We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noise problem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed here 7/18 to 7/25/2014. Unit was a remodel and in itself was acceptable. We stayed in unit 615. The problem here is excessive noise around this unit. Every night we had to deal with elevator noise and loudness from property owners directly above us. The elevator is just a few feet from the master bedroom wall. Every time the elevator was used you could hear it going up and down and also hear the doors bang shut. In need of an adjustment? On top of that, we had property owners directly above us who walked around like a bunch of elephants, talked loudly, drug chairs across the floor loudly, and continually dropped things on the floor. All together these 2 factors ruined our sleep and rest. I am normally a pretty sound sleeper and am not awoken very easily. I notified the front desk, and the gentleman stated he would keep an eye out for the noise. Nothing was done about it. On top of that, the air conditioning was out all day and evening Sunday and Tuesday morning! Nothing like paying good money for a rental and having to sweat it out in 88 degree heat and humidity. If you like to be awake half night then unit 615 is the unit for you! Carol Hanna, we are thoroughly disgusted by your front desk people's lack of caring and help on these issues. Potential timeshare renters, should stay on the top floor to guarantee no issues with noise, We feel like we got very little for the money we had to spend for this unit. A true ripoff. We will not return to this timeshare. There are plenty in this area to stay in and hopefully they will be more responsive to any issues. Take care of your customers! Pretty pathetic!!

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolHanna, General Manager at Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Mahalo for taking the time to write about your stay here in July. I am truly sorry for the noise issues, the failure of the air conditioning, and mostly for our apparent lack of empathy and control over these matters. Being able to get a good night's sleep is so important while on vacation as you want to feel rested and ready to enjoy all that our island offers.

I hope that you have the opportunity to return to the Royal Sea Cliff as I am confident that we can provide you with the perfect accommodations for a wonderful experience - please let me know personally if you are able to return.

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

we spent the first week of July at Royal Sea Cliffs From check in to departure the staff was friendly and there was not a big time share presentation push. The large lanai wrapped from the master suite around the dining and living room. i walked to town one day and its only a couple of miles. Thee is no beach access at the resort but it is right on the ocean. About 1/2 mile north of condo is a small sandy beach with trees for shade. The bed was comfortable and the kitchen had everything we needed. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Room E610 had a nice view of ocean from lanai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank crisseast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol H, General Manager at Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2014

Mahalo for posting a review at Tripadvisor regarding your experience at the Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff Resort. I really appreciate hearing positive feedback on the beds - thank you! We shall look forward to seeing you again as there is plenty more to explore on our beautiful island of Hawaii!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We bought this vacation ownership site unseen based only on the fact that we LOVE HAWAII. I walked into the condo and cried...tears of joy. Although we did not get one of the remodeled rooms we were still elated. Awesome view from our lanai and out each window. I am not a morning person but I had no problem getting up to see the Hawaiian sunrise.

The kitchen was quite nice due to the fact that it had a full size coffee maker (KONA COFFEE IS THE BEST) and a blender. The property is walking distance to town (the bay) however there aren’t sidewalks so be careful! You can drive a bit to go shopping at the grocery store but I recommend going to Walmart because their shelves are actually stocked and prices are more reasonable.

One day we drove across the island to Hilo. This was amazing as well as the drive back. Coming back we took the ‘high’ road (north) aka the long way. We saw a whole other climate zone and ranches, in Hawaii, very cool! It was rainy off and on but as we descended down to Kona there was nothing but sunshine, RAINBOWS GALORE!

We did the Wyndham update meeting so that we could get the free luau. I thought we’d be in and out in 90 minutes but not so lucky. I guess you could say we were even luckier because we purchased another property while we were there. DID I MENTION WE LOVE HAWAII?? My husband has a way of getting what he wants for even less than what he’d rightfully pay, he is NO pushover. We were there for 5+ hours negotiating and we SCORED! They earned their $$ that day!

I have already had 2 of my best friends there at the condo and plan to take many, many more family and friends there SOON.

Room Tip: Definately want an oceanfront room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol H, General Manager at Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2014

Aloha and Mahalo for posting such a wonderful review! Of course, the most important thing is that you thoroughly enjoyed the time you spent here in Paradise! You may have heard while you were here that those last 16 units - the ones with the best views, are going to be renovated this coming January/February, so once those are completed, we will have all 76 of the units renovated.

Thank you for your confidence in the Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff and in all Wyndham - we'll look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The resort is nice BUT the 2 bedroom condo we got is very old - the kitchen's cabinets were refaced by applying a plastic looking finish that is now peeling off, a full size fridge that is rusty in The outside. The inside of The cabinets smell like frying oil and the silverware is really cheap. The unit is spacious and has a partial view of the ocean but it is need of a lot of love. We have asked for another unit but they are full so our first night has to be in this unit. They will ozonate - not sure what exactly means but they promised that it will get rid of the smell.
I had much higher expectations for a 3 star.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bln1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolHanna, General Manager at Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to write a review. I would like to clarify that unit 419 is an independently owned unit and is not one of the Wyndham timeshare units. Wyndham owns 76 units at the Royal Sea Cliff Resort and the balance of the 78 units are independently owned. Out of the 76 Wyndham units, 60 have been totally renovated. The last 16 (all ocean front or ocean view) units will be renovated this coming January and February.

I apologize for the confusion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Pleasantly surprised upon arrival at what looked like a dated mid century mod-contemporary, but our 2 bedroom unit had a remodeled interior, and was a perfect floor plan for families. Master bedroom had two large balconies with tables and chaise lounges. You'll have to get in the car to drive to the beaches, but there are several within a short 5-10 min. drive. It's a 20min. walk into town for shopping & restaurants. Huggos on the Rocks is the closest restaurant and is fabulous!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coloradogirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolHanna, General Manager at Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2014

Aloha! I am so pleased that you had a great vacation with your family and I appreciate you sharing that precious experience at Tripadvisor. As an aside, Huggos on the Rocks is one of my favorites, too!! You can't beat being right on the water, digging your toes into the sand, enjoying a mai tai, and listening to great, live entertainment!!

Mahalo and we hope to see you back!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Very nice resort - from checkin to checkout. We are Wyndham owners and were not pressured to attend any 'update' or 'meeting' about the timeshare - it was offered, but not pressed. THANK YOU FOR GETTING THIS RIGHT - when people are on vacation, they want to relax and not have to spend precious vacation time doing this. Unit was FANTASTIC! Open the door, walk in around the corner and WHAM - beautiful ocean view out the full wall glass windows to the lanai and Hawaiian music playing on the CD/ipod player. Very roomy - 2nd bedroom was so separate from the master that it seemed like a full size apartment. Full size kitchen with full size fridge, which was great to keep drinks cold. Only drawback was the north pool was a little cold - the trade winds had stopped and clouds were over the west side of the island most of the week. This meant the sun was not out much to warm the water which made it quite chilly. It would be nice if there was a alternate source of heating for those days. Hot tub was great, and just enough activities that if you wanted to just stay at the resort or in town, you would have stuff to do. Finding the elevators from the parking garage was a little 'interesting' - they were not marked on the map and we stumbled on the fact that the elevator right outside our room took us right down to between the 2nd and 3rd parking levels. Also there was no channel guide anywhere in the room to know what channels were offered on TV (there were plenty, but could not find The Weather Channel or Headline News). Also all Wyndham resorts make an effort to aid in recycling and there was a bin in the parking garage for recyclables, but it seems they do not take paper according to the guy at the front desk! We felt really bad leaving a week's worth of newspaper stacked neatly in the room. Hopefully the housekeeper knew how these could be recycled.

Room Tip: Call ahead of your checkin and see if you can get a room with an ocean view. 5th - 7th floors would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Idreamof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolHanna, General Manager at Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Aloha and thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review on TripAdvisor. I always learn so much from each review, and from yours, I learned that we don't do a good job in promoting our efforts to recycle. In every trash room, we have three bins - one is for the mixed recycle which includes newspapers; one is for glass such as wine bottles, glass jars, etc.; and the third is for the marked "HI 5" recycles such as plastic bottles, beer bottles, and aluminum cans. The Association actually pays an outside company - different from our regular trash removal company - to pick up all recycled trash and dispose of it at the appropriate depository at the transfer station. Your comments have reminded me that we need to reiterate our recycle policies with our staff and i appreciate that!!

Thank you so much and I am so pleased that you enjoyed our resort!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our stay at this place was great. The grounds were kept immaculate. The "beach" is a little rough made of volcanic rock so don't expect to swim there. They do have 2 pools for you to enjoy. The room itself was great with a big balcony off the master suite. The only negative that I found with the place is they do not have a restaurant or even a snack bar on the premises. This made breakfast tough. There is a timeshare presentation each morning but we did not feel comfortable crashing that for bagels and fruit.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank silverfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolHanna, General Manager at Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on the Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff Resort. We truly appreciate your comments. I wish you had "crashed" the orientation for a bagel as you would have found out that our morning presentation is not a timeshare presentation but rather, an overview of all of the many activities available here on our beautiful island. They cover everything from Farmer's Markets to best beaches to free hikes to restaurants in addition to the activities that you pay for. So next time, please feel free to come to the orientation and you will walk away with a total understanding of all there is to do and experience here on Hawaii Island - plus a bagel and fruit!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
1.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
4.5 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
#3 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
783 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff

Address: 75-6040 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: £164 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff Hotel Kailua-Kona
Wyndham Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Wyndham
Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing