We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Park with History”

Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$123.96*
and up
Kona Tour: Coffee Plantation, Kealakekua Bay, Kaloko-Honokohau Park and Bee Farm
Ranked #9 of 132 things to do in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mackinaw City, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Park with History”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Small enough for an easy wald around the grounds. Right along the water which gives excellent views. Much history is still here and is a must to see.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jelemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    176
    36
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“this along with everything else clsoe becaue of govt shutdown”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Disappointing to pay money for vacation and all the govt shutdowns we had to deal with. Sad story, but we found other things to visit instead.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kity50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakima, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very knowledgeable staff to help you enjoy the park”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I am a big fan of our national park system This was my second visit to this park and they really are making lots of improvements. The trails are better maintained than in the past and there is more interpretive information available.

The reconstructed fish pond wall is quite impressive. The fish trap area is very interesting primarily because there have been turtles on the beach both timse I went there. This is however a small park which while interesting doesn't take too long to see everything. Do stop at the new visitor center because the staff there is very helpful and informative.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnysideDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“See the turtles up close!”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

A short hike to the beach brings you to a clean, lovely beach where the giant sea turtles are sleeping on the beach. Signs ask you to remain 20 feet from the beautiful animals.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cjsBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We like to go here to sit and watch the turtles and relax. We bring our chairs and books and sit in the shade and watch the waves roll in. There are the several historical sites here also that are well worth seeing.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jsfollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing