We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

I had some worries based on some reviews but was pleasantly surprised. Our room had a decent ocean view on the 5th floor about halfway down the length of the building. Great for sunsets. Room was very clean, had everything we needed other than a cheese grater! Rooms were air conditioned. Bedrooms had blackout drapes so sleep was excellent. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Based on other experiences with time share hotels the staff were not pushy at all in trying to get you to take a 90 minute presentation. We declined. Location was good for us, not too close to town and convenient for going north or south. The only thing we wished was different were the pool/spa hours, 9am-10pm. We would have loved to sit in the spa with coffee in the morning butit was locked up.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    121
    26
    11
    4
See reviews for
109
107
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

We spent a week here in January 2012. The unit was nice, but dated, meaning it was really in need of new carpeting..didn't feel clean. We did not get the requested view..all we could see from our lanai was the top of the large air conditioning unit. The hotel is about 1.5 miles from downtown Kona and on a very busy curve of the highway. Because of this location,taking a walk in the morning means walking along the highway which is very congested. I never got the pillow that I requested from housekeeping. The staff was not really friendly. The hotel was by no means full, but seems there wasn't a better room available! I think if we would have had a better room, we would return to this hotel.....maybe!

Room Tip: Ocean front on 4th or 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MsWitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

The Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff Resort is located on the Pacific Ocean. Not near the ocean, but "on the ocean." We had a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom unit with a full kitchen, dining room and living room. There were 2 balconies, one extra-large balcony connected to the living room and one large balcony connected to the master bedroom. Our suite overlooked the pool and the ocean. Outstanding room, view and resort staff. The resort offered free nightly activites such as things to do seminar, a luau, music night, movie night etc. . .Most of the activities were at the large pool overlooking the ocean. From our room we watched pods of dolphins, boats and beautiful sunsets over the ocean. I would highly recommend this resort to a couple or family looking for a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms closest to the water overlooking one of the swimming pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Texshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
170 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

My family and I (husband, 2 older boys aged 19 and 18 at the time, and our 2 smaller children, aged 8 and 5 at the time) stayed at the Royal Sea Cliff in May of 2010. It was clean, and it is right on the ocean, which is nice, although there is no beach. They have 2 pools, and a very small hot tub. The place is older, but well kept. It is a bit away from the busy part of town, but that is nice because it's quieter. The activities director was very helpful, and they have several little activities that are free. Also, for your young children, they have an "island explorer kit" that is a neat little backpack that has sunglasses, a pen, a few other items I don't remember, and an explorer guide that has interesting facts about Hawaii and it has activities in it, etc. My 8 year old absolutely loved it. Both of my kids still have the backpacks and they have held up really well.
There is much to be said for a large place, but one thing I didn't care for was that the pools weren't centrally located. They are next to the ocean, so I guess this is great for some people, but lugging all your pool necessities that far if your room is not close to that area is kind of annoying. I will say, however, the bathrooms by the pool are very clean. The rooms are condos, and apparently some of them are independently owned but managed by the facility. The room we had was mostly clean. The main bedroom had its own lanai with lounge chairs. This was nice. There was also a table and chairs on the main patio so you and your family could eat outside. The kitchen was well equipped and if you are trying to save money on food, having your own kitchen is a great option to help with that expense, particularly if you have a large family like ours.
One thing that happened, though, that gave me great stress was that the front desk charged our debit card twice for our stay, which showed 2 pending charges to our bank account of more than $1000 each. When I talked to the person at the desk about this, she was so rude and completely unprofessional. Finally a manager was able to contact my bank and get it reversed. This was pretty stressful, though. We had stayed our first 5 nights at a different place, and it was a Wyndham property for Worldmark owners. It went much more smoothly. We are not owners but friends of ours let us buy credits to stay there. Another thing nice about the Sea Cliff was the bbq area. They had several for use and this was a nice option as well, although again, like the pools, it was not centrally located, so not that convenient to use. The grounds are beautiful.
On a scale of 1-10, I would probably give this place a 5. Decent value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hhclemrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We spent a wonderful week at the Royal Sea Cliff. The units have air conditioning which you don't find everywhere on the Big Island. Nice large living room/dining room off of the lanai. We had a peekaboo view of the ocean from our lanai. The Master Bedroom is very large and you have a sliding door to the lanai. We had a washer and drier which come in handy when traveling with a family. The only inconvenience was that the washer and dryer are almost part of the very large master suite, from the bedroom there is a small hall with closets before getting to the master bath and the washer and dryer are in one of the closet spaces. So, if we put clothes in too late they would still be going when you wanted to go to sleep. The second bedroom was also very large and had a bathroom. There is no central bathroom, they are in each bedroom. The units do not have beach items so you have to check them out at the main desk, they may or may not have what you need. We went up to the fifth floor and looked for whales each morning, that's a great way to meet people. We were lucky enough to see them spout and their tales come up as they dove. Finally, the Royal Sea Cliff has functions a few times a week for the guest which were fun to attend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jashook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grants pass or
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We had a great stay. Rooms were very clean and the staff was so great! We will definantly would stay again!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rumney, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We really enjoyed everything about this place. Staff was great, our two bedroom unit was huge. Great sunsets and community grills to use. Just rent a car it is a little hike to town. Also, we did the timeshare presentation to get $100 off our activities. It was some serious high pressure sales, don't do if you say yes easily.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Polar_Caver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
1.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
4.6 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
#3 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.0 mi away
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff
#7 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff

Property: Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff
Address: 75-6040 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff Hotel Kailua-Kona
Wyndham Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Wyndham
Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing