We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unit 196 Great Option”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club
Hull, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1,123 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
“Unit 196 Great Option”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Booked online and as others have mentioned, Sandy is very accommodating. What you'll love, is the view and proximity to the water. Great opportunity to explore tide pools, but as others have mentioned not a swimming beach. The local shopping center is close and convenient with lots of restaurants. After exploring the big island, I'm glad I made Kona my home base. You can easily access lots of activities from this location. I just wish the beach out front was a swimming beach.

Others have mentioned the concern over AC and I was skeptical at first but with the ceiling fans and oscillating fans the townhouse was very comfortable.

My only gripes are the notes/warnings put on everything and the laundry situation. I understand there are rules but a single intro letter emailed and signed off by renter as well as a spare copy left as reminder at check in would be fine. Seemed to cheapen the vibe like I'm at a Motel 6. The note about being charged $25 for leaving more than two loads but reading the note you can only do the king sheets or twin sheets by itself requires you to do laundry before you leave or face a $25 security deposit reduction.

Would recommend this rental to any small family.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Edelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    95
    34
    17
    11
See reviews for
215
130
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This was a very nice, well laid condo. We are a couple with four teenagers (two boys, two girls) from 17 to 14 years old. We had one bedroom for girls, one for the boys and one for us. Two bathroom, one large lanai where we had meals everyday.
The condo is conveniently located ( less than 1 mile) closed to a grocery store, pharmacy, movie theater, and main highways (still far enough that it is very quiet).

We were surrounded by beautiful birds, flowers, the ocean were you could see the sunset and many large turtles... everything was great.
Would recommend it anythime and would go again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilou777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed in condo 1-303 for several nights in August. Having never stayed in a condo on vacation, I found there were plusses and minuses to it. Depending on your needs it may or may not be for you.

The plusses were having a huge place to relax and not being on top of one another in a hotel room. Also, the complex has a really nice pool (loved that it was so shallow) and there were very few people using it so at times we had it all to ourselves. Having breakfast on the lanai before we set out for the day was another plus. We bought cereal, milk and coffee at Target on our way from the airport to the place and it made breakfast a quick and inexpensive meal. The condo had a nice (looked new) washer and dryer so laundry was easy to do. The resort is also very (you could walk) close to the snorkeling beach (Kahaluu Beach Park) which was awesome. There were fish and turtles every time we went.

But there were minuses too. The unit has no A/C which made it damp and humid. Along with the humidity came bugs. Little gnats arrived every evening and were in the sinks and showers which was kinda gross. There was a notice about exterminating happening after we were scheduled to check-out, so maybe it was bad timing. The screens didn't roll easily on the tracks and are probably in need of replacement. Also, the unit had beach towels and beach gear, but they were in pretty shabby shape (towels with rips in them, beach chairs also ripped and rusty) and for some reason there were four pairs of flippers but only one snorkel mask and snorkel. Not a huge deal, but a little disappointing. The living areas and beds were very comfy, but the baths definitely need updating. The shower stall had a very sketchy bath mat (I wore flip flops to shower) and the knobs were loose and needed some tlc. The resort is very peaceful and scenic, but it was a bit too quiet for our kids.

Overall, I think we probably prefer a resort over a condo, but if you like condos, this is a very nice one. Just be sure to check specific condo reviews. Every one is different.

Room Tip: Be sure to check the specific condo reviews. They vary in quality. Second or third floor is nice so...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Val H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This is a condo/townhouse with 2 bedrooms and a full bathroom up, and a kitchen, living room, and full bathroom down. We stayed with our 16-year-old son.

We appreciated many things about this unit, including the immaculate condition, state-of-the-are appliances (fridge, stove, dishwasher, washer/dryer and various other appliances), good supply of incidentals, the space, walking distance to an excellent snorkeling beach, good pool, and an effectively private beach with views, turtles, and even petroglyphs.

Our rating was brought down by there not being air conditioning, making managing your temperature a constant challenge, particularly as it is prudent to secure the main floor when you are out. We are told that the air conditioning will be addressed. We also experienced a certain fussiness of notes and warnings that we are also told will be addressed. Finally, we did not like the need to do laundry just before you leave, when you are already dealing with departure details. Therefore, this is not a zero fuss hotel room, but on the other hand it is a home with all the comforts, so it depends on what you want. If you have small children, the gated nature of this complex and the design of the swimming pool will be much appreciated, as will being free-standing on cooking, laundry, etc. There are also tennis courts and apparently an available golf course.

I think that addressing the air conditioning will make a huge difference in what is already a very nice accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Have stayed many times in the condos but this is 1st time in townhouse. Never again. Hot and roach infested. No air flow and appliances all rusty. I would avoid townhouse 3. It is ocean front but too much plantings make for bugs

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy96740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maceo, KY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Our family of 6 (2 adults and 4 kids, ages 14,12,10, & 7) stayed in Townhome 187 for 3 nights while vacationing on the Big Island. We really enjoyed the use of this condo. The kitchen was large and well supplied which was great for us since we ate most meals in. The ocean view and sounds were amazing. We even saw a pod of dolphins swim by. We used both the pool and grill and ate many meals on the lanai. Went snorkeling at Kahalu'u Beach Park which was awesome. Lots of fish and sea turtles. Appreciated the washer/dryer too. Overall a great place to stay.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed in Condo 5-201 for 6 days and I highly recommend this unit. It was right on the water, beds were very comfortable, the unit was privately situated and we really couldn't have asked for anything more. We used the pool and the grilling pavilion, watched 4th of July fireworks from the lanai, and all was lovely. No complaints!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
5.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#2 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
0.5 mi away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#9 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club

Property: Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club
Address: 78-6800 Alii Dr Apt 25, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-4401
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: The Keauhou Kona Surf and Racquet Club Resort is a 4-star resort located in Keauhou on the sunny Kona Coast of the Big Island, Hawaii. The resort is adjacent to a sandy beach and was once the residence of four Hawaiian kings including the Great King Kamehameha. There are 197 privately-owned units at the resort with 77 townhouses and 120 condos with some beachfront and many oceanfront units along with ocean and fairway view condos. Townhouse #48 is a charming yet elegant condo situated in the Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club only steps from the beautiful Kona beaches. The condo is stocked with everything you need to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Keauhou Kona Surf And Racquet Club Hotel Kailua-Kona
Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing