We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic Condo in Kona”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club
Reviewed 23 August 2007

We stayed in unit #177 at KKSRC. It was terrific. The owner has lots of extras and the unit was extremely comfortable. Furnishings were all very modern and none of the usual cheap resort stuff. Appliances were all state of the art and it had almost as many utensils and kitchen gadgets as we do at home. Unlike other rentals we've had, it even has a spice rack. A wireless modem also provided free internet access. I point out unit #177 in particular because other family members stayed in #178 and we met the occupants of #179 and neither were as thrilled as we were. The units directly face the ocean and wonderful sunsets, overlooking a short lava field serving as a breakwall. The facility had a nice pool with ample lounge chairs and tennis courts. It does not have a jacuzzi or on-site access to food (though a very nearby shopping center, including a large, reasonably-priced supermarket, is extremely convenient). The facility also boasts an adjacent beach -- but that is true only for looking at the water, not actually getting into it as the rocks and surf make that difficult. However, Kahalu'u Beach is less than 1/4 mile away and it has fantastic snorkeling. Sea turtles abound in the area. The property also has several old Hawaiian historical sites. Excellent signage explains them all.

The only caveat is that bugs are a big problem everywhere on the Kona Coast and this facility is no exception. We had to be meticulous about keeping food and eating utensils off the kitchen counter.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank JohnAshburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2007

We were blessed to stay in Townhouse #59. It was just as beautiful if not more than the pictures on the owners' website. The owners are fabulous. They did everything to make sure my family had a wonderful time. We had everything we needed in the condo. Other guests staying on the property stopped by to look it -- they were blown away. It is bright, beautiful and has a very tropical feel. 60 feet from the beach -- the best thing was it felt more like home than a hotel. We also spoke with people staying in large hotels -- they couldn't believe our accommodations. Thanks!

Stayed: August 2007
5  Thank RoxWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2007

Last December, I had stayed at "Solitude" at the Kanaloa with my family. When my boyfriend and I wanted to return to Hawaii for Valentine's Day, we contacted the owner to see if we could rent out "Solitude" again. However, it was already booked for the time that we had wanted so Denise (the owner) suggested that we check out her other condo at the Surf & Racquet called "Calypso." "Calypso" was perfect for our vacation! It was well stocked in the kitchen and bathroom. There was also a full closet of snorkel masks and fins, boogie boards, beach toys, etc. We spent a lot of time out on the grassy lanai looking out at the ocean. The lanai also had a bird feeder, which was fun to watch. I would certainly rent out this unit again and recommend it to others as well.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank marilyn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2007

Our family, including two teenage boys, stayed in townhouse no. 85 for three nights in August. We were disappointed. Although the oceanfront location is lovely, we found the rooms small, the furnishings slightly shabby, and the lack of moving air bothersome. The fans did not make up for the lack of air conditioning. The cleaning could have been better, as there were too many dead bugs. "Resort" really is a misnomer -- it's a gated community (there's a gate for traffic going in and no gate going out -- any thief could just swing into the other lane and drive in) with a pool and a tennis court but that's it. The location is good - perhaps a 3 minute drive to the shopping center with a large grocery store, movie theater, restaurant, etc. The drive into the larger town is about 10 minutes. Great snorkeling nearby. All in all, we liked the area but the townhouse itself was disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank LillianLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2007

We loved the place. It was very well located south of Kona away from the tourist area but close enough to drive to restaurant and shops. The lanai was a great success with my Husband. We loved the fact that we could use the common grill and the Mango tree nearby was my favorite. The supermarket was very close and the kitchen was very well stocked. The rice cooker was my son's favorite. We alse love the beach chairs, umbrella and boogie boards. My 2 year old daughter played with the sand bucket at every beach. Coolers were nice to have too as well as the ice packs in the freezer.
We also like the fact of having 3 TV's with DVD and VCR. WIll love to have additional kids movies!! The place was clean and very confortable for a family of 4. The only problem we had were the wasps on the lanai. We did try to kill them but could not get to the nest.
The sunset dinners we had were awsome! The view is fantastic and loved to sleep with the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks. It did rain very hard one night that the Manangement decided to close the Lanai one night but were lucky the storm passed by next morning. We loved to snorkel and found some nice beaches south of the condo (by the Place of Refuge and Hookena beach).

Stayed: July 2007
Thank smchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2007

My mother and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Condo #2102. We made our reservation through [--]. This is a ground-level condo, but we felt safe and secure. The only reason that I gave 4 instead of 5 stars was that the cleanliness of the kitchen could be improved. The owner made our arrival and entry very easy. Arrived, typed in a few codes, and in no time we were enjoying the extraordinary view from our large lanai. Although the condos/townhouses of Keauhou offer only a inaccesible rough lava landscape for "beach", other beaches of Kona are right at hand. Kahalu'u Beach is within walking distance. Although very crowded later in the day, I arrived early each morning and found peace and solitude snorkeling in the crisp waters. Even with all of the fun of Kona and surrounding environs, make sure that you are back at the condo for the incredible sunsets! I recommend #2102 and check out the above website for info, photos, and video. You won't be disappointed. Aloha!

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Epluribus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2007

My family and I, five total stayed at condo # 1301 on July 6 through 15, 2007. Jacque the owner is very nice and e-mail response as well as phone response from her is quick. When we arrived they were doing some construction maintenance work to the walkways in front of the condo and to the lanai areas of the condos directly beneath us, so our first impression was kind of mixed. All that quickly changed as we entered and found a beautifully decorated condo, clean and with a fantastic view from our third floor lanai. We were pleasantly surprised to find a nice gift basket greeting that was left for us on the dining room table. There is no air conditioning but with the ceiling fans on and the three sliding glass doors open it was cool enough. We loved the sound of the ocean waters as they crashed on the lava rock shore which was about 25-30 feet away from the condo lanai. The sunsets were absolutely amazing! The location of the condo is excellent, you can take a short walk or drive to one of the best snorkeling and turtle beaches on the island, Kahaluu Beach. We saw the turtles feeding along the rocky part of the beach on every visit, they were beautiful. It is only a short drive to Kailua-Kona, but at peak traffic times it could take a bit longer than normal to get there from the condo, much more traffic on the Island than the previous years when we visited the Big Island. Try breakfast at the Sweet Ohana Grill-75-5711 Kuakini Highway it is a pink building that is also a candy shop, right down the street is The Big Island Grill which has good hawaiian style food also. Another nice place to visit and shop is Alii Gardens marketplace and the International marketplace which are all within a short driving distance from the condo. We Loved staying at this condo and would recommend it to everyone. It is in a very good location and is very clean and roomy, and has all of the comforts of home, but with a beautiful view and sounds of the ocean to top it off. I almost forgot one of the best highlights of our visit which was the free Ukulele lessons and Hula/Tahitian show at the Keauhou Shopping Center (about a minute away from the condo, show is every Friday) the show was better than the luau show that we paid to see! That's it I guess, needless to say we had a great time on the Big Island and this condo is Highly Recommended for sure!! Can't wait to return to the Big Island and of course we will stay in this condo again!..........................The Tom's, Elk Grove, CA

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank KONAISLANDKID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
5.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,941 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#9 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
828 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kona Reef Resort
Kona Reef Resort
#11 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club

Address: 78-6800 Alii Dr Apt 25, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-4401
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: £94 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: The Keauhou Kona Surf and Racquet Club Resort is a 4-star resort located in Keauhou on the sunny Kona Coast of the Big Island, Hawaii. The resort is adjacent to a sandy beach and was once the residence of four Hawaiian kings including the Great King Kamehameha. There are 197 privately-owned units at the resort with 77 townhouses and 120 condos with some beachfront and many oceanfront units along with ocean and fairway view condos. Townhouse #48 is a charming yet elegant condo situated in the Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club only steps from the beautiful Kona beaches. The condo is stocked with everything you need to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Keauhou Kona Surf And Racquet Club Hotel Kailua-Kona
Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing