We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A tranquil place”

Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$123.96*
and up
Kona Tour: Coffee Plantation, Kealakekua Bay, Kaloko-Honokohau Park and Bee Farm
Ranked #9 of 129 things to do in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A tranquil place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We went to the park in mid morning and marveled at the pools of water in the lava rocks. We enjoyed the beach but got hot walking without shade. The park is impeccably kept, we just picked the wrong time to explore it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Monika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    173
    34
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mackinaw City, Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Park with History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Small enough for an easy wald around the grounds. Right along the water which gives excellent views. Much history is still here and is a must to see.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jelemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Michigan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“this along with everything else clsoe becaue of govt shutdown”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Disappointing to pay money for vacation and all the govt shutdowns we had to deal with. Sad story, but we found other things to visit instead.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kity50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
153 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very knowledgeable staff to help you enjoy the park”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I am a big fan of our national park system This was my second visit to this park and they really are making lots of improvements. The trails are better maintained than in the past and there is more interpretive information available.

The reconstructed fish pond wall is quite impressive. The fish trap area is very interesting primarily because there have been turtles on the beach both timse I went there. This is however a small park which while interesting doesn't take too long to see everything. Do stop at the new visitor center because the staff there is very helpful and informative.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnysideDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“See the turtles up close!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

A short hike to the beach brings you to a clean, lovely beach where the giant sea turtles are sleeping on the beach. Signs ask you to remain 20 feet from the beautiful animals.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cjsBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing