8 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club

Property: Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club
Address: 78-6800 Alii Dr Apt 25, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-4401
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: The Keauhou Kona Surf and Racquet Club Resort is a 4-star resort located in Keauhou on the sunny Kona Coast of the Big Island, Hawaii. The resort is adjacent to a sandy beach and was once the residence of four Hawaiian kings including the Great King Kamehameha. There are 197 privately-owned units at the resort with 77 townhouses and 120 condos with some beachfront and many oceanfront units along with ocean and fairway view condos. Townhouse #48 is a charming yet elegant condo situated in the Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club only steps from the beautiful Kona beaches. The condo is stocked with everything you need to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Keauhou Kona Surf And Racquet Club Hotel Kailua-Kona
Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing